We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Izamal B&B and Inns
Bracknell
Level Contributor
379 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Once through the door, a hidden tropical garden is revealed, complete with cenote style pool. Our room is very pretty with a jungle mural with a monkey and parrot in the trees. The room is comfy with a good bed, verandah and hammock outside. The staff have been very helpful, telephoning to book us on a tour and arranging to have laundry done. Breakfast includes fruit, juice and scrambled eggs, and we have also eaten here twice in the evening and enjoyed our meals.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    86
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
148
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hermosa beach, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

extremely laid back, nice breakfast, wonderful small city that you can do day trips from. miguel provided us with excellent customer service and speaks english. i think he only works evenings , though. the neighborhood children hang out on the street by the wall using the internet for their phones...very cute. all in all, a charming stay in beautiful izamal and happy, helpful, smiling locals

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Macanche was one of our favorite places to stay on our Mexican vacation. My husband and I got a late start on the day we were headed to Merida, so we decided to drive to Izamal instead, where it would be easier to find our way around in the twilight. Macanche was on our list of hotel possibilities, and we are glad we chose it. Miguel, the concierge, was so friendly and helpful. Miguel said that we could use the phone in the morning to find a room in Merida. He set us up in the Maya cottage, which was very cozy and nicely decorated. After hot showers we walked into town for dinner, and then roamed around the convent grounds. It was lovely at night.

The next morning we walked around the beautiful grounds of Macanche, and made friends with one of the resident cats. After that we received a nicely presented and delicious full breakfast consisting of a lovely fruit plate with yogurt, juice, coffee, breads, and a choice of 3 different kinds of eggs. Miguel does not work in the mornings, so we managed to communicate with the other workers, who did not speak English, about using the phone. They gladly made the call for us, and we were all set.

A week later, we were headed toward Valledolid in the evening, after a very full day on an adventurous cave expedition. We were nervous about driving in the city and finding a room after dark, so we headed for Izamal, which was only a little out of our way, and were delighted to find out that Macanche had room for us, this time in the Jungle cottage. We were so exhausted that we ate dinner there instead of going into town. We shared the fish taco appetizer, which was delicious, and big! If we had it to do over again, we would have ordered two, and made it our main course. After dinner, Miguel helped find a room near Chichen Itza for the next night.

The only negative comment I have about Macanche is that the mattresses are too hard. It seems to be a common problem in Mexico, and also Belize, where we vacationed last year. The hotels that had the most comfortable beds had 2 inch mattress toppers on their beds. This would solve the problem at Macanche, and make the experience perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventuress115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This B&B had been recommended to us by some good friends who travel quite a lot so we were expecting a really nice stay. However, the hotel definitely didn't meet our expectations. The gardens and main area are quite lovely and relaxing, but the room left much to be desired. The bed was horrendously uncomfortable, old, and small, and there wasn't any other furniture in the room to put our belongings. The bathroom was pretty grimy and in a general state of disrepair. It's a decent value for the money but if you're looking for comfort I would recommend staying elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank brandon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you are looking for a nice quiet place in Izamal: this is the way to go. Too bad the city of Izamal is quite boring. But this place makes up for it! Run by we believe canadiens or americans, friendly staff will serve you great food (made to order). The pool is not so much a pool but more of a denote. Ah, well. It was too cold anyway. It's a hidden paradise and a great stop on your way to Merida or Campeche or back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The staff are friendly, the rooms great and private and the food also nice. They have parking for rental cars. Well priced, no wonder you should always book in advance here. You can even bring your own drinks and they will keep cold and let you drink in the restaurant.
Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently traveled to Izamal for the concert of Janni and decided to stay overnight. Not expecting to find reservations or a hotel, we were lucky to get a room at Macan Che. What a pleasant surprise. The B&B is very well laid out, the rooms are separate cabanas, quite, big and roomy, excellent beds, and a nice hot shower. Breakfast is excellent, food if you care for lunch or dinner is home cooked and very good. Drinks are of quality and a fair price. The gardens are very nice, and the pool very relaxing. It is an imitation of a Cenote. Service, could not ask for more, very friendly and helpful. The city is a real treasure, try to enjoy two easy days visiting, eating at local tipical restaurants which are a real treat, as are the Mayan ruins within the city. A visit to Don Esteban and his Jewlery made from palm fruit is a must. The small cities where you can buy tipical guayaberas and dresses are recommended, great quality, designs and prices. Enjoy, there is a lot to visit and live. Izamal is where Pope JPII came on his trip to Merida and Yucatan. The local destilleria makes one of the best licours from the pineapple of the Henequen maguey, well worth the try, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FDG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izamal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.4 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Izamal
Hotel Hacienda Izamal
#5 of 7 in Izamal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle 22 x 33 y 35, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Macanche is your tropical oasis in the land of the Maya. We have 12 uniquely decorated bungalows scattered throughout our tropical gardens and 2 houses for big groups or long-term rentals. We serve a full breakfast every morning and also offer yoga, massage and other services. Surprise yourself in charming Izamal where the pyramids are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macanche Izamal
Hotel Macanche Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing