We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yay!”
Review of Pousada Do Vale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada Do Vale
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yay!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The food was amazing--don't miss the Thursday night fish dinner. The afternoon tea is great. The staff are friendly and professional and plan excellent activities. The grounds of the pousada are beautiful, and the rooms are comfortable. Wear bug spray.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    64
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
124
299
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay in Noronha and were suprised by the different options and prices! Initially we found 'poor' places but expensive and on the other hand very nice places, even more expensive!!! Finally we choose Pousada do Vale because its was close to "vila dos remedios" where there are some shops (very simple ones) and restaurants. It was a good surprise.
In this pousada everything seems new, very well taken care. It was, in fact, close to Vila dos Remédios and surprisingly (be prepared to walk a lot or rent a buggy/get taxi to get around) close to Cachorro and Conceição beaches. Nice ones to just relax.
We were welcomed at Vale with a strawberry juice and were invited to enjoy the afternoon snack, which is wonderful. On thursdays they organize a dinner, which is included on the stay, and it was great -Good local food and we had the opportunity to meet some interesting people.
People who work in the pousada were very friendly and helpful. They really worked to help us get around the island and have a great time.

Room Tip: I believe there are 2 or 3 rooms that are located in the main house that are faced to a wall. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreiaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We highly recommend Pousada do Vale. Unless you can afford Maravilha ($1,000/night), this is the best option on the island. This pousada doesn't get the publicity that it should. It is very clean, breakfasts are wonderful, and all of the staff - from the receptionists to the cooking staff - are incredibly friendly and attentive. Moreover, the pousada is in a small valley, surrounded by lots of greenery and fruit trees. We arrived there on Thursday afternoon, greeted by Henrique who was happy to answer all of our questions about the island and offer us welcome drinks. The day we arrived also happened to coincide with their weekly Thursday feast which consisted of BBQ fresh fish cooked in banana leaves, Brazilian vegetables and rice, salads, and tasty homemade desserts. This meal is included in your stay, as is breakfast and afternoon tea (which is great and honestly, can often serve as a substitute for dinner on the island).

If you are looking for good food/drink spots outside of the Pousada, we'd recommend: Maravilha (although on the pricier side, the food is the best on the island - try the coconut crusted fish with coconut couscous), the Forte for sunset drinks (a pop-up bar here opens only from 5-7pm), and the beach bar near Dog Beach for drinks (very chill, nice place for sunset).

Also, some things to be mindful of on the island:

1) Use bug spray - Fernando has tiny mosquitoes that you often can't see or feel when they bite you.. Until the next day.

2) If you want a personal mode of transportation, you need to rent buggies. Bear in mind, they are all run on stick shift, and can sometimes be a pain to drive on the bumpy off-roads. If you are comfortable with this, great. We didn't rent one and got around completely fine via taxis and walking. Also, taking taxis can actually be more economical than renting a buggy. The last they quoted us, buggies were going for 150 real/day. That compares to a roundtrip taxi ride to the furthest point on the island of 60 real (30 real each way).

2) You have to pay a tax once you get on the island (based on the number of days you will be on the island). You can pay this tax with credit card. To visit the beaches associated with the island's National Park, you have to pay an additional entry fee (i.e. you need this pass to visit Sancho Beach, which is one of the top 2 beaches on island, along with Lion Beach in our opinion). You can also pay this pass with credit card, although they do not take Amex.

3) Try to withdraw your money before getting to the island, as the ATMs are run by Santander that does not accept all international cards. By the way, if you find yourself strapped for cash on the island and have an American Express card, there is hope. If you call Amex they will allow you to make a one-time withdrawal using your Amex card (in this case use the Santander ATM located near Tamal Project).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jghargho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Pousada do Vale is one of the best choices in Fernando de Noronha. The place is nice, well located, good service and value compared to others. It has a lovely orchard, great breakfast and every day day offer a evening tea with lots of delicious cakes, juices, etc. the staff is well trained and speak English. I recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I were looking for a pousada to stay at in Fernando de Noronha for our honeymoon and were overwhelmed by the different options (and prices) on such a small island! We decided on Pousada do Vale based on proximity to "vila dos remedios" (a mini-downtown with restaurants, bars, dive shops) and walking distance to the main beaches (Cachorro, Conceicao, Boldro). Another reason we choose this pousada is for the afternoon snacks included in the price, and we were glad we did! The snacks were amazing - fresh fruit, sandwiches, tapioca pancakes - and were timely as Brazilians have dinner later than what we are used to. The snacks tied us over until dinner time.

The staff was friendly, helpful and fluent in English. Valentina and Rafael went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable in our honeymoon and that the renovations did not bother our stay. They organized a buggy rental so that we could get around the island on our own. We strongly recommend renting your own buggy to visit all the beaches on the island (instead of following a travel guide). Aside from the buggy being manual drive, the island is easy to navigate. The beaches are well labeled (even if you don't speak Portuguese). Our buggy broke down and we were able to get help and find a mechanic. There are taxis on the island in case you get stranded (as we did).

Be ready to spend a lot of money on food (C$40 per meal per person). The island does not have a variety of food as we expected - no steak or roasted vegetables - mostly rice and beans. We ate a "por kilo" places where they weight your plate. These "restaurants" were in the kitchen of local homes and you eat with the children before they return to school in the afternoon. The food was good and the price was cheap.

What we don't recommend is the dinner at Pousada Ze Maria. We were told it was a must-have culinary experience and since we were getting tired of rice and beans we purchased tickets (C$400 for 2). We found the food over-priced and tasteless. We had spent most of the week by ourselves (we went in August at the low tourist season) and were a bit shocked at the full and noisy restaurant at Ze Maria with a line-up for the buffet table.

Aside from the Ze Maria experience, we thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon. The beaches are indeed some of the most beautiful in the world. We have traveled to beaches in Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, India, Maldives, Mexico, Bahamas, and Belize and Noronha is up there with our top 10 favorite. They were clean and secluded with no crowds or vendors. We brought our diving equipment but you can see a lot of the wildlife just by snorkeling.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank java5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We also had a great time at this B&B. Firstly, is an relativley undeveloped island so resorts & extreme luxury are out. The staff were happy, friendly & very helpful. There's a beautiful beach only a short walk away. The rooms are clean & tidy with all usual mod cons. As seemingly the only non-Portugese speaking people on the island the staff at the Pousada were unbelievably helpful, especially Roberta (spelling?). Breakfast & afternoon tea are provided. We took them up on their English speaking tour to get an overall idea of the island & hit some beaches - which was useful. Yes there is a big hill but walking on the island is a given. Yes there is a lot of music at night until quite late - didn't bother us. Its near lots of restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ophelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a great time in this hotel and on Fernando de Noronha.
Don't expect a luxurious property, or island. This is a delightful and rustic place.
The hotel itself is extremely comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to help their only non Portuguese speaking guests at the time we were there, us.
I highly recommend the superior or above room categories, as the standard rooms are dark with small windows.
Breakfasts were lovely, and the complimentary sea food dinner one night was one of our best meals on the trip, with a large grilled banana leaf wrapped fish as the main course.
The nearest beaches are fabulous, but about a 15 minute walk on rough cobble stone paths.
This is not a place for the mobility challenged.
The hotel lent us free beach chairs, beach towels, and an umbrella, which came in very handy on the sun-drenched beaches.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oakland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernando de Noronha hotels
2.0 mi away
Pousada Maravilha
Pousada Maravilha
#1 of 2 in Fernando de Noronha
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Naiepe
Pousada Naiepe
#1 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#6 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pousada Teju-Acu
Pousada Teju-Acu
#15 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beco de Noronha Pousada
Beco de Noronha Pousada
#5 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Fortaleza
Pousada Fortaleza
#29 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Do Vale

Property: Pousada Do Vale
Address: Rua Pescador Sergio Lino, 18 | Jd Elisabeth - Vila Dos Remedios, Fernando de Noronha, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Fernando de Noronha
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Fernando de Noronha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada Do Vale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada do Vale is sited in the Elizabeth Garden, an area surrounded by natural beauty and historical treasures. The sound of the water stream, the shades of the trees and the fresh sea breeze make this place enchanting and unique. Located in the central part of Fernando de Noronha, only 250m from the beach, Pousada Do Vale unites refinement and simplicity. Warm and cheerful atmosphere, personalized mosaic panels and hand crafted furniture grace the interiors. The natural bush surroundings, fruit trees, the Mulugu water stream and historical sites from the XVIII century provide both a peaceful and picturesque hideaway. This secluded retreat is nestled on 25 thousand square meters of tranquil land, offering 12 comfortable accommodations, with 3 Standard Suites, 4 Superior Suites, 3 Premium Suites and 1 Duplex Studio with 2 floors special designed for families and groups. The guests also can take advantage of a dining hall, a terrace with a brick barbeque and oven, an outdoor shower and beautiful landscaped gardens. It's here at Pousada do Vale that people from around the world begin to discover the wonders of this island. After all, to unveil the paradise of Fernando de Noronha, nothing better than start by such a special place as the Pousada do Vale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Vale Fernando De Noronha, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing