We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical and Yummy”
Review of Pousada Do Vale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Do Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing and great value for the upper end priced hotels-- their website doesn't do them justice. We stayed here for our honeymoon. The room was large and comfortable with a private terrace and a great shower. The highlight of this place is the "afternoon tea" which is sometimes tea and cake and other times substantial amounts of food, enough to replace dinner for the night- a great option if you're budget-conscious on this mostly overpriced island. And the food here is awesome. Breakfast is stupendous. Don't miss the Thursday night fish fry!!! The landscape is great: hammocks, fruit trees, birds etc. The hotel grows all of its own produce, so veggies are amazing. Note that this place doesn't have a pool, but we didn't need one with all the beautiful beaches. The closest beach is a 10-min walk away (although you could also take a taxi) the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is extremely quiet and the sky is crammed full of stars. The island is magical. This place is perhaps not 5-star luxury in the traditional sense because they are Eco-conscious, but it's very high-end.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Zamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

By the time you take the van to Pousada do Vale for the first time you may feel a little bit distant to the main street of vila dos remédios...just seconds away to be pleasantly received by the young and hip desk staff. They were extremely effective on booking tours, tips on where to eat and were very well informed about the island and its rules. The room was super cozy, with nice sheets, hot water and air conditioner. The breakfast had a wide variety of fruits and breads- and the kitchen staff was very nice- they were genuinely friendly at any request. And a big shout for their environmental care- solar panel and reuse of rainwater.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelChangSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Beautiful place with a wonderful staff, very comfortable rooms, and an amazing chef who picks fresh produce for you from the garden when you order a salad for lunch! We stayed five days and could not have been happier. Staff is very helpful in arranging excursions, renting 'buggies', etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place is very cozy, the staff really friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable with new air conditioning, king size beds, flat TVs, good quality sheets. It is a very quiet surrounding, relaxing, peaceful. But what stands out is really the five-star-hotel breakfast, and the afternoon/evening free meal. You come to the "pousada" tired after walking a lot and staying at the beach all day to find food ready for you: sandwiches, pies, soup, coffee, juices and cake. Each day is different, but everyday a feast! I went there with my family, and my teenager son and daughter loved it too! What's more, there is this dinner they offered to guests on Thursdays, fish cooked in banana leaves that is unbelievable! When I go back to Fernando de Noronha (and I will!!) I will definitely stay in Pousada do Vale again. Thank you guys!

Room Tip: The rooms outdoors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina_Cordani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The food was amazing--don't miss the Thursday night fish dinner. The afternoon tea is great. The staff are friendly and professional and plan excellent activities. The grounds of the pousada are beautiful, and the rooms are comfortable. Wear bug spray.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay in Noronha and were suprised by the different options and prices! Initially we found 'poor' places but expensive and on the other hand very nice places, even more expensive!!! Finally we choose Pousada do Vale because its was close to "vila dos remedios" where there are some shops (very simple ones) and restaurants. It was a good surprise.
In this pousada everything seems new, very well taken care. It was, in fact, close to Vila dos Remédios and surprisingly (be prepared to walk a lot or rent a buggy/get taxi to get around) close to Cachorro and Conceição beaches. Nice ones to just relax.
We were welcomed at Vale with a strawberry juice and were invited to enjoy the afternoon snack, which is wonderful. On thursdays they organize a dinner, which is included on the stay, and it was great -Good local food and we had the opportunity to meet some interesting people.
People who work in the pousada were very friendly and helpful. They really worked to help us get around the island and have a great time.

Room Tip: I believe there are 2 or 3 rooms that are located in the main house that are faced to a wall. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreiaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We highly recommend Pousada do Vale. Unless you can afford Maravilha ($1,000/night), this is the best option on the island. This pousada doesn't get the publicity that it should. It is very clean, breakfasts are wonderful, and all of the staff - from the receptionists to the cooking staff - are incredibly friendly and attentive. Moreover, the pousada is in a small valley, surrounded by lots of greenery and fruit trees. We arrived there on Thursday afternoon, greeted by Henrique who was happy to answer all of our questions about the island and offer us welcome drinks. The day we arrived also happened to coincide with their weekly Thursday feast which consisted of BBQ fresh fish cooked in banana leaves, Brazilian vegetables and rice, salads, and tasty homemade desserts. This meal is included in your stay, as is breakfast and afternoon tea (which is great and honestly, can often serve as a substitute for dinner on the island).

If you are looking for good food/drink spots outside of the Pousada, we'd recommend: Maravilha (although on the pricier side, the food is the best on the island - try the coconut crusted fish with coconut couscous), the Forte for sunset drinks (a pop-up bar here opens only from 5-7pm), and the beach bar near Dog Beach for drinks (very chill, nice place for sunset).

Also, some things to be mindful of on the island:

1) Use bug spray - Fernando has tiny mosquitoes that you often can't see or feel when they bite you.. Until the next day.

2) If you want a personal mode of transportation, you need to rent buggies. Bear in mind, they are all run on stick shift, and can sometimes be a pain to drive on the bumpy off-roads. If you are comfortable with this, great. We didn't rent one and got around completely fine via taxis and walking. Also, taking taxis can actually be more economical than renting a buggy. The last they quoted us, buggies were going for 150 real/day. That compares to a roundtrip taxi ride to the furthest point on the island of 60 real (30 real each way).

2) You have to pay a tax once you get on the island (based on the number of days you will be on the island). You can pay this tax with credit card. To visit the beaches associated with the island's National Park, you have to pay an additional entry fee (i.e. you need this pass to visit Sancho Beach, which is one of the top 2 beaches on island, along with Lion Beach in our opinion). You can also pay this pass with credit card, although they do not take Amex.

3) Try to withdraw your money before getting to the island, as the ATMs are run by Santander that does not accept all international cards. By the way, if you find yourself strapped for cash on the island and have an American Express card, there is hope. If you call Amex they will allow you to make a one-time withdrawal using your Amex card (in this case use the Santander ATM located near Tamal Project).

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jghargho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernando de Noronha hotels
2 mi away
Pousada Maravilha
Pousada Maravilha
#2 of 3 in Fernando de Noronha
273 reviews
1 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fernando de Noronha
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Triboju
Pousada Triboju
#3 of 3 in Fernando de Noronha
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pousada Morena
Pousada Morena
#12 of 128 in Fernando de Noronha
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Naiepe
Pousada Naiepe
#2 of 128 in Fernando de Noronha
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Ze Maria
Pousada Ze Maria
#19 of 128 in Fernando de Noronha
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Do Vale

Address: Rua Pescador Sergio Lino, 18 | Jd Elisabeth - Vila Dos Remedios, Fernando de Noronha, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Fernando de Noronha
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Fernando de Noronha
Price Range: £230 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada Do Vale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada do Vale is sited in the Elizabeth Garden, an area surrounded by natural beauty and historical treasures. The sound of the water stream, the shades of the trees and the fresh sea breeze make this place enchanting and unique. Located in the central part of Fernando de Noronha, only 250m from the beach, Pousada Do Vale unites refinement and simplicity. Warm and cheerful atmosphere, personalized mosaic panels and hand crafted furniture grace the interiors. The natural bush surroundings, fruit trees, the Mulugu water stream and historical sites from the XVIII century provide both a peaceful and picturesque hideaway. This secluded retreat is nestled on 25 thousand square meters of tranquil land, offering 12 comfortable accommodations, with 3 Standard Suites, 4 Superior Suites, 3 Premium Suites and 1 Duplex Studio with 2 floors special designed for families and groups. The guests also can take advantage of a dining hall, a terrace with a brick barbeque and oven, an outdoor shower and beautiful landscaped gardens. It's here at Pousada do Vale that people from around the world begin to discover the wonders of this island. After all, to unveil the paradise of Fernando de Noronha, nothing better than start by such a special place as the Pousada do Vale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pousada Do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Vale Fernando De Noronha, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing