We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too good to be true!”
Review of Baia do Sancho

Baia do Sancho
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Costa dos Mirantes Trail Tour from Fernando de Noronha
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montevideo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Too good to be true!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Going to Sancho is a must in Noronha. We went twice. First by boat since they told us the staircase was too difficult for our 5 year old daughter. It was great, we went diving and afterwards had a great lunch on the boat. We then went to the "Mirante" just to look and a park guard suggested it was not so difficult to go down. There are two "fire fighters" staircases (5 and 3 meters long) which are set in the rock and it is very steep but we made it and it was really worth diving in Sancho for a second time. We even saw a green turtle!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Silviaoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,814
    375
    38
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places I've been to”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Everybody tells you that this is one of the best beaches of the world... and I think they are right. Beautiful water, controlled amount of tourism and incredible sealife.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wow, wow, wow! You just HAVE to go here to appreciate he beauty of this beach.

This beach is amazing. There are so many aspects of it that would make you want to visit it. Climbing down the cliff face is much easier than the reviews suggest, the two ladders are extremely secure and they break up the climb down and up - they should not put anyone off going to this beach, unless you are elderly or have a disability. However, these steps are the only way of getting here unless you go by boat.

We were on the island for 7days and went here 4 times, 3 by walking and once by boat. We loved Sancho every time we went and were amazed by the visibility in the water and the array of ocean life you can see.

A tip: Going by foot from 3pm onwards is the best time to go. There are very few people there at that time and by 4pm you will undoubtedly have he beach to yourself. Then go snorkelling - there are turtles and rays in abundance, both by the rocks to the right and (mainly) on the two rocks in the middle of the sea. There are even dolphins passing by further out. The boat trip we visited the bay on was good, however it was in the morning and there were 3 other boats there and so it was full of people snorkelling - too cramped and scaring away the sea life. Go late afternoon by foot and you'll have an amazing time :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Britishtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful Brazilian's beach”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When planning to go to Sancho's beach, be smart and enjoy the other attraction nearby, since they begin in same visitor's center. The cliff offer you an amazing sight seem so don't forget to bring your camera!! If you descend the cliff to the beach, remember to bring water, and food if you plan to stay a couple of hours. Down there you won't find nothing but raw nature. The wave could be really strong, so pay attention to them. In general it's calm and fun!
At the top of de cliff you can go to Dolphin's trail or 2 Irmãos Mount's belvedere. At the trail you can see many mabuia (small lizards) and Mocó (small rodent) over the rocks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank IPJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It lives up to the title "The Best Beach" in Brazil”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Simply put, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Either for snorkelling or relaxing, Sancho is one of the most beautful places you will be able to visit in noronha. It lives up to the title of "The Best Beach in Brazil"

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CMI_CMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baia do Sancho also viewed

Fernando de Noronha, PE
 
Fernando de Noronha, PE
Fernando de Noronha, PE
 

Been to Baia do Sancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing