We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Atalaia Beach

Atalaia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a beautiful place, like the rest of the island, but access is limited for snorkeling. Watch for mosquitos.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank andreiaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    210
    101
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from a visit to Atalaia. Very disappointed that the staff there did not let us know in advance that the sea was choppy that day so there was nothing to see in the pool. Instead we walked 30 min down to the beach. Waited 15 min and were only given 15 min in the pool due to weather conditions. It was full of seaweed so thick you could feel it all over your body as you swam through it. Also we only saw 3 fish - there was literally no marine life. Then we walked back 30 minutes. The staff knew in advance it wasn't good but continued to invite all the tourists down to 'experience it', very disappointing. Can't imagine it could possibly get much better. And give all the amazing beaches and snorkel spots on the island this is truly a tourist trap and a waste of time. One day later went to Conceicao Beach and saw 5 turtles, a sting ray, loads of fish all in 30 minutes. Don't bother.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank moosab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“An Ecological Treasure”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

You must first make a reservation to go, so check with your hotel and they will explain how to do this. It took a while once we arrived to find someone who spoke English. Then you must sign an oath to preserve the marine life (don't touch, don't wear sunscreen, don't stand up, don't kick your feet, etc.). You must hire a guide (I think it was R$40. per person) and rent a life vest. Our guide didn't speak English, but there are many who do. You take a 30 minute hike down to the beach. The view is breathtaking. There we met another guide who explains (in English) what the rules are. They are quite serious. It is a lovely ecological treasure, and they mean to preserve it. It is quite shallow, but is full of lovely marine treasures: coral, baby tropical fish, baby octopus, baby sharks, etc. You are only allowed 30 minutes in the water, but the experience will remain with me always. I feel so blessed to have been able to go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ripoff”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Like most of the Island, Atalaia is a very nice spot on the coast of F. d. N. Most tourist are told you can only go to Atalaia with a tour guide that charges R$ 50,00 per person (low season). Once you are there, you find a small shallow natural pool that forms itself at low tide. It is packed with overweight noisy floating Brazilians being ordered around by a handful of wannabe nature-preservers who receive public money for spending their afternoons at the beach doing exactly that: bullying around tourists.
Atalaia was on our round the island walk. Nobody suspected that we had no guide until we left into the "wrong" direction (towards the airport). We walked slowly up the hill and ignored the pathetic whistle blowing and waving guard. She was too fat to follow us anyway and quickly decided to rather pretend she had not seen anything than actually move.
Pay a visit to Atalaia if you do a nice walk on your own. DO NOT PAY for a guided tour, you will be disappointed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Anticlimactic after Baia do Sueste”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

It is a nice shallow pull with good variety of small fish, but with all the hype your expectations are disappointed by 30 min in the water after about the same amount of time walking to it. It is not worth it, in my opinion, to go through signing up for visting this restricted access location if you have time for Baia do Sueste where you see the same variety of fish and sea life and more.
One has to have a pass for visiting this beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wi_to_natal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atalaia Beach also viewed

Fernando de Noronha, PE
 
Fernando de Noronha, PE
Fernando de Noronha, PE
 

Been to Atalaia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing