We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
188
67
18
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
67
18
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubour honeymoonstunning locationevery morningdune buggyworth the pricetapiocalizardsbaycurtainsparadisebeachesislandbrazilfernandoumbrellaspousada
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Pousada Maravilha as the last stop on our South American adventure. We had wanted a relaxed beach destination after all the tours and site seeing that we had done and we certainly found it.

I had done a fair amount of research into Fernando de Noronha beforehand but even so, there was much to be discovered when we arrived that I think could be helpful to other travelers. The Brazilian government has certainly made a point to not only name this a marine park, but to make it their business. And why not? This island is certainly a slice out of utopia! We've been fortunate enough to visit many beach and island destinations around the world and I'm yet to come across one that has the unique essence of Fernando De Noronha. The posauda we stayed in was first class and all the restaurants we ate at were outstanding. The island has a certain rustic charm to it and you certainly won't feel like you've stepped onto another conveyer belt of beach resorts and island destinations.

Touching on the costs first, many of the restaurant reviews on TripAdvisor point out that they're expensive. They're not. The island is expensive! Keep in mind that you're on a tiny outcrop, 10km in length and they have to deal with the logistics of getting supplies to the island. When you eat at a restaurant here, you certainly don't get that impression as all the food is fantastic but expect to pay more here for bottled water and food than you would in Rio. It's just the way it is.

Another thing, is that you pay a tourism levy as you arrive on the island that is calculated on the number of days you're staying at approximately $25 per day. This however doesn't allow you access to the main beaches in the reserve area. For this, you must pay another R$200 per person. You will get an access card that is then valid for 10 days. There are "public" beaches where you don't need this access but why would you be visiting here if not to visit some of the best beaches on the planet, including Sancho beach which TripAdvisor has in the top 2 in the world and we could see why. I felt that the additional cost for the park entry should have been included in the levy when you arrived but there's not really anything you can do about that.

The island is tiny so it's really easy to explore and impossible to get lost. We opted not to hire a guide and instead hired a buggy which definitely adds to the experience and gives you the freedom to explore as you will. I had read that many people hired a private guide on the first day to show them around, but I don't think it's necessary.

Pousada Maravilha was outstanding. I started to scratch the surface into the definition of the word "Pousada". There isn't much consensus but I would describe Maravilha as an upmarket lodge. The rooms are all well appointed. We had an apartment rather than the bungalows and it was very comfortable and very well serviced. The Pousada has a beautiful deck and rim flow pool exactly as per all the photos you'll find. The staff are all fantastic and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Roberto, Eduardo and Andrea were outstanding in the restaurant and between Fabio, Bruno, Carlos and Diana there wasn't more they could do to make us love the island. Most of the staff speak English which made our stay easier. They provide you with a lot of information about the island, where to go and what to do and certainly take their time to get to know you and give sincere and individualized attention.

The food in the restaurant was outstanding and I felt the same if not better than the some of the top rated restaurants on TripAdvisor on the island.

It's a long way for us to travel but I dare promise that we will be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
15  Thank RobertGreenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Maravilha, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Mr. Greenstein,

Thank you so much for your evaluation. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Maravilha and also the whole island.
We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Best Regards,
Mariana Alves.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted at the airport, the transfer is only two minutes drive away. Its the best Pousada on the island in terms of overall comfort, rooms, food, friendly staff but its away from the main town centre just up the road. We tried all types of transport but had the best fun in a buggy and then a Honda enduro bike. You can get to the beaches easily with either but watch out for the steep slippery cobbled stones using a motorbike. You can buy a pass to visit and swim in a couple of special beaches but I would not bother as the main beaches are as good if not better. The hotel will organise everything you need including days out too, just ask. It's a small island and they know almost everyone. Its a bit pricy but hard to fault really, and we felt very comfortable and at ease throughout our stay. Its a long way to go but well worth it.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mikeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Maravilha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Mr. Mike,

Thank you so much for your evalution. It makes us really happy that you had a great stay here at Pousada Maravilha.
We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Mariana Alves.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Thank you pousada maravilha, and all your fantastic and friendly staff, for a wonderfull stay at pousada maravilha. You made our stay at Fernado do Noronha extra special. The bungalows are very nice and private, the food is wonderfull. Till we meet again ... !

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pmbdevries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Maravilha, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your evaluation. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Mariana Alves.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This place is just incredible! The views are stunning, the rooms are spacious, private and well appointed and most notably the staff, every single one of them, work to a high standard. I can honestly say that this was the best service I have experienced in Brasil.
There is a personal feel to the Pousada and the staff are always looking after you. After we missed our flight off the island (I guess we just wanted to stay longer!), the team really went above and beyond to look after us. I recommend this Pousada - worth the money and if we ever get a chance to return to this amazing island we will for sure stay with Pousada Maravilha!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Maravilha, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Ms. Brianne,

Thank you so much for your evaluation. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Pousada Maravilha.
Our mission is to always enchant our guests with the outstanding service.
We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Mariana Alves.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

My wife and I spent a week here and were wowed by the fantastic staff, service and food. Everything was so wonderful, I'm not sure where to start on the review. Every single person we came into contact with was incredible. We've never had such consistent and high quality of service. The food was amazing and we ate almost every meal here, because it was hard to top the service and ambiance. Incredibly relaxing. It was hard to leave when the time came.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjetmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos M, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Maravilha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your evaluation. We are relally happy that you had a fantastic stay here at Pousada Maravilha.
We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Mariana Alves.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews