We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for Backpackers!!!”
Review of Hotel Patrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Patrick
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Juan Griego
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My stay at the Hostel Patrick was great. Everyone there were very attentive to me, and Michael is an extraordinary person, very sympatic, gave me many tips.
I have no doubt - in my next trip to Isla Margarita I'll be there again.
The hostel is the only place on the island where you can escape from the Caribbean music...
Andre Zambarda

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreZambarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

The wife and I were backpacking in Venezuela in October and were supposed to stay at Hotel Patrick for three nights in October. We ended up staying for eight. Absolutely fantastic atmosphere. The family running the place and the people working there really made us feel like home. Perfect place if you are looking for a friendly, nice and chill out hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanseriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great place with good location and extremely helpfull staff. Ask about horse riding, scuba diving or just taxis to beach and they will arrange it with fare price. Also the bar has very fair prices.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juha_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I spent nine days with my wife in Hotel Patrick and we loved it! It's excellent place to meet other travellers and local people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Escaping dodgy Porlamar we found this hostel supposedly run by a dutch guy, according to the Lonely Planet. What we found was even better: Irish hospitality embodied by Mick and his lovely wife Odalis and the island-all-famous-Margarita-preparing Karina.
We had a lovely time at Hotel Patrick and on Playa el Caribe. The best value for money you'll find on the island, or possibly in Venezuela at all!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great hotel and very nice people: Mick and his family :) Michael - the hotel owner is very helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We were in Isla de Margarita in the end of November 2011 and stayed in Hotel Patrick for the whole two weeks - which turned out to be a great decision!

The room in the posada had what you need: bed, shower, toilet and air conditioning. The room was clean and it was cleaned almost everyday while we were out and about. The lounge area was very cozy with tables, hammocks, pool table, TV, computer and the best of all, a bar with a constant supply of Polar bear (at your own cost of course :).. computer was available to guests but there was also wifi for free. The place was very secure, gates were locked during the night and there was always somebody staying up for the night and looking out for the place. And of course the posada dogs, Brandy and Ray were there to keep the peace! All our stuff was also safe and sound in our rooms while we were away.

The best thing about Hotel Patrick was it's great atmosphere, helpful and friendly people, and location in Juan Griego. The owner of Hotel Patrick, Michael, was very helpful starting with helping with flights to and from Margarita, arranging activities, giving advice, booking taxis (since neither of us spoke a word of Spanish). The posada was also situated quite conveniently near the bakery where we got our breakfast, shopping streets were you can change money and get your summer dresses, laundry place, food stores and restaurants (kudos to Carlos and his Spanish Restaurant, great place for some tapas and Spanish atmosphere!). Also, the beach Playa Caribe is quite near, a taxi will take you there for 20 bolivars and the beach itself is perfect.

All in all, we had a great stay in Hotel Patrick, thanks to Michael, Odalis, Eirinn, Alex, Karina, Matthias, Brandy, Ray, Miao Miao and the Finnish guests for making it a memorably two weeks!

Room Tip: Check that your room has air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Griego
13.0 mi away
Posada Libert Hotel
Posada Libert Hotel
#3 of 12 in El Yaque
183 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hesperia Isla Margarita
Hesperia Isla Margarita
#5 of 89 in Margarita Island
1,507 reviews
8.5 mi away
LD Le Flamboyant
LD Le Flamboyant
#6 of 15 in Playa el Agua
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#2 of 8 in Pampatar
158 reviews
13.0 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arawak Del Caribe
Hotel Arawak Del Caribe
#55 of 89 in Margarita Island
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patrick

Address: Calle el Fuerte, Juan Griego, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Juan Griego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Juan Griego
Price Range: £15 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patrick 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Patrick is a beautiful, friendly, economical and informal 10-room hostel with a lively bar and cheap restaurant now owned by Michael - an Irish musician and filmmaker and his Venezuelan wife, Odalis. There's a free pool table and complementary Internet/WiFi access. It's just 20 meters from the sea, 2 minutes from the town centre shops and there's a gorgeous tropical garden. With 24-hour security and no curfew, it's a great place to relax and meet other travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Patrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Patrick Margarita Island, Venezuela - Juan Griego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing