We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An appauling experience and lack of customer care.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myall Lakes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treachery Camp Seal Rocks
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An appauling experience and lack of customer care.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After university my mates and I planned a little weekend in the bush, camping. We decided to choose Trechery Camp due to their inviting internet site. We got there on Friday afternoon and set up camp only to be kicked out the next day on false alligations. In this circumstance that night we were making friends with some other people around the site and one person had went to the security gaurd saying we "were loud". We later realised as we were packing up there was another group of campers waiting to set up where we were so I think they wanted to kick us out to vacate the spot for the larger group of middle aged people to extract more money from the site. We tried to reason with the staff personnel yet they had no regard for our well being or satisfaction. Perhaps it was because they take advantage of younger people that they attempted to over charge us. Luckily we previously checked the fees and didn't get the over sized expense. Furthermore, the staff were threatening us. We felt disgusted and publically humiliated with the whole experience and not willing to pay for it, at all. They locked us in there site and forced a payment from all of us. I am going to the fair trading organisation to discuss how to take action, as I am sure they would have done this previously to other young people and might continue to do so.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Zac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    20
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
19
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My partner took me camping for my birthday at Treachery Camp, Seal Rocks. It was beautiful. We camped almost on the beach. We had our own private access.
The only thing that was a shame was all the dead birds lying on the beach as in the spring time the birds migrate to Australia & many die of exhaustion on the sand once they make it here. This is a result of nature though.
Make sure you bring 20 cent coins for the showers as well as firewood as it can be expensive. The BBQs cost money to use but we had our gas stove which was perfect for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretP892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

After our 7th visit back here to treachery we were pleased to discover that the new caretakers have made a considerable effort to improve the cleanliness and upkeep of the bathrooms which had been steadily declining.
The staff are always welcoming and friendly and Jon and Scott are fabulous. Tims on Treach- the cafe - makes THE BEST banana milkshakes in NSW!
Our biggest complaint would be the numerous groups of teenagers that were allowed in over these September school holidays. The 10.30pm curfew was not enforced and we had to put up with 3 large and noisy groups over the 3 nights we stayed. Admittedly, two of the three groups were thrown out but only after they had thoroughly disturbed everyone. As this place is widely known as a very family friendly place, management need to consider whether they continue to let these large groups of teenagers because they ruin it for everybody.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Really lovely campsite with beautiful surroundings. The staff were very friendly and we had a lovely stay camping. A bit annoying that you have to pay to use the bbq in the kitchen and the showers. It isn't much but the bbq didn't work and I had never experienced this at any other camp site.

Apart from that it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in a cabin. The cabin was relatively clean and very spacious. Standard whiteware is included but linen was not provided. In the area there are many different types of birdlife and the isolation makes for an incredible view of the stars. A very peaceful place to relax and unwind. There is a very small shop nearby which sells essentials but I suggest you bring everything you need as the drive to the closest town takes a while. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

On the negative side the showers were coin operated and in a very rustic looking shower block, as were the toilets. Also the room was quite smelly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I made a mistake on the booking, and although they could not accommodate us when we arrived, they were very kind, refunding the booking fee in whole and suggesting last-minute alternatives.

We went back the following day just for the surroundings, which are beautiful.

Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Great campsite in a picturesque location. Even at Xmas/ New Year the place wasn't crowded.
There's a lot of room for kids to run off - or for those wanting to find a quiet corner to have to yourself.
Campfires are allowed at night - assuming there's no fire bans.
The beach is just over the dunes - or there are 2 alternatives within 1 kilometre.
You'll need to be prepared - there's a basic shop in Seal Rocks but that's all. The closet supermarket is an 80 Km round trip.
But that's while you'll like it here - lovely beaches, hinterland and a pleasant place to camp.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myall Lakes National Park
7.2 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
196 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Blueys Beach
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Seal Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
NRMA Myall Shores Holiday Park
NRMA Myall Shores Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Myall Lakes National Park
242 reviews
7.3 mi away
Blueys Retreat
Blueys Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
29 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bombah Point Eco Cottages
Bombah Point Eco Cottages
#1 of 2 in Myall Lakes National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treachery Camp Seal Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treachery Camp Seal Rocks

Property: Treachery Camp Seal Rocks
Address: 166 Thomas Rd | Seal Rocks, Myall Lakes National Park, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Myall Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Myall Lakes National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Treachery Camp Seal Rocks Myall Lakes National Park, New South Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing