We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down THE BEST ZOO!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mogo Zoo

Mogo Zoo
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Mogo
Certificate of Excellence
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hands down THE BEST ZOO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

With two small children (4 and 2) we tried Mogo Zoo and had read some poor reviews on TripAdvisor, THEY WERE WRONG! This is the best little zoo in the world!!!!!
Took us about 2 hours to make it around and we spent plenty of time roaring at lions and growling at tigers, and being monkeys as well as being fascinated by the amount of monkeys they have - you'll see PLENTY! The Howlers Monkeys down by the white lions kept the kids amused for ages!
We kept saying 'they have so much rooms these exhibits', I suppose if you're used to the big city zoos - Mogo will be a pleasant experience!
They are building a new rhino exhibit too, so we will 100% be going back.
The ease of getting around, the friendliness of the staff, the keepers talks were great, on a whole experience level, best zoo we've seen!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    164
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrington, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Many Endangered Species”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

While in the Batemans Bay area, we took time out to visit the Mogo Zoo. The Staff were very friendly, and there were not a lot of patrons on the day we visited, allowing easy access to all exhibits. We were fascinated to see many small animal species that we were unfamiliar with. The exhibition cages seemed to be animal friendly, and we had good views of them all. It is great to know that many endangered species are being bred in zoos like this world wide. The Ranger talks were very informative, and the feeding of the lions & gorillas allowed us to see these majestic animals up close and personal. It was also great to have some of the monkey species living in open space on small islands, the surrounding canals being the only barrier to prevent their escape. For us, it was a great experience to see so many different types of animals, small & large. This is certainly a worthwhile zoo to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vietgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow- such a fantastic BIG zoo hidden away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We did a family trip to Mogo Zoo and were super surprised to see how big it was. Tons of interesting exhibits and a massive selection of animals to get up close with.
The gorilla enclosure was very impressive. It's hard to pick a favourite because there was so much to choose from.
We listened to several of the shows, all were very informative, interesting and well delivered.

There are plenty of places to have a picnic. We took our own, but there is a cafe there which had a good selection of bits and pieces to choose from.

All on all it was a fantastic day out and reasonable priced.
Highly recommended, especially for families with young kids.

Helpful?
Thank MrsYard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Little Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

First visited Mogo Zoo some years ago and loved it then. Revisited today and was impressed with the improvements. Be sure to catch a "Keepers Talk" All the animals are amazing but especially the Gorillas, Lions and Thelma the Sumatran Tiger. This is a must see if visiting Batemans Bay and South Coast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aussie85_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I've made a few trips to Mogo Zoo over the years, the zoo has come so far, beautiful healthy animals, awesome enclosures and informative friendly staff. Absolutely loved it

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rettateebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mogo Zoo also viewed

 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 

Been to Mogo Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing