We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow What a serene place to take time out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Wow What a serene place to take time out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We needed a base for a family wedding and all the associated family event over the January Long Weekend. We found the Hunter Hideaway Cottages not far from the main venue and at a reasonable price. What we didn't realise was how beautiful and peacful the place was going to be. I could have quite easily stayed at the cottage and ditch all the wedding hoopla. Although there are a few cottages on the farm we didn't see another person the whole time we were there, but we did see plenty of Kangaroos. The cottage had everything we needed, room for everyone, air-con, self catering facilities and right in the mddle of all the vinyards. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
30
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

about 10 mins drive from the centre of the wineries. very quite place with great privacy. space between cottages are huge. surrounded by wild kangaroos, quite clean condition. My parents loved it, we had great time there, I would stay there again. Thank you Paul.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Definitely good value for money. We've stayed here 4 years in a row and we love it! It has ALWAYS been clean and tidy. If you're after something quiet which is away from everything, this is the place! There's not much to do at the actual cottage but that's why we love it.
Always plenty of kangaroos and rabbits at sunset especially when you drive in. Close to all the wineries and Hunter Valley Gardens.
Mel from Sydney

Room Tip: Our fave cottage has become the Semillon but we also like the Chardonnay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelW075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Another stay, another time to recharge my batteries.

Room Tip: Secluded location, from all windows I saw the bushland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This place is quite and nice. Facilities within the cottage are clean and sufficient. The handsome owner Paul gave us some good advice of the vineyards to do the wine-tasting. The best thing is a kangaroo family living around the bush near our cottage. We were surprised by our neighbour and had fun with them!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelYuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macksville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Cabins were clean, well provided, peaceful, quiet and thoroughly relaxing. Everything was within a very short drive. Local vineyards. Would happily stay at this accommodation again. Great value. If you want a resort than stay at a resort but if want peace and quiet and relaxation you cannot go any further than this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethgMacksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We came to the Hunter Valley many times with friends during the year, and I have to said it was probably the best value we found for long time...I think the price is great for what you get especialy if you share with friends its even better..But we had a great time, the cabin are clean and tidy all we need was there. We also had bbq in very typical oz way...and the good think no body around you. You really feel in middle of the bush with kangaroos at the front of the cottage when you wake up (very nice for kids). Cellar door 4mn away and horses ride also 4mn away...we all very much enjoyed our times and we will comeback..Thanks to Paul for you welcome..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
7.8 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
13.0 mi away
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Hideaway Cottages

Property: Hunter Hideaway Cottages
Address: 234 Tuckers Lane | North Rothbury, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunter Hideaway Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Hideaway Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Hideaway Cottages Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing