We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The wow factor stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Rothbury, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane F
Tamworth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The wow factor stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I can,t speak highly enough of the owner Andrew,who made our stay just perfect,"thank you". We needed a place big enough to accommodate our very large family for a special surprise 50 th Birthday and The Woolshed Hill Estate delivered just that. It had the Wow factor as soon as we drove in, then from every window and glass door in all the buildings the Wow factor continued. Andrew suggested a chef "Ben, from Monkey Catering",who came onto the Estate and cooked a beautiful dinner for us on the Saturday night, which was just wonderful. We were all very sad to leave on the Sunday, but we are already planning another Family get together, this time it will be a Christmas gathering so we can utilise the pool. The guys loved playing golf,as did the little boys.We have all taken such wonderful memories of our stay,thank you thank you thank you .Jane

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
Thank you Jane for your lovely comments and please know that you are always welcome at Woolshed Hill Estate. I love seeing our guests use ALL the estate and you guys did just that! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
786JL786
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret Haven”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This was our 3rd stay at 'The Hill' and as usual we returned home with many great memories shared during our stay. I don't know of any other place where you have exclusive use of a golf course, tennis court, pool and grounds. We were fortunate enough this time around to have the whole estate to ourselves as we were a large group. We will definitely be returning for another stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we trust that you have taken home many great memories of your stay at 'THE HILL'. We look forward to having you stay again, your family is always welcome :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmartin41
Australia On Holidays
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“great for a group”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This was the second Christmas our family of 10 enjoyed at the woolshed.
The 'oldies' stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage next to the homestead.
The tennis court and pool are great and we made good use of the outside BBQ area.
The owner,Andrew,is very helpful with early arrivals and is only a phone call away for any problems.
He even supplied a christmas tree I had requested!!
Small gripe-there were no sun lounges in the pool area-only table and chairs and the grass was full of bindis.
It is the perfect place for a large group to get away and do your own thing undisturbed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I wish that I knew about the sun lounges, we do have a few but it seems they were packed away during your stay. Next time I will ensure they are left out for you =) We have also had a very trying year with very dry weather (which bindies love) so I am sorry that this caused you some concern.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unforgetable experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Myself, my partner and several couples had a fantastic time at Woolshed Hill Estate over the new year period. We stayed in the Homestead and the cottage, which was spacious and clean. The hospitality of the owners was outstanding who provided us with a tour of the homestead, a number of suggestions for food and winery tours, and was very accommodating to our needs. Woolshed had something for everyone with a tennis court, pool, golf course and wine bar. It was also within a 5 minute drive to a number of high quality wineries and breweries including Tempus Two and Blue Tounge and a 15 minute drive to Cessnock. Everyone who stayed had a great time and a number of us are planning a trip back!
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a very comfortable trip to the Hunter Valley.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2013
Thank you Sarah, it was a pleasure having your group stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon =)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystal C
Parklea, Australia
1 review
“AMAZING GET AWAY”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

My family and i party of 10 had such an amazing time at the Woolshed we stayed in the big house and it was HUGE so spacious and clean and just amazing I can't express our happiness any better then that. Andrew was so fantastic to deal with the communication was outstanding.

Thanks so much for a GREAT WEEKEND :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Thank you Krystal, I am so glad you had a great time in the residence and apartment and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowsch...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice spot for pre-wedding group dinner!”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking for accommodation for our wedding party to stay (start looking early if planning an October wedding in the Hunter!) - we had 10 guests in the large house and the owners were okay with us having the rest of our wedding guests (extra 10 people) around for a BBQ the night before the wedding. We had use of the BBQ area and a large covered outdoor patio overlooking the dam.
The facility served us well - enough rooms and space for everyone, golf for the boys on the morning of the wedding (with a bag of Leftie golf clubs provided by the facility), fully stocked kitchen with enough cutlery/ plates/serving platters for 20.
Only negative about the place was one of the ensuite bedrooms was right between the two main living areas - we felt if might be a bit noisy at times for our guests.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you had a great time at Woolshed Hill. We look forward to seeing you back here soon for a reunion!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMcAwesom...
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous Weekend in Pokolbin”
Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a weekend away with a large group of friends (14ppl) staying in the executive residence, apartment and the cottage. The host (Andrew) was very helpful with the initial organisation and took us all on a whole day winery tour on the Saturday - which was great fun. The executive residence had plenty of living space for us to all socialise together in the evenings - but we split up into the 3 different places to sleep. The apartment is attached to the executive residence but the cottage was a walk away (close to the homestead which was being used by other guests). We made use of the tennis courts and the golf course. The only problem we had was that the people sleeping out in the cottage felt a little isolated. But, as I mentioned we spent most of our time in the executive residence anyway.
Thanks so much to Andrew - we all had a great time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2012
I am so glad you had a great weekend and thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to take you all out on the vineyard tour! Looking forward to seeing you back at Woolshed Hill again soon =))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing