We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic! Close to everything. Really Fun!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Rothbury, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martine55...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Magic! Close to everything. Really Fun!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We just spent the best weekend at The Woolshed Hill Estate. It is such a beautiful place and everything we wanted to see and do seemed only 5 minutes away. We were with a large group so the accommodation was perfect. There are 4 seperate residences and all of them have ample space, a full chef's kitchen in each which was awesome! There was a lot of spare linen which was great because there were a lot of us and it was a really authentic tasteful country theme. Bec and Andy (our hosts) were fantastic. They were incredibly accommodating and knew so much about the Hunter and surrounding areas. They even organised a wonderful wine tasting for all of us at Keith Tulloch wines (incredible) and had a personal chef come to the residence and cook us lunch which was devine! It was hot so the pool really came in handy and we had a really fun time playing tennis on the court next to the outdoor BBQ area (which is right next to the kitchen - handy)! Because there is so much space we never felt cramped or in each others way and it allowed all of us to talk and mingle and even played "singstar" on the TV which was hilarious especially after all the wine we drank! It was an amazing holiday and one I will not soon forget. We will definitely be back! Thanks Bec and Andy! Wonderful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2013
Hi Martine,

Thank you so much for your kind words and both Bec and I are thrilled that your family reunion was such a hit at Woolshed Hill.
You now know where we are and what we have to offer so please come back again some day soon..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNS1971
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed there for a wedding and it was great. We had the downstairs apartment, and if you're not a fan of the heat and staying in the warmer months, grab this one. "The Apartment" is almost underground, i.e. is like a cave and has natural airconditioning. We had a couple of days of 35 degrees and inside was around 23.

The house upstairs is stunning if you feel like lashing out a bit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Hi bigdog101,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay and we are thrilled that everything was to your liking. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxing alternative to noisy motel style accommodation. We look forward to having you stay with us again..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLKMJW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Intimate getaway with ample entertainment!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Woolshed estate is the perfect place to get away with friends or extended family. There is a 9 hole golf course, swimming pool, tennis court, countless bedrooms & bathrooms & great entertaining areas. Very family friendly & super private. Would be great for parties of 50-100 (weddings, 21st, 50th). I will be fighting for a NYE week long booking for all of our friends!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane F
Tamworth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The wow factor stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I can,t speak highly enough of the owner Andrew,who made our stay just perfect,"thank you". We needed a place big enough to accommodate our very large family for a special surprise 50 th Birthday and The Woolshed Hill Estate delivered just that. It had the Wow factor as soon as we drove in, then from every window and glass door in all the buildings the Wow factor continued. Andrew suggested a chef "Ben, from Monkey Catering",who came onto the Estate and cooked a beautiful dinner for us on the Saturday night, which was just wonderful. We were all very sad to leave on the Sunday, but we are already planning another Family get together, this time it will be a Christmas gathering so we can utilise the pool. The guys loved playing golf,as did the little boys.We have all taken such wonderful memories of our stay,thank you thank you thank you .Jane

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
Thank you Jane for your lovely comments and please know that you are always welcome at Woolshed Hill Estate. I love seeing our guests use ALL the estate and you guys did just that! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
786JL786
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret Haven”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This was our 3rd stay at 'The Hill' and as usual we returned home with many great memories shared during our stay. I don't know of any other place where you have exclusive use of a golf course, tennis court, pool and grounds. We were fortunate enough this time around to have the whole estate to ourselves as we were a large group. We will definitely be returning for another stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we trust that you have taken home many great memories of your stay at 'THE HILL'. We look forward to having you stay again, your family is always welcome :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmartin41
Australia On Holidays
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“great for a group”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This was the second Christmas our family of 10 enjoyed at the woolshed.
The 'oldies' stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage next to the homestead.
The tennis court and pool are great and we made good use of the outside BBQ area.
The owner,Andrew,is very helpful with early arrivals and is only a phone call away for any problems.
He even supplied a christmas tree I had requested!!
Small gripe-there were no sun lounges in the pool area-only table and chairs and the grass was full of bindis.
It is the perfect place for a large group to get away and do your own thing undisturbed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I wish that I knew about the sun lounges, we do have a few but it seems they were packed away during your stay. Next time I will ensure they are left out for you =) We have also had a very trying year with very dry weather (which bindies love) so I am sorry that this caused you some concern.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unforgetable experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Myself, my partner and several couples had a fantastic time at Woolshed Hill Estate over the new year period. We stayed in the Homestead and the cottage, which was spacious and clean. The hospitality of the owners was outstanding who provided us with a tour of the homestead, a number of suggestions for food and winery tours, and was very accommodating to our needs. Woolshed had something for everyone with a tennis court, pool, golf course and wine bar. It was also within a 5 minute drive to a number of high quality wineries and breweries including Tempus Two and Blue Tounge and a 15 minute drive to Cessnock. Everyone who stayed had a great time and a number of us are planning a trip back!
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a very comfortable trip to the Hunter Valley.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2013
Thank you Sarah, it was a pleasure having your group stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon =)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing