We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talga Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talga Estate
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Fabulous hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Our family had a lovely weekend at the Talga Estate in October 2011. The accommodation was just lovely, the spa bath was heavenly and our children had an absolute ball. Michael and Layla were warm and hospitable without being intrusive. They made our children feel welcome and went out of their way to ensure we all had a fabulous weekend. The villas are stocked with everything you need, and Michael was kind enough to give us a pomegranate tree to take home! What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

It's rare that to come across contemporary-styled accommodation in the Hunter. Talga Estate exceeded our expectations in so many ways. The villa was huge and impeccably decorated but what we loved were the details. The bedrooms were massive and we were even surprised to find private jacuzzi's in the rooms. Everything was immacculate - from the furniture to the quality of the mattress. The kitchen was fully stocked which meant that we could cook up some of the fresh produced we bought throughout the day which was a nice change to dining out. We had dinner one night on our private patio overlooking the vines, pomegranate trees and the odd kangaroo. There's not much that beats watching the sunset with a glass of good wine in hand. Overall the whole experience was amazing. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joana_Barros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My partner and I had a lovely time at Talga Estate. The rooms were incredibly spacious and clean. Watching the sun set over the vineyards was a highlight and there were some great wineries nearby. I would recommend it to any couple looking for a romantic weekend away.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I'd heard from a friend that this place was nice though for the price, I didn't realise it was going to be this nice. Set in a quiet and beautiful expanse, you really feel like you're in the heart of the Hunter. The villa was perfect for the four of us - it had everything you need for a weekend getaway. Two double bedrooms, each with its own jacuzzi and en suite, meant we had the right amount of privacy. The shared living area (massive TV, DVD, iPod dock) and gourmet kitchen = awesome night's in! After a day out selecting the best food and wine the area has to offer, there's nothing better than enjoying it with good friends in a comfortable home away from home. Thank you Laila and Michael for making our stay memorable. You'll be sure to see us back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Impressive, Spacious and Clean accommodation, we felt comfortable, cosy and very relaxed - a home away from home. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The fridge was packed with lots of goodies ''quality wine, juices, bacon, eggs, milk and fresh bread''

Our kids loved the place even more so because of the Horse Riding facility just across the road.

The owners Michael and Laila treated us like family, we truly felt at home.

Talga Estate is one the best B&B in the Hunter region!! Of course we'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jova8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed here for the first four days of our honeymoon and on arriving Michael and Laila could not have been more friendly or welcoming.

The villa is perfect in size and IMMACULATELY clean with everything modern and fresh!!!

There was also a bottle of champagne, bacon, eggs, cheese, milk and juice in the fridge and an array of cereal, condiments and bread waiting for us.

Given it was our honeymoon Michael and Laila had left us a beautiful welcoming card congratulating us on our wedding and we thought this was a lovely touch.

The grounds are superbly beautiful and the location is close to everything but remote enough to feel completely private.

We loved every moment of our stay and would recommend it to anyone!!!!

P.S. the spa is AMAZING

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I have had the best time which was productive and peaceful .
The rooms are comfortable and stylish, 5 star.
Also the dinning table was even better than my office which accommodated my paper work for the 5 days.
Would recommend this to anyone who wants to complete his business in peace and to any family.
I will be back but this time with my family.
Peter
Ampha PTY LTD

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ampha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
2.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.3 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talga Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talga Estate

Property: Talga Estate
Address: 307 Talga Rd, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Talga Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 2 bedroom units situated on a stunning 25 acre vineyard and pomegranate orchard. At Talga Estate our bedrooms make the difference: each has a King-size latex bed, crisp linen, plush doonas and an open bathroom with hydrotherapy spa bath. But that's only the start ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Talga Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talga Estate Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing