We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day spa is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Day spa is great”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Any time we're in the hunter always visit here - best scalp massage treatment ever! Love this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubells81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    263
    94
    36
    17
See reviews for
111
688
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at Chateau Elan for 3 nights last weekend in a king spa room. Was greatly impressed when we were greeted by freindly staff at reception when we pulled up in our car.
The room was large, spacious, spotlessly clean and modern. The staff were always gracious, happy and helpful. We didn't dine at the bar and grill, but we did have the full breakfast each morning. Food was very good, fresh and well presented. Coffee did take a while to come - so we ordered it when we arrived, rather than waiting until we were seated. We called reception each time we wanted to go out and they sent a buggy to pick us up and drive us back to our room. Would we stay there Again? You betcha!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Wow!!! We just had a weekend at the chateau élan! Two rooms, one for my son and his partner too, we all were blown away by the rooms! The space and cleanliness!!!!!
Very modern, absolutely no complaints and the legends grill was fantastic!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were amazing! Don't go if you hate kangaroos!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinyyorkielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I could not believe how much we were charged for our room!!! $405 a night at special pre purchase rates!!! We had to carry our own luggage into the hotel and the service was only just acceptable. In Singapore, recently, we stayed at a 6 star hotel with our own butler and suite for $250 a night!
The room was functional, with a view of the golf course, and only 50 metres from a reception venue that was hosting a rowdy wedding party until the wee hours!!
I was stunned to discover that there was no wifi available in the rooms or in reception!
I will never return to this property unless I become a multi millionaire overnight, and would then have to think twice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AblokeFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed in a King Suite just off the 18th hole. Very large resort feel - a little like Florida! Easy walk to the restaurant and spa but golf buggies could pick you up if you preferred. Food good value in the Grill. The Spa was a definite feature and very large with well qualified therapists. A tranquil place to recover from the wine tasting! Room was fabulous - very spacious, and a large TV that could face bed or living area! Excellent location for visiting local vineyards

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieJB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

What a fantastic experience! Just got back from staying here over Friday and Saturday night. Room (spa King room) was incredible. Nice views (golf course), clean, modern, great bed. Staff were extremely helpful and did everything in their power to make the stay special. Only ate breakfast at the restaurant, but was lovely. I would be back again and would happily recommend to others. Big thumbs up!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,151 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,847 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I'm not a golfer so perhaps I'm a little biased and don't appreciate some of the other attributes BUT
I am so used to the Hunter as a food and wine trip that I hadn't imagined other activities.
Golfers presumably are used to walking long distances but for a normal guest, I thought the distances between all the facilities were too great.
Whether it be a trip to the pool or the breakfast room or dinner or whatever, each trip was like a marathon and I dreaded each one.
There was no magic or emotion with the rooms but conversely there was nothing wrong with them.
They were large,clean and spacious but it was probably more the surrounds and distances that were a turn-off.
I felt I was in a suburban complex attached to a golf course rather than a lifestyle trip to a winery region.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing