We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We are staying here for two nights for our 15yr anniversary! We chose the best place hunter has to offer! Absolutely amazing experience! Accommodation is beautiful, staff are super friendly .. Golf course is gorgeous.. Views as superb .. The spa is just sensational.. We will back!! The breakfast is YUMMY and the Legends Grill was just Devine for dinner .. a Worth every cent!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A lovely luxury property that feels far removed from the hustle and bustle of life in the city!
The stand out feature for me of the Spa King room is the giant spa bath and luxury bathroom amenities.
The staff at this hotel go out of their way to help.
Make time to try the wonderful day spa (complete with a hydrolounge) and Legends Grill (if it is on the menu the cheese ravioli with white wine sauce is divine)!
My only gripe is that there needs to be a bit more lighting on the pathways - the resort is quite sprawling and it was a bit difficult to find the restaurant in the dark.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a one bedroom villa. The room was spacious with a separate bedroom and a large lounge kitchen area. There was also another area adjacent the lounge where there was a rollaway bed for our 13 year old son. We were on the 2nd story of villa and we overlooked the golf course. It was picturesque and extremely comfortable.
The location is within the Grange housing and golf complex, it is very close to the wineries in the Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: The 2nd story rooms offer great views but you access by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hippo_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was a weekend to remember. Our Villa was divine and a bottle of Bimbadgen Estate Sparkling was there on arrival. A helicopter flight yo Bistro Molines was just the start to our amazing weekend! The staff at Chateau were extremely obliging and the service was 100%. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We hired a jeep from Sydney and travelled up to the Hunter Valley, we stopped off at the Chateau Elan and stopped in the Dublin suite, we absolutely loved it and the staff was all excellent. The food was outstanding as was the champagne :) I will highly recommend this place, with its excellent views and warm climate this place was like heaven after travelling. We then went on to Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast, i left my phone at Chataeu Elan and i called them, they kept my phone safe until our journey back to Sydney and the staff was all excellent. i also highly recommend visiting the spa there, the staff are all welcoming and very professional. Thank you so much

Room Tip: Dublin suite, but they all was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HurleyNid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was my second stay at Chateu Elan but first as a family, with my husband and 9 month old baby. We stayed in the one bedroom villa and were very impressed with the facilities available - the room was like new. They had even put out a teddy bear in the cot for our son to keep, with a little note - what a sweet touch! - as well as a lovely fruit platter for us. We had a great view of the golf course and the perfect lawn was brilliant for our son to crawl around on. The rooms were practically babyproof yet anyone staying without kids would not even think that they were set up for families, they just look sleek and modern and clean.

The staff were fantastic and really took care of us as a family. When our son unfortunately spewed on the bed they were there within minutes with fresh linen and a smile despite it being 8.30 at night. They were also happy to give us a late noon checkout even though our villa had new folks coming in that afternoon. That's the kind of service that really impresses!

As we had bub with us we didn't play golf this time but the course looked fabulous and we will organise babysitting next time so we can play! The pool is absolutely lovely, we really enjoyed an evening swim and sit in the oversized spa, it was gorgeously warm despite the chilly weather. Our bub also enjoyed clambering around the play equipment, which would equally be fun for bigger kids as well.

I was lucky enough to have an hour and a half in the spa and it was even better than last time. The vichy shower treatment was among the best I've ever had - pure heaven! The spa staff were lovely and skilled in their work and the atmosphere was so relaxing, exactly what I needed.

The food in the restaurant is fine, solid menu and quite a good wine list. It's not really gourmet fare but it's reasonably priced and again the staff were super friendly and really accommodated us with our baby. The restaurant is lovely in the morning for breakfast with the sun pouring in and the brekky buffet is varied and of good quality.

We will definitely be coming back to Chateu Elan. Well done indeed!

Room Tip: Villas are worth the extra money, they're really very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On the spur of the moment we decided to spend one night in the Hunter Valley. Checked availability and found Chateau Elan and booked a one bedroom villa. On arrival we checked out the villa and went straight back to reception and booked an extra night! The villas are in blocks and we had a corner villa with a verandah wrapping two sides and looking out over the peaceful golf course and lake. The villa itself is modern with a wonderful king size bed and large shower, then there is a living room and dining room separated by a gas fire and both opening onto the deck. The kitchen is adequate but with all the wonderful restaurants in the area it is probably only going to be used for breakfast.

From the moment we checked in we found the young staff to be SO helpful, full of smiles and nothing too much trouble. I had a problem with the wifi and called reception and she was at the villa in a couple of minutes to sort it out - with a smile! The resort is on a golf course and so there is a bar with a fire and a very good steak restaurant - again Linda at the bar was most helpful with choosing a local wine and we enjoyed our meal. I would definitely recommend staying at Chateau Elan and we will be back!

Room Tip: ask for a villa room upstairs and on a corner we had Villa 9 room 188.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndallaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range: £74 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing