We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice & modern accommodation but expensive and pretty average restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice & modern accommodation but expensive and pretty average restaurant”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spend a very good weekend with my wife in Hunter and stayed for 2 nights with late checkout on Sunday. It's not cheap but 1 bedroom suites with a fireplace are very spacious and nice, with good kitchens. Hotel is new and suites are modern and have a very comfortable layout however there are still few things which owners can do to create a truly luxurious experience for guests. Just a little bit more attention to smaller details (like those cold white ceiling lights) will make it really upmarket.

The only real disappointment is The Legends restaurant. We booked a table to have a dinner straight after Friday evening arrival. The restaurant is very expensive however steaks were quite average and sides were tasteless.
It would be alright for a pub but in this price range you can get 5 times better experience in places like Bistro Molines or in new restaurant in Leogate Estate.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suites with fireplace are very nice romantic getaway in winter . Fireplace is great! Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad_and_Marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    263
    94
    36
    17
See reviews for
111
688
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Helen's service from reception was outstanding. We had to get our wine home and were having a few problems with freight company's . After we left, Helen continued to pursue this and we got our wine home safe and sound. Thank you so much - you went above and beyond your job. The male staff member driving the buggies was so friendly and always available to drive us to reception, room, restaurant, etc. Rooms were very tasteful and such a pleasure watching hot air balloons in the morning from our patio. Have told everyone of our great stay and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We came to the Hunter Valley to celebrate a significant birthday and stayed at Chateau Elan for 3 nights! Our room, in one of the villas, was spacious as was the bathroom. The only downside was that the fridge in our room didn't work and spoilt cheese we had bought locally to enjoy with a glass of wine. We found the $10 voucher for breakfast to be really good value at $26pp. Breakfast was a buffet with great things to choose from (bread, pancakes, croissants, pastries, meats, eggs etc). There are few dining options at the hotel other than the restaurant and cafe. Therefore, you need to travel to local areas for meals. We went on a winery tour and were collected from the hotel. Visitors from overseas can enjoy the kangaroos at a close distance. If you enjoy/play golf - this is definitely the place for you as the golf course was just outside our door.
We found the cafe near the reception to have an overwhelming incense smell which some guests may find really overpowering. It is such a shame as the cafe would have been so enjoyable. Staff were friendly and offered tips and ideas. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the villas are spacious - those on the corners appear to have a 'fake' log fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresthebarandcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom spa villa for two nights, using it at as base while we hit the Hunter Valley wine trail over the April Easter weekend.

Our villa was beautifully appointed and included a kitchenette, dining and lounge rooms, and even a washing machine. Sadly, we didn’t get to fully use the villa’s facilities in our short stay or, indeed, the full facilities and services of the resort ☹

If you can, book a ground villa as the great outdoors is literally a step away. Bring a picnic blanket and enjoy wine and cheese as you overlook the golf course.

Our highlights:

• Kangaroos that jump past your villa morning and night, literally just a metre away
• Glamnicking – glamourous picnicking – with your room’s facilities a few steps away
• Friendly and efficient staff, especially the housekeepers

A minor glitch was receiving an email inviting us to a cheese/wine tasting on the afternoon of our arrival. It was cancelled, but no one let us know, even at check-in. Apparently, they couldn’t get a wine licence.

A smart marketer would have offered a discount on the cheese that day…We ordered a cheese platter of three cheeses for $25.

We’d defo stay here again and are planning our next trip.

Room Tip: See review: ask for a ground floor suite if you want to see kangaroos up close and personal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LislP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I traveled to this resort and stayed two nights a few years ago. I found it to be beautiful and loved how each room was designed around a theme. My mom and I were there for a special event and found the staff friendly and very professional. We are American and felt right at home. The facial I had was amazing and my mom enjoyed her massage. This is definitely a must-do in Hunter Valley. It's beautiful and peaceful and guests are treated very well.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmacgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Élan in June my fiancé booked it for a surprise weekend away a month before we get married, this was the perfect spot, from the moment we walked in this amazing smell greeted us as well as the amazing welcoming staff.

We were welcomed into our room the "Paris" room, we loved the huge spa and of course the massage bed, but unfortunately our room seemed to be missing a remote for the bed of course it was my side of the bed!!!!

We had dinner at legends grill which was fairly good and only a few minutes walk which is always a good thing especially when you have been on wine tours all day!!!

Will recommend to anyone wanting a nice romantic weekend away!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyena18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent a week at Chateau Elan. All the staff were courteous, professional, warm and friendly. Our room (1 bedroom villa suite) was spacious, well laid out, user-friendly and comfortable - lovely to be in. The grounds, including gardens, lawns and golf course, are beautifully laid out and maintained, and a pleasure to walk around in. We enjoyed the pool - pristinely clean, very pleasant water quality, long enough to stretch out for exercise doing laps, and big enough to share with 4 young teenage boys playing games. The large mob of Eastern grey kangaroos to watch morning and evening are a bonus, as is the bird life. Everything is clean and well maintained. Thanks for a very relaxing and comfortable week.

Room Tip: be aware most rooms are in free-standing buildings in groups of 8 - be prepared for a lovely 1 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23KateAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing