We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business, Rest & Care, 3 words that don't often go together”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Business, Rest & Care, 3 words that don't often go together”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Every once in a while we are on the receiving end of being cared for which is so much more rejuvenating that receiving great service. The staff did exactly that for me - they cared. From the moment I checked in and through each experience at the Coffee Shop, The Spa, The Vintage and Conferencing, I mattered and everyone working there help make my experience extraordinary.

I stayed in a Spa Suite (Paris) which was private and gorgeous and the bed and bedding made for restful sleeps. I've planned our return trip for our AGM and after sharing the conferencing facilities available with the rest of the team, they are keen to visit there before our next scheduled event.

Much thanks for the great care and beautiful environment...I'll be seeing you again soon.

Catherine

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    277
    96
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
720
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We recently got married on the 12th July at Chateau Élan and also stayed in the one bedroom villa for 3 nights.
AMAZING!! From the food to the scenery and the room.
But the greatest thing about this place is the staff. Huge thank you!! And a special mention to Corinne and Keith!
❤️

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I dont know where to start - absolutely without a doubt fabulous. The staff have impeccable manners, are customer service savvy and overall make your stay fantastic. The spa staff are so professional, it's a pleasure to be there. Had a super apartment, spacious, views over the golf course terrific. Food was devine, delicious and the choices were endless.
Would recommend this to anyone that is considering their next stay in the Hunter Valley. Thank you to the staff who excel in their areas of expertise

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ryde, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From the time we arrived to play golf nothing was missed, Carts, practice balls and one really challenging golf course, the Vintage. But is was the Cafe and Apartments which were the most spectacular views of the course. From the large Bathroom with spa bath to the very comfortable King Size Bed. I wish we had spend more time soaking up the golf course from the private alfresco area attached to the apartment. It was nice to have champagne and snacks after golf in the cafe. Dinner in the restaurant was also very enjoyable. Service included some great recommendation of local Hunter Shiraz to match the Black Angus steak. We strolled back to cafe for breakfast the following morning and were not disappointment by the broad choice from the buffet. Wow..looking forward to going back for longer next trip.

Room Tip: Pick and upstair room to get the best view of the golf course. Oh, and there is a helipad at the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed at a few places in the hunter valley region and this place is by far the nicest. It is new, the rooms are spacious and modern. We stayed here in summer and got to use the pool. It was great becasue not many people use it so we had it to ourselves. The staff was helpful. It is an expensive place to stay at but if you dont mind paying the price and want to stay somewhere nice I would stay here again. Ive paid similar prices in the hunter for much worse accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz255333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rozelle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the spa suite. Room was excellent and the spa bath being incorporated into the bedroom instead of being in the bathroom was perfect. The ergomotion bed was interesting, initially it was cool but we soon got sick of it and would never use it again if we owned one! The bed was also way too soft for our liking. Overall we enjoyed the stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulandRachel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as birthday Gate-away with friends. We stayed in the 2 Bedroom Spa Villa... Amazing! really lovely and cozy! The gas fireplace got quite handy for the cold weather! and we had dozens of wild Kangaroos in front of the room with lovely views to the golf course. The downside of the room is that there is no Optus, Vodafone or Telstra Mobile reception at all.. had to go to the corner of the terrace to get reception , it wasn't truly bothersome since we were there to try to get disconnected of the world.

The Beds are not as comfortable as they seem and the pillows are really hard and tall! luckily if you request them they have 3 types of pillows for you to choose.

The Front Desk and Spa Staff are delightful! Friendly and Smily! Special mention to Kieran the Duty Manager! She is fantastic!

Sadly the staff from the Vintage Golf Club have a lack of costumer service but doesn't downgrade as much the overall experience!

As a Tip .. they offer a 50 AUD Wine Tour experience ! if you are short in time and wanna experience Hunter Valley without having to Drive this is your shout! A tour over Wineries , Chocolate Houses , Distilleries and More !

Certainly would consider staying again on my next trip to the Valley!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing