We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A pleasant weekend”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my daughters birthday over a 3 day stay. Our room was very well appointed. I was disappointed not being able to enjoy our 1St floor balcony as there were no divider between our room and the next. We had dinner in the restaurant on Friday night which was very nice once the supervisor realised we were not assigned a server and every effort was made to accommodate us. Saturday night our special birthday night...the meal excellent the service great although alas..... I thought I was eating at McDonalds. No white table clothes, for a 5 star resort surely table clothes would be a mandatory thing for weekends in particular. I have dined in many parts of the world at less expensive venues and their presentations out shine this resort. The staff were a pleasure...and a yeah to the cleaners.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieFLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    282
    98
    41
    19
See reviews for
118
736
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barraba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would love to say a Massive THANKYOU to all the staff at Chateau Elan, Hunter Valley Australia. I was lucky enough to win the Month Of Love Competition back in February which included 2 nights accommodation in a luxury Spa Suite A bottle of Hunter Valley Sparkling on arrival 'Couples Retreat' Spa Package Decadent High Tea for 2. From the moment my husband and I arrived we were blown away by the Elegances and Luxury of the whole facility, From the entrance, to the room, the Legends Grill, to the beautiful day spa, we were totally lost for words. All the staff are so friendly and helpful, from Keith that opens the door to greet you, all the reception staff, the wait staff at Legends Grill, even the cleaners give you a big smile and hello. Making you feel so warm and welcome. A specially mention to Rosie, Prue and Terina for the amazing experience at the day spa. The golf course is second to none. It is truly amazing. The beautiful greens and fairways are just like you are playing on carpet. After my husband has been playing on our local greens which mind you are sand, I think he though he had died and gone to heaven playing on this course. He even found time for a golf lesson from the fantastic golf professional which has really helped his game. My husband and I can not Thankyou enough for this amazing experience, it is one we will truly treasure for the rest of our lives. If anyone is looking for an amazing and truly unique get away I can truly recommend Chateau Elan,Hunter Valley Australia for the finest and best accommodation in the Hunter. :-)

Room Tip: All of the Spa rooms have beautiful views and are so beautifully laid out with everything you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and myself went away and stayed at the chateau. It's a beautiful resort with tasteful decor and picturesque views. The fireplace was a great feature in the room which was a great touch to our two bedroom suite. Preferred staying in rothbury than where all the crowds were in Pokolbin. Will definitely be returning in the warmer months with the flowers are in bloom.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vivian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed twice here, once in december'13 and in july'14. I would recommend to go to d valley during d Aussie summers when d vineyards are bursting with grapes r almost ready to be harvested.
We stayed in d spa villas and they have a beautiful view of the golf course and d waters. Do look out for better deals and its better to book early coz its expensive during d holidays. You will see kangaroos everywhere hopping freely all over d resort. Kids enjoy that. Spa villas have a very contemporary design and comes with a kitchenette and separate dining. They have washing machine too :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watsons Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice hotel room. It was massive! Pretty outlook too. My only complaint is the crap WIFI and the concierge not giving us directions to our room (it was a bit of a drive) which meant we got lost. We had dinner at the restaurant, which although overpriced was very tasty. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Every once in a while we are on the receiving end of being cared for which is so much more rejuvenating that receiving great service. The staff did exactly that for me - they cared. From the moment I checked in and through each experience at the Coffee Shop, The Spa, The Vintage and Conferencing, I mattered and everyone working there help make my experience extraordinary.

I stayed in a Spa Suite (Paris) which was private and gorgeous and the bed and bedding made for restful sleeps. I've planned our return trip for our AGM and after sharing the conferencing facilities available with the rest of the team, they are keen to visit there before our next scheduled event.

Much thanks for the great care and beautiful environment...I'll be seeing you again soon.

Catherine

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We recently got married on the 12th July at Chateau Élan and also stayed in the one bedroom villa for 3 nights.
AMAZING!! From the food to the scenery and the room.
But the greatest thing about this place is the staff. Huge thank you!! And a special mention to Corinne and Keith!
❤️

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing