We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine and Dine in the Hunter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wine and Dine in the Hunter”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Chateau in one of the Villa's. They are well layed out and comfortable. From their we played some golf at the Vintage (part of the complex) and tried the spa which were both very good. All food was served in the golf clubhouse which is a great venue although I would have to say the food quality does not match the prices paid. The location is excellent and we tried some great wineries and other restaurants near by. All in all a good experience, staff were excellent and we would be happy to visit again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    268
    95
    37
    18
See reviews for
112
703
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We booked into a one bedroom spa villa for 7 nights (checked out this morning). We had been through a stressful time recently, and wanted to pamper ourselves whilst exploring the Hunter Valley. We could not have chosen better, unless it had been by deciding to stay longer. The accommodation was excellent, with highlights a deep spa bath, gas open fire, and picturesque outlook over the golf course. (We enjoyed visits from local roos and birdlife whilst relaxing over breakfast and afternoon tea on our patio.) Best of all was the outstanding service culture that permeated everyone we met including at reception and concierge, the day spa and in two great dining experiences at Legends Bar and Grill on our first and last nights (reviewed separately). Special thanks to Colin at Concierge whom we met on our first day and who was so welcoming and gave us excellent tips for sight seeing and dining. We are already planning our return visit to this fantastic hotel, next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BMWRJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my now fiancee in a one bedroom spa villa and cant praise the Chateau Elan highly enough. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome and important, the staff apologised when taking 5 minutes to come to our villa to pick us up when we wanted to go somewhere on the property using the buggy service they offer which is perfect when your fiancee is 30 weeks pregnant.

The spa staff are highly professional and is a great addition to the features on offer at the property. I heard for the first time in a while that my fiancee felt beautiful again after her facial she had.

we were in villa 3 which was the perfect location for us and there was next to no noise heard from anywhere on the property at all no matter what time of day. The views of the golf course and mountain ranges make for a peaceful and relaxing time. also the kangaroos hopping along make the property feel even more relaxing. The in-room fire place adds a wonderful touch and to have it lit before we returned on the second afternoon was the perfect touch. and ensured the outside chill wasnt mirrored inside.

Definately stay here if you ever get the chance to visit the hunter valley wine region as you wont be disappointed at all.

Room Tip: All rooms have golf course views but in my experience would sy the way to go is a ground floor spa v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having travelled all over this amazing planet , Chateau Élan rates up with the best in the world. Celebrating my wife's 50th (the new 40) Management from Joe Spagnolo and wife Stacy and all the team are amazing . Head chef Tony is a magician . The shared shoulder lamb was sensational . We will be back soon for the same . Three nights was simply not long enough. Thank you thank you thank you.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are the go .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Chateau Élan. From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out, we were so well looked after. We stayed in a one bedroom spa villa which was just immaculate with a stunning view of the golf course. Due to the size of the property, the staff are more than happy to buggy you around on a golf cart, which came in handy on those chilly nights after dinner. We had one very minor mishap with a booking for a winery tour however Crystal at the front desk quickly made arrangements for us and sorted everything out. When we returned to our room they had left a note and a beautiful candle. It's the little things that count. Thank you for a beautiful stay, we can't wait to return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scruflz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very spacious modern and swish. Made us feel dead grown up. Single bedded apartment with more room than your standard hotel accom. Great kitchenette so did our own cooking. Watched kangaroos and stars from back patio. Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Enjoyed a lovely stay at Chateau Élan celebrating a friend's birthday. Girls weekend away for 5 we had interconnecting rooms - a 1 bedroom suite and a twin room, great bathrooms, good kitchen facilities, cosy gas fireplace on the ground floor, could walk out onto the grass overlooking the golf course. Kangaroos wandered by in the morning. The spa is a must, beautiful facial and very relaxing centre. Legends Restaurant on-site had good service and delicious menu. Plenty of wineries close by.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk too far ask for a villa close to reception. However, the staff will c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing