We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing! ”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here during mid august for our anniversary.

We were so happy! The room was beautiful and I can't even explain to you the comfort of the bed!

The staff were lovely and helpful.

I can't recommend this great venue highly enough. I know I'll be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heidi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    269
    95
    37
    18
See reviews for
112
705
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

so, if there's an award this year for most stupid reception staff, this "hotel" takes it hands down. i'm here for a conference speaking slot tomorrow. checked in, after wild confusion as to where the hotel is, vs the associated golf and other ventures. on finally finding hotel reception, they note that :everyone says it's hard to find: and that the signs are very small and can't be seen. of course. so then i get to the, really very nice room - spacious, outside courtyard, pillow menu, bath with spa jets, all good. but no phone reception. so i call them - yes there's no optus reception in the rooms, they say- and the wi fi not working , so what does one do when on a work gig ?? six hours later, one works out that one just walks 2 m outside of the main hotel structure, to get full cell reception. but the genius reception staff, tim and aaron, apparently didn't think this was a piece of information suitable to be passed on to guests?? seriously. management- get in charge, this is a joke.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterDorrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It can be really hard to decide where to stay when you don't know the area you are going to so all the reviews you read really help in the decision making. The reviews for the Chateau are all true and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for the 4 nights we were in the Hunter Valley.
The Chateau staff are very welcoming and very helpful and the spa 1 bedroom villas are just fantastic. The bed was amazing - the mattress and pillows so soft and comfortable and the spa bath and fire really set the units off.
We played one round of golf and the course was in good condition, interesting and challenging. The meal we ate at the Restaurant was excellent. Highly recommend if looking for something a little luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Took my Dad there for his 80th to enjoy fine food, fine wine and fine service. It started with complimentary fruit platter, bubbly, birthday cake and personalised note in his room. We all met downstairs to wander over to dinner and had the door opened for us by none other than Joe Spagnolo, the General Manager, still at work at 6pm tirelessly ensuring his customers were happy. He then arranged for one of his staff to take us over to dinner in a buggy also. All the staff seemed to know it was Dad's birthday in the restaurant and each one of them treated him above and beyond, including yet another bottle of bubbly with dinner and for dessert a tray of sweets with a personalised note drizzled on the plate with chocolate. Weekend was fabulous, staff and service were fabulous.....but wait, there is still more....driving away from the hotel we made it about 300m down the road when we got a flat tyre, I had pulled my spare out and was wondering what I was going to do on a Sunday with 1000's of km's drive ahead of me....when Super Joe shows up. He smiled, pulled out his phone, his mechanic shows up 5 mins later, takes our tyre away, comes back in another 5 mins with the tyre repaired and reinflated. The whole process from flat to driving away(again) took 20 mins. An unsurpassable service anywhere.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have to say I've never felt the need to write a review about a place I've stayed at before. Well, that was before we stayed at the Chateau Elan. We've just come back from there, in fact, and it was absolutely fantastic. We booked three nights in a one bedroom suite, overlooking a Greg Norman golf course The fire was on when we walked into the room, the lights were dimmed, the linen was pressed, the rooms smelt beautiful. I've never had such a strong impression of coming "home" before. Not only was the accommodation outstanding, the grounds were beautifully maintained, the Bar and Grill served us wonderful breakfasts every morning. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful - more like the kindness you experience when visiting friends, not hotel staff.

I can't speak highly enough of the place and we will definitely stay there next time we are visiting the Hunter Valley. you should trust me and stay there too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Chateau in one of the Villa's. They are well layed out and comfortable. From their we played some golf at the Vintage (part of the complex) and tried the spa which were both very good. All food was served in the golf clubhouse which is a great venue although I would have to say the food quality does not match the prices paid. The location is excellent and we tried some great wineries and other restaurants near by. All in all a good experience, staff were excellent and we would be happy to visit again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We booked into a one bedroom spa villa for 7 nights (checked out this morning). We had been through a stressful time recently, and wanted to pamper ourselves whilst exploring the Hunter Valley. We could not have chosen better, unless it had been by deciding to stay longer. The accommodation was excellent, with highlights a deep spa bath, gas open fire, and picturesque outlook over the golf course. (We enjoyed visits from local roos and birdlife whilst relaxing over breakfast and afternoon tea on our patio.) Best of all was the outstanding service culture that permeated everyone we met including at reception and concierge, the day spa and in two great dining experiences at Legends Bar and Grill on our first and last nights (reviewed separately). Special thanks to Colin at Concierge whom we met on our first day and who was so welcoming and gave us excellent tips for sight seeing and dining. We are already planning our return visit to this fantastic hotel, next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BMWRJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing