We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent wine, fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RidgeView Restaurant,Wines & Cottages

RidgeView Restaurant,Wines & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Greek, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our sumptuous cypriot mezze menu uses fresh seasonal produce and is designed to enhance the flavour of our wines. Comprising 15 dishes over four courses, the feast includes home made dips, cypriot salads as well as slow cooked meat from our specially designed cypriot grills. You wont leave hungry. Lighter options are also available and all dietry requirements are also catered for. Our award winning wines are available in the restaurant at cellar door prices. You can choose to also dine alfresco on our balcony over looking the picturesque vineyard or in our air conditioned restaurant. Our cottages offer a secluded setting amongst the vineyards and bushland. Features include spa bath, full kitchen, log fire, air conditioning, private bbq, jacuzzi, sauna and undercover parking. Enjoy all that the property offers. Relax in the infinity edge swimming pool or have a hit on the rebound ace tennis court. At RidgeView we also have the perfect setting for that special occasion whether it be your wedding, birthday or engagement to name a few. Our executive chef will tailor a menu that suits the occasion perfectly.
Sydney
1 review
“Magnificent wine, fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I experienced a perfect weekend at Ridgeview a couple weeks back. Aside from the gorgeous surroundings and homey atmosphere (that fireplace just made it), the restaurant served us delicious tapas style plates - all of which were flavourful and great fun to share. We chose the Spanakopita (the winner for me), Stuffed Tomatoes, Haloumi (caramelised pears and pistachios - Yum! a must try), Lamb Shanks (best I've had), Dip Platter and Crab Croquettes. Loved every bite – only sad I didn’t get to try every dish! The friendly staff also gave some great guidance as to which wines worked best and how much food would suit our group (much appreciated). Thanks for a perfect weekend - we were all so impressed and I can’t wait to come again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurenmay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    34
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay! Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great cottage! we had everything we need in the cottage, a fire place, a very comfee bed, great sofa, with a lot of space for everyone. Great view (even in the winter) from the cottage, with a few kangaroos jumping around from time to time. the only complain is the phone reception there, with no wifi, it could be a headache.

Food are excellent at the restaurant! Everything we had, especially along with the wine, were great! we had breakfast and dinner there, and only a few dishes we felt were not above standard.
Try out their lamb, it was exquisitely cooked and the taste is exceptional!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Never Dissapoints !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have visited Ridgeview previously and i am never dissapointed with the food or the service. We had the mezze on this particular ocassion and found that the flavours worked very well together, we certainly didnt leave hungry!. The atmosphere in the restaurant also improves each time we visit and the helpfull waitstaff ( Jo) always make us feel welcome and part of the family. Again this visit we got to chat with Donna The executive chef and found her helpfull and welcoming and eager to share her knowledge with us. We would without hesitation recomend going out to Ridgeview and checking the place out for your self. Keep up the great work guys we will definately be back!!!!!.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Louise and Ed Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Louise and I had our wedding ceremony and reception here and were very impressed with the service and professionalism. Donna, the head chef was very friendly and approachable and had met all our needs. The food was great with a wide selection to cater for everyone. Drinks were also well priced and a good selection. The room itself was fantastic! The perfect size for our 60+ guests with a little hideaway to keep the kids entertained with their own T.V. The setting was amazing, with beautiful valleys, mountains and vineyards. Even though we were married in June, the setting was beautiful with rolling greens, and colours making our photos and memories just amazing and ones we will cherish for ever. We are looking forward to our anniversary so we can make the trip back there to relive the beauty and amazing service we received from Darren, Donna, Jo and all the fantastic staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdLou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
“Great place for special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I recently organized my wife's 50th Birthday celebrations at Ridgeview Estate Hunter Valley for 21 people. After looking at a dozen other places in the Hunter Valley we decided to celebrate this milestone occasion at Ridgeview Estate on the strength of our gut feeling and what Ridgeview promised to deliver. They certainly did not disappoint at any level. After speaking to Head Chef Donna we decided to choose the Cypriot Meezie which proved to be a wise choice for a large group as it was more social and you could move around the table and sit with different people for different courses as well as not have to think too much about what you would like to eat as there was a big variety in the Meezie.

We arrived at Ridgeview and commenced with a wine tasting.Our 1st course of breads, dips and olives etc were served to us during the wine tasting. We then moved to the restaurant and grazed over the next 3 courses for 4 hours while drinking Ridgeview wines with our own personal labels on the bottles. The food was excellent and plenty of it with nice intervals between courses. We were allowed to bring our own birthday cake. The wines were very good especially the reds.

The staff were friendly and attentive without going over the top. All our guests who came from all walks of life are raving about their experience at Ridgeview. I feel that the whole experience was value for money. Ridgeview promised to make this special for my wife and they went beyond the call of duty to hold up their end of the bargain. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megstar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RidgeView Restaurant,Wines & Cottages also viewed

Rothbury, Cessnock
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to RidgeView Restaurant,Wines & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing