We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The apartments have everything you could really need to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. They give you the option to either settle down and cook your own dinner on the BBQ or kitchen, or go out and enjoy the surrounding areas offerings with top class restaurants.
One thing was definitely obvious, and that was the peace and quiet. Usually I stay in hotels and this was an added benefit to staying here. If you are after a peaceful and relaxing holiday, this place can definitely offer that.

The apartment furnishings were great, the place was clean. The bed was amazing! not sure what it was but I slept really well every night. The lock up garage was a nice feature with access straight into the apartment from it.

The location is spot on. During your stay, you are surrounded by the wineries and everything else the Hunter has to offer. For the golf enthusiast, it definitely looked inviting, but unfortunately I was there for work so there was not much time to play.

One great feature is the free internet, if you are there for business. if you didn't bring your own, the reception can easily provide you with a LAN cord to connect to your laptop.

I'll mention two small negatives which I found during my stay, but they are only very minor. The first is the ant problem. I found that if I rinsed my crockery and cutlery in the sink and left them in the sink, and then walked away for about 10 mins, I'd come back to the items covered in small ants. I'm not sure where they came from but this situation happened more than once, so just some advice, make sure you don't leave food scraps or anything food related sitting around otherwise you might have some uninvited guests. The other thing I noticed was the servicing of the apartment. I read that the apartments are only serviced if you are staying 8 days or longer, and even then you have to request it. The place doesn't need servicing everyday, but if you have a big family which produce alot of rubbish, it'd be good to somehow get rid of it to stop the smell (also refer to the ant issue). They only service the place once you have checked out.

I'd definitely stay here again if I was visiting the region, and please don't let the two negatives above put you off this place as it is definitely a piece of paradise in one of the nicest parts of our country.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilspark80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2011

I was very impressed with the Grand Mecure, The Vintage. The complex is made up of self contained apartments (choice of upstair and downstairs - recommend downstair for travelers with small children). The layout is modern and catered very well with two double bedrooms complete with matching en suites. Guests have both an indoor and outdoor dining area and fully equipped kitchen and BBQ outside. A short walk to the pool was great with little ones. Staff were discrete but easily accessible when needed and very accommodating with requests. The Grand Mecure is a little different to usual resorts/hotels/apartments whereby it forms part of the Vintage Golf Course, Chataeu Elan and conference centre. A couple of restaurant choices but we found purchasing local produce and dinning in both good fun and very relaxing. I will be staying here for future Hunter visits!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymumsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My partner and I stayed here last week, we booked a one bedroom apartment at the last minute based on previous reviews on TripAdvisor.

At first the place definitely ticked all the boxes, it is very spacious and expertly styled, there is a large fridge and freezer, great BBQ area and comfortable lounge area. The grounds are really scenic and it's so peaceful and quiet.

For those reasons I can't fault it however it was the minor but still important details that created a bit of frustration.

For example, neither of the TV's worked and the TV in the bedroom has no remote (normal apparently), the blinds were broken, the fire alarm went off twice even though we were not cooking or even in the kitchen area (once was while we were asleep at 7am), we were given 1 small soap, 3 conditioners and 1 shampoo (very strange supplies for 2 adults), there were dead mozzies all over the windows (should have been cleaned a bit better I think), the BBQ lighter did not work and the noise from the apartment above was echoing through to our apartment even though the people above were not particulary noisy. This all may sound nit picking but when the main Reception finishes at 6pm (and we arrived at 6.45pm) it's frustrating having to wait until the next day to have any issues rectified. After a long journey to the Vintage we just wanted to light up the BBQ for some food and relax in front of the TV.

I am really hoping we had the dud apartment as I have noticed everyone else had a brilliant stay. However if you do stay here just bring a lighter for the BBQ, check the TV's and bathroom supplies when you check in and bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
perth
21
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Good standard accommodation on top 20 public access golf course. Legends grill was superb for meals. NYE mesqerade ball was very well organised, great band, good wines from the Hunter and fireworks on the property. Fantastic

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We booked two nights at short notice through Wotif for $199 a night. Had a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor close to the pool.

The apartments are well appointed for a self contained facility. Small kitchen in the room, with a great gas barbie on the balcony.

Only a shor drive to vineyards and restaurants. Also had a massage at the nearby Chateau Élan which was sensational.

Only complaint if I had one - out of control kids (or is it their parents who don't care?) in the pool.

Overall, well priced, well appointed and very much enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corky1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hallidays Point
11
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We had a wonderful time. The Apartments are great although the upstairs two bedroom ones are much better that the downstairs one bedroom that we stayed in this time. Saying that though the room was lovely and the restaurant where we had Christmas Lunch was very good. We will certainly go there again

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Gold Coast
1
Reviewed 13 December 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
0.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley

Address: Vintage Drive | Hunter Valley, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range: £150 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley is situated just 2 hours drive north of Sydney and 30kms west of the heritage city of Maitland. Surrounded by vineyards, the Grand Mercure is located within The Vintage resort and features contemporary two bedroom 4.5 star luxury apartments that have been designed to complement the area's natural environment and prestigious location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Mercure Hotel Rothbury
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing