We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a night's layover in Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Comfort Inter City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Belmont
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good choice for a night's layover in Perth”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've stayed here several times and will likely do so again in future. This is one property that I would reallly like to give 3.5 rating instead of 4 ... it's just not quite "very good", though if you can find a sub-$175/night rate it edges into the very good value category. It is definitely not a +$200/night hotel. (Remember, this is Australia, so hotels are ridiculously high priced for their quality.)

The rooms are ok size, beds & pillows are comfortable, shower has plenty of pressure & hot water and everything is clean. Towels are small & not particularly soft. The in-room fridge, microwave and sink come in handy as I usually grab takeway as soon as I land then eat it later in the evening or first thing in the morning.

Reception staff have always been friendly & efficient.

Complimentary shuttle service (I think starts at 4am from the hotel, not sure about the last flight arriving) is ONLY to/from T3 & T4 terminals so if you're arriving at the international terminal or T2, where many regional flights end up, you'll have to do the cab thing - which is expensive. Here's a link to "which terminal" if you aren't sure: http://www.perthairport.com.au/PassengerInformation/WhichTerminal.aspx You need to ring reception when you collect your luggage before they will come get you - they will not meet your flight.

I have never received free WiFi access, so good on those reviewers who have scored this bonus. This has always been a negative aspect of this place but maybe it's changing. Definitely ask when you book and arrive to see if you can get access, too.

It seems to be a popular hotel for the FIFO workers and there were people coming and going at all hours on a Sunday night. The noise from the hallway does carry into the room so know going in that it isn't the quiestest hotel you've probably ever stayed in.

Overall, this is a solid choice for an overnight if you get a good rate. If I had to pay well over $200/night for this place, I'd be tempted to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJANingaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intmgr, Manager at Country Comfort Inter City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest


thank you for your recent review of the hotel. Management has continued to continually upgrade all facets of the property to meet our guests expectations. This includes bedding, curtains,. furniture, TV's and all rooms have just recently been repainted.

The hotel is looking at extending services next year when the hotel expands to 160 rooms, which will greatly increase our attraction for guests travelling intrastate and internationally via T1 & T2. Whilst we do not operate to them at this stage, we are more than happy to provide transport to T3/T4 where there is a complimentary shuttle to these terminals.

Free Wifi passwords are available via reception or remotely via the Movie / internet channel on the tv. Please do not hesitate to contact reception if you require assistance in future.

As General Manager, I greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    251
    107
    44
    36
See reviews for
116
222
59
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although I was a little worried at first when I saw the stained carpets in the hallways, this hotel was comfortable and the rooms were kept clean.

The food in the restaurant was tasty, but a bit overpriced. The room had a fridge and microwave, and the supermarket is close by so if your pocket starts to feel the bite, go and grab some ready-made meals, milk and cereal from Woolworths.

Free access to their WiFi was provided for all of my devices (laptop, phone, tablet), which was fast enough for browsing, email, VPN and Remote Desktop. If you are an international traveller, bring power adapters as the hotel only provides Australian sockets in the rooms. If you are lucky you can get a British/Euro/American socket adapter (no voltage conversion) from reception, if no one else has it already.

I stayed for 6 nights on business and did not have an issue.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank blackstarzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intmgr, General Manager at Country Comfort Inter City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your favourable review. We are currently reviewing the hallway carpets and looking at upgrading these in the near future. The hotel has several power adaptor at reception for guest usage.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARRATHA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This looks and feels like a lovely modern facility. My room was spotless, no marks or any items that look out dated! The reception staff are BRILLIANT (Fin) is outstanding. The duty manager was also outstanding. It is so refreshing to come across such a fine establishment! I worked my way up in the hospitality industry from housekeeping to Management. There is not one thing that I could complain about the Country Comfort Inter City Hotel!
As I was not very well due to very recent spinal surgery, the staff could not do enough for me and you have no idea how much this helped me. Many hotels I have stayed at (as I live in the far north) do not even bother to ask if they can help despite looking at me really struggling with severe pain.
The housekeeping staff are also fantastic! There was not a spot of dust in the entire establishment and the housekeeper that was on the afternoon shift was brilliant! I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel.

Room Tip: Should you have come down from the country for medical treatment, it would help the staff if you req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy6714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intmgr, General Manager at Country Comfort Inter City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for you positive review of your recent stay. I will definitely pass on your review with the team. We continue to undertake a hotel refurbishment plan and this has seen all room repainted and only several townhouses left to complete.
It is great to hear that the staff were also more than accommodating in assisting you whilst you were not at your best. As General Manager, it is always rewarding to hear positive reviews of where staff have gone above and beyond in assisting our guests.
I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Perth.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norseman, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A long haul flight always leaves you exhausted, needing things to be easy, and longing for a good nights sleep. Nothing over the top in that simple expectation of a $260.00 overnight stay.

But it didn’t start well as the taxi drove away (no complimentary bus for international), Parked in front of the main entrance is the motel transfer bus, covering the ‘no parking’ sign, and the ramp to wheel our luggage up. So it is lift up onto the entrance, ‘tween the bus and the shrubs, struggle with the unfriendly big doors and we’re in. Phew! Lucky we’re not in wheelchairs.

Checking in felt as we were imposing by darkening the doorstep, but no matter, struggle out the other unfriendly big doors with nary a hint of ‘can I assist you with anything sir/madam’. So we trundle our stuff through the walkway, along the grubby carpets and past the luggage trolley, well that would have been useful back aways but nearly there now! Into our room and in we struggle, nice to be here - at first glance. That was until we entered the bathroom. Nothing short of disgraceful with stained toilet bowl, built up dirt and hair in the corners, and seems as though black grout is in vogue.

Never mind, off for a feed to the restaurant, and very nice it was too. Recommendations to the chef and the friendly service staff in there. A bit pricey we thought for what it was but you get that.

Back to the room to hit the sack, pull back the covers and damn, grabbed the bottom sheet as well. Oh look, there’s a mattress protector, and what a good job it’s doing! It’s prevented a lot of nasties from previous events getting to the mattress! So off it comes and is abandoned to the floor. Yikes, all that was to protect us from the protector was the thin sheet!

So off to sleep after an arduous flight and arrival, check out at ten so a bit of a sleep in. But what’s that, 7.00 already!?, There’s a whole big heap of banging and clanging going on right outside our window. Business must be good because they’ve bought up the land next door and building more units - probably with the money saved on cleaning and washing mattress protectors. Should be in operation soon though, those workmen were enthusiastic about whatever they were hitting. Would been nice to have been informed that this was in progress.

Oh well, sigh, may as well go for brekky, only $20.00 each for a bowl of cereal, toast and tea. Back to the room to repack our cases, just in time for the cleaning staff to burst into our room unannounced. Not their fault as we had no “Do Not Disturb “ to hang outside. They seemed a tad miffed when we advised we would be in their way until 10.00 to catch our 1.00 flight. But I’ve seen it before, poor staff driven to a ridiculous schedule to cut costs.

So off to checkout, a reversal of the check in procedure, except we’re $260.00, brekky included, lighter. We politely expressed our grievances as described here, but it didn’t go down well at all. The bus was still in the way, receptionist says to our grumble - “yeah, that’s a bit backward isn’t it”. We couldn’t disagree.

So as we are flying domestic we get the privilege of a ‘free’ transfer to the airport, that was once we’ed lifted the luggage past the shrubs and into the van. As we drove out, neatly reversed into it’s corner parking spot, a very nice late model (new?) Beemer, Classy! Resplendent in fancy personalised plates and a shiny protector for the dash. That’s to keep the UV off, the irony is it’s what out mattress protector needed! Now I’m pretty certain that it (BMW) isn’t owned by the staff, and a guest with those tastes would stay elsewhere, so the management do have some interest in style and comfort, it’s just a pity that it is not applied to the standards that they own in their establishment. It would cost very little to the precious bottom line and improve their guests experience. And last but not least drive me to write about stuff I shouldn’t have to, knowing that there will be a condescending response written in reply and nothing done, as is evident from previous comments on this forum. I am of the opinion that management have nothing but contempt for their customers, so someone prove me wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1955Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intmgr, General Manager at Country Comfort Inter City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

The issues you have raised have been addressed by our executive housekeeper. At presently we are completing a full audit of all beds, mattress protectors and pillows. In coming months we are scheduling the upgrade of all bathroom and kitchenettes.

As General Manager, I greatly appreciate your feedback as it assists us in ensuring that the hotel exceeds our guests expectations and any faults raised can be rectified.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Disgusted with the service we received. Staff rude, unhelpful. Spoke on the phone 15 minutes prior to arrival, was quoted one price, then arrived and they charged us $300 more! Room average at best, and no notice that there was a noisy building site blocking half the complex.

Disgusted. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily00912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intmgr, General Manager at Country Comfort Inter City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

I am at a loss why you would have been charged double the nightly rate.

The only incident I can recall in recently was when a guest requested an upgrade from an entry room to a large three bedroom self contained townhouse. As these are nearly four times the size of our entry rooms therefore the price is much higher and I assume was for more than one night.


Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Rooms very clean, beds extremely comfortable, second motel we seen as we were coming into perth and needed a place to stay for the night as we had been travelling for 10 hours! Bathroom was very clean and great pressure in the showers! Great mini bar! Room had a balcony, ours was overlooking the carpark and a new building construction but we were only there for the night so was fine for us! We didn't eat at the restaurant as we wanted more of a pub meal so went a couple of blocks away to the nearest bistro but went down to have a few drinks before going off to have a meal which was nice. Very happy with this motel and would stay again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intmgr, General Manager at Country Comfort Inter City Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest

thank you for your favourable review of your recent stay. Over the last several years the hotel has continued to improve with major capital works programs lifting the overall look and feel of the property.

We are currently constructing an additional 62 new corporate rooms which will be complimented by the continued upgrade of the new rooms.

Hopefully next time you will have the opportunity to try a great meal at The Firehouse Restaurant and we look forward to ensuring your next stay is just a memorable.

Regards


Peter Neville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

stayed last night in a 3 bedroom town house. Air conditioner didn't work even after maintenance looked at it (40+ degree heat). Full smelly rubbish outside door was there when we arrived yesterday and still there this morning, It brought all the flies in the neighbourhood. Room hadn't been cleaned (or a terrible cleaner). Floor tiles filthy in some rooms, spills down walls, hair & debris in bathroom. Paid top price $385 for one night so expected better than this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intmgr, General Manager at Country Comfort Inter City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your email. Presently we have a painter working through all townhouses and TH3 will be the next one scheduled for painting. Once painting is completed, we have housekeeping providing a full spring clean of these units including an acid wash treatment to all tiled areas.

I have also addressed the rubbish issues with the Executive Housekeeper and the emptying of these bins has been changed to avoid a similar occurrence.

As General Manager, I greatly appreciate your feedback as this greatly assists us in ensuring the hotel meets the standards our guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
Airport Apartments
#1 of 3 in Redcliffe
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,509 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Comfort Inter City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort Inter City Hotel

Property: Country Comfort Inter City Hotel
Address: 249-263 Great Eastern Hwy, Belmont, Western Australia 6104, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Belmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Comfort Inter City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Comfort Inter City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing