We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great caving experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 4 Hr Option

Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 4 Hr Option
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: There are now two DRY options in the Amazing Lost World Cave. They are both awesome. One includes a huge 100m abseil, the other has no abseil and instead has a zip line 80m up in the roof of the massive cavern. To avoid confusion, we tried to list these two options separately with Tripadvisor. Inexplicably, Tripadvisor have advised us that they believe these are the same activity and wont let us have a separate listing. We assure customers that they are VERY different so please see our website or contact us for more detail. We want to ensure you get what you're expecting and also the option that's best for you. Lost World 4 Hr Option (allow approx. 4 Hours) (This is the option that has been going for almost 30 years). Abseil/Rappel 100m followed by a dry caving adventure as you explore this magnificent cave system. Surprisingly gentle - freehanging in a massive void... Bouncing a bit because of the sheer length of the rope. The roar of the Mangapu river echoes up from caverns far below. Beams of light seek to penetrate the eerie mists. Weird plants cling desperately to the sheer rock walls. It's like being lowered into the bowels of some prehistoric animal. Climb back over slabs of rock and ladders. Excellent glowworms. Min age 10 yrs. No experience required. Operator is Local Family and has over 29 years of safe operation. Operations is Qualmark and Outdoorsmark Endorsed. FREE PHOTOS OF YOUR TRIP SENT BY INTERNET Lost World Through the Window (The is the new option Started in 2016 - allow approx. 3.5 hours) This relatively gentle option has no abseiling (rappelling). Also because we don't go to the bottom of the abyss, there's only a few glowworms. Instead it has a zipline and also a tyrolean traverse as you make your way high up in the ceiling of the cavern. Its a bit quicker (about 3.5 hours); less physically demanding and also at a lower price point than the abseiling option. The views however are unbelievable and you will know that you are indeed in a very special place. Min age 10 yrs. No experience required. Operator is Local Family and has over 29 years of safe operation. Operations is Qualmark and Outdoorsmark Endorsed. Free photos of your trip sent by internet
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great caving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I went for a trip with this company. I was really impressed. My guide Brad (Brad?) was great. Definitely would do it again but next time on the 7h tour Lost World.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    24
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely & Utterly Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not to be missed - Incredible 100m abseil into the caves; breathtaking scenery; knowledgeable staff where safety is the utmost priority; genuine feelings of being transported into a whole other world.

Felt completely safe & secure throughout the abseil - could thoroughly enjoy the transcendence into the caves and really take in our incredible surroundings.

Our guide, Telly, was great - engaging, able to answer all of our questions, personable

We saw some really amazing wildlife besides the glow worms (which were so great!) including an eel (!!!!), cryptic insects that were being investigated for research, a Weta (!!!!)

Hopefully no one has beaten my record for fastest female to climb up that ladder...!

We wished we booked the longer tour! A great experience

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Awesome experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our original tour was cancelled due to low numbers so was upgraded to the Lost World 4 hr. The tour was awesome. Our guide Iain was great, very informative and made us feel safe. The highlight would have to be the 100 metre abseil into the cave at the very beginning. AMAZING!! Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome experience and rush abseiling 1000 into the beautiful lost world. The guides were very friendly and the small groups allow for you to make friends and get plenty of photo ops. I'm no geologist but we saw plenty of stalagmites and other cave things which the guides knew tons about and delivered the info in an.interesting way. Great opportunity to see the glow worms and other creatures like eels in the cave waters. Definitely recommend booking if you're considering it. Just make sure you're not completely out of shape as there's quite a climb up a ladder to get out. Probably scarier than the abseil itself!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful day, amazing views and a fun abseil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a really great tour. It's a great way see the caves and the get up and close with the glow worms.

The guide (Flyn) was really nice and I was lucky enough to be the only one on my tour so the guide was able to tailor the tour to me which was nice as I got to do more exploring of the caves. They were also very knowledgeable about the caves. He also did a good job of taking the photos on the trip (note you can't take your own camera down but the guide has a camera and the photos are $35).

The entrance to the caves is a spectacular view and abseiling into it is a really cool way to get it which I really enjoyed. The caves are also very interesting with some unusual rock formations.

The tour is also lots fun climbing through the caves though make sure you save some energy as it's a long ladder climb at the end (but I quite enjoyed it).

I would recommend this tour it was lots of fun.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonathanCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 4 Hr Option also viewed

 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waitomo Adventures - Lost World 4 Hr Option? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing