We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it”
Review of Caveworld

Caveworld
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.66*
and up
Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cave World offer two fantastic tours with the aim to create memorable caving and glowworm experiences for all our customers. Either choose our fun-filled black water rafting adventure Tube It, or bring your family and friends along and join our Footwhistle Glowworm Cave Tour, a relaxed one hour guided walk down through glowworm displays and formations. We are A family-run, locally owned and operated business, Cave World specialises in providing the personal and professional touch on our authentic Waitomo tours, with over 10,000 satisfied visitors experiencing our unique piece of New Zealand each year.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

the people at the desk were really lovely to deal with.
we some how got bumped from our 12.30 time slot and it was much later before we left. over the road and getting changed the guides were really friendly and up for a laugh.
we got changed and into a van for our drive to the caves, once there you have to do a bit of walking (really hot with a wet suit and tube) and the caves were a lot of fun, not once did I see a spider in the caves.
once done we had to climb 150 steps back out - take your time :)
and they drive you back, get changed walk across the road and have a hot drink while they do the photos, we had also booked for the glow worm that night but the guides did a great job giving us info about them we didn't go.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    55
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We did the Tube It tour last year and it was fantastic. One of the funnest and best tours I have done. The glowworms are amazing and never cease to blow my mind. The tour was enjoyable with plenty of variety. We were the only two on the tour due to the time of year and our guide was informative and fun. I could only fault the wetsuit gear was getting pretty old shabby, I had a gaping hole in my crotch and boots, but by no means did that affect the fun to be had on the tour blackwater rafting down the cave.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Caveworld is a boutique operation. It's nice to know that the people running this business are based in the area. Barnsie was friendly humorous and professional. His historical and geological knowledge was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend this short caving experience especially the evening tour.

Helpful?
Thank swampykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real treat”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My partner and I were pleased to be greeted by friendly Ross (our guide for our night tour) he was pleasant, knowledgeable and very polite. He was respectful of the history of the caves and we particularly noticed he acknowledged the history and link to maori people which means a lot to us (being maori people ourselves) so thank you Ross for a pleasurable evening. We look forward to returning someday in The future With Our children.
Sam

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeteMadiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Footwhistle cave tour.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We did the one hour guided tour of the Footwhiste cave yesterday evening. It was fabulous. Our guide, Ross, did a wonderful job of taking us through and answering any questions, as well as being obviously very knowledgable and informative with his descriptions and commentary. It was great to go into a newly opened cave. Its spectacular inside with great glow worm views and cave stalagmite and stalactite structures. Cave world have done a great job of the tracks and lighting etc. Definitely recommend this tour to anyone especially some one like us who has been many times to the bigger Waitomo caves. This was far less touristy whilst being extremely well done.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caveworld also viewed

 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 

Been to Caveworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing