We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobbit Hotel - Soooo Cool!!!”
Review of Woodlyn Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlyn Park
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hobbit Hotel - Soooo Cool!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed in Unit #2 of the Hobbit Hotel just for one night. The staff were very kind and courteous. We were doing the Lost World Tour of Waitomo Caves before our room was ready and they stored and watched our bags for us until we got back.

The room itself was great. Yes, the appeal is more from the outside, but it's knowing what you're staying in that's so cool and knowing that you're pretty much underground and that your roof is covered with grass!

I believe the hobbit units are the newest ones of the group of them (train, plane, boat, hobbit) so they're probably the nicest-looking inside. I'm sure the others are really neat too but we didn't get to see the inside, just the outside.

It was nice having kitchen facilities and the room was extremely spacious. We usually stay in hostels, but we splurged for the hobbit hotel just because of how cool it was! I'd recommend going for a walk around the area - we got to see farm animals hanging out on top of our room and the other rooms are neat to look at.

I read that some people feel it's overpriced. I think if you just base it on the room inside, maybe it is, but it's the whole experience of staying in a really neat and unique room! I'm sure it cost a lot to create these different accomodations and because there's not a ton of them, it makes sense that they are a bit higher priced. In our opinion, it was worth it and we'd definitely come back!

Room Tip: The hobbit rooms are the newest but the plane, train, and boat rooms are probably a bit more quirky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank trinitycherity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    85
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
116
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

What a unique experience, we stayed in the Hobbit unit #2 for one night and wished we had 2 or 3. really well done, excellent standard and all the required fitting etc, and I agree, the best shower pressure on the North Island! Friendly staff as well, we would definitely stay there again and in fact go to Waitomo just to stay there! Would love to have a look at the plane and boat units too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I can't praise Woodlyn Park enough. My husband and I stayed two nights in the self catering Hobbit Motel in the most unusual but most fantastic accommodation ever. We chose the Hobbit Motel because I am a huge Lord of the Rings fan and I was able to 'live' my dream. The accommodation was great, very clean, had well kitted out kitchenette, very comfortable and just totally wonderful and also there was a pig on the grass roof! - fabulous. The view of the local area from the accommodation was awesome. Whilst there we also experienced the Billy Black Kiwi Culture show - great show with a great presenter which gave us the opportunity to learn and meet some local animals but it was also very funny and with audience participation. The staff at Woodlyn were lovely, very friendly and very helpful and directed us to some awesome local natural sites to visit. They can book any local tours for you on-site, which we found very useful. The local town of Waitomo is close and although small was lovely and all the people we met were very friendly with famous Waitomo Caves there. I would recommend Woodlyn Park to everyone visiting the area, not just the fantastic Hobbit Motel but also the other quirky accommodation and definitely the Culture Show !!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateandDave_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We only stayed one night in a hobbit room. Very nice, good kitchenette and room amenities. To stay there for the unique experience, price is a little steep, but for a family it would be unbelievable value, our room sleep at least 6-8 people. Awesome view and surrounding area. Close to caves, and a very small town that shuts down at 8:30pm, which didn't matter because after 5 hrs of caving, all we needed was food and rest. The guy at the front desk was very helpful, booking our tours, and knowlegable about other attractions all over the island. We did unfortunately miss the show, due to lack of people, which we didn't know would be a problem, so that was a bummer after we rushed to get there on time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuckchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

What a fantastic experience. The setup is so funky, a plane, a boat, a train carriage and two hobbit houses.

We chose the Hobbit Houses based on the look and the appeal and we were not let down. The service and assistance onsite has been first rate, the accommodation is tidy clean and really quirky.

The location is perfect for Waitomo Caves, but the best thing is the view across the hillside on a night time and beautiful clear nights for star gazing.

All told a fantastic idea, excellent location and wonderful service.

Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

If you're staying with kids in Waitomo, this has to be your first choice. Not for it's luxury, but for its novelty value. Magnificent views, intriguing accommodation, you'll remember you stayed here forever. We woke up in the Hobbit room to find a donkey and warthog on our roof! Kids loved it and actually the rooms are just fine. The only criticism is that the TV is poor and only the local channels. But as you're only going to be here for one or two nights, no matter.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DogDayDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

A family of 3 staying in the Captains Cabin, you're not going to get a 5 star hotel experience, you're going to get a unique piece of Kiwiana, the result of one mans vision and work. We stayed 3 nights & did the show as well. This place is a kids dream, both big and small, there are lots of options for accommodation, but the Captains Cabin is the ultimate for space and comfort.
Barry works bloody hard keeping this place running, sometimes he's the primo host, sometimes he's busy sorting out a problem, but he will always do his best for you. Judging by the variety of guests and nationalities we met during our stay it is certainly a destination, if only for photos! Enjoy it for what it is, a slice of NZ history, the kids will be happy, let them explore!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikegor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.8 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
508 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
380 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
5.6 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlyn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlyn Park

Property: Woodlyn Park
Address: 1177 Waitomo Valley Road, RD7, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlyn Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woodlyn Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlyn Park North Island
Woodlyn Park Hotel North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing