We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great big kitchen and dining area, good rooms and bathroom” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiwi Paka Waitomo
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great big kitchen and dining area, good rooms and bathroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We spent 1 night here in a twin room - a nice surprise after expecting to be in a dorm.

The room was OK, very simple but what you expect. We didnt use the bar so can't comment on this.

The kitchen was spacious clean and had lots of utensils to use.

We'd return again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    49
    48
    20
    31
See reviews for
13
46
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Good value for a dorm room to sleep in, close to the info center and general store. There's a hiking trail across the street that links several of the caves for those who like to walk, and it traverses several landscapes: a temperate rainforest, a planted memorial grove, and a viewpoint up a rocky hill along pasturelands. The pizza that I ordered for dinner was great and it was lovely to sit on their deck and just chill. My one real complaint would be that whenever I went to the reception desk, I had to wait awhile for someone to appear, likewise when trying to buy something to eat. They appear to be understaffed. However, this meant that I became well acquainted with Sambuca, the pub cat. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Paid $160 for the best they had, a two bedroom chalet. Very crammed, pillows smelt like cigarettes, no towels or soap, went to boil jug next morning and heat element in jug so coroded there were floaty bits all through water, although when i told reception they made us flat whites at no charge. The cafe serves good tucka though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waitomo Caves hotels

London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

The place was scenic and the rooms clean. However, the service at reception was very disappointing. We arrived with a backpackers' bus, and my friends and I were among the oldest in the group at 30-something. During check-in, we got "attitude" from the two ladies at reception when we were checking in (we asked for an ensuite room and they said in a curt manner 'that's not available for you coz you're only paying $'...so we answered back sharply that we are ready and can pay the extra cost).

Then when one of our friends went to the restaurant for breakfast and was looking at the menu, one of the staff (who was also at reception) commented 'you can choose this (the cheapest breakfast item) as this is more within your budget'

We found these two staff at reception rude and condescending. The young backpacker group we were with, gave them a lot of business including the bar during our overnight stay and were relatively well-behaved. We had no problems sleeping after spending a few fun hours in the bar. There is therefore no reason nor excuse for the staff's attitude. They should be told to deliver good customer service to ALL guests.

Fortunately, the cook (the gent who cooked our breakfast and brought the plates to our table) and the bartender were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

In walking distance to info center, store, a park and one of the three glow worm caves. The rooms are basic and but clean. Great for place to stay for the young backpacker.
Outside balcony could do with a bit of a sweep, clean up of all the spiderwebs and a couple of chairs would be nice to relax on after a long day exploring.
Has a nice little cafe / restaurant area on site which is lovely as there isn't much in the area.

Remember to bring alcohol as it's very difficult to buy if you wish to drink at your room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumnut85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We only visited the restaurant, but immediately felt sorry that we were not staying at this hostel! Wonderful service, and the large pizza we took was really LARGE and delicious. Not even asking, we were offered by nice waitress to put the remaining half in the box so that we could take it away. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Maria_Estera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I was returning to Waitomo to do some more caving and hadn't been particularly impressed with my accommodation last time, so I decided to try Kiwi Paka - I hadn't booked, so inquired at the front desk if they had availability and they confirmed a room in the chalets at the back of the property. My room was on the second floor, had a good sized balcony, was tidy and well appointed and the bathroom was spacious and clean (as was the bedroom itself). I thought there were plenty of additional comforts that I really appreciated finding such as a small fridge, desk, and tea and coffee making facilities. The beds were comfortable and clean and there was a small wall mounted television which had good reception. The shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water.

Reception staff were friendly and efficient, I think Kiwi Paka is geared up to deal with group bookings (i.e. 30 people turning up on a bus at once), so the shared facilities such as the restaurant are large and offer quite an extensive menu (I didn't eat there but saw the food and it looked good). As a solo traveller I felt safe and comfortable at Kiwi Paka - its a very social place (especially around the restaurant/bar area) so there's plenty of opportunity to meet people - I saw cave tour vans picking up guests from Reception, which is handy if you don't have transport (tours can be arranged at reception, but the village is only 5 minutes away and you can book directly if you prefer).

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, as a base for exploring Waitomos cave systems Kiwi Paka covered everything I needed; it was clean, quiet and convenient to the village. Recommended.

Room Tip: As the title says - I stayed in the chalets, there are different accommodation options onsite depend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Paka Waitomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Property: Kiwi Paka Waitomo
Address: Kiwi Paka Waitomo School Road PO Box 26 Waitomo Caves, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi Paka Waitomo 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Kiwipaka has backpackers accommodation as well as Chalet rooms. There is also a Pizzeria café/restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kiwi Paka Waitomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Paka Waitomo Hotel Waitomo Caves
Kiwi Paka Waitomo North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing