We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hostel in a very convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kiwi Paka Waitomo
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average hostel in a very convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We chose this hostel because it was very close to the caves and it actually is very close (about 500 metres of the Glowworm cave). Other than that is an average hostel. It is not cheap but I guess you are paying for the location. Double room was standard and toilets were ok as well. I have to say that the restaurant inside the premises is very good, pizzas and chips were awesome and in large portions. I would recommend it as a good option if you wanna visit the caves and then spend the night there.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room in the first two rooms starting from the main entrance (too noisy) nor a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fer_arg_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    49
    48
    20
    31
See reviews for
13
46
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our stay at Kiwi Paka was fine, the room was clean though basic, the resteraunt and bar were good. There was a fair amount of noise from the corridor and as the fire doors were closed they banged every few minutes. This is however due to untrained backpackers who dont understand backpacking etiquette. Maybe sighns should be put on doors asking that people close them gently instead of just letting go?? The showers and sinks were clean. All in all a good affordable place to stay..

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from fire doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

In the 7 months we have been travelling this is the worst place we have stayed. Booked a double room. Bed was tiny and was like sleeping on a trampoline. Anytime someone moved in the whole block you could hear it. Even with earplugs I was up half the night. People were smoking in hallway and at 3am two idiots decided to have a chat outside the rooms you could hear every word. After 30 mins I had to go and ask them to shut up. Weird stain on the bed and bugs in the kitchen. Caves are excellent but make it a day trip. Nothing else in village to stay for. And please don't stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimblewimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waitomo Caves hotels

California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Kiwi Paka for one night and the hostel itself was ok.. Not super modern or clean. Internet is $4 a day but wasn't even working the whole time I was there- to the point where they stopped selling it. The staff wasn't overly friendly but I could have dealt with it if two things hadn't happened. I left my leather flats there in a 4 bed dorm that we all checked out of together in the morning. I realized it the next day, knew that they'd slipped between the bed and wall, and called them right away. Not only were they less than helpful but here is what happened:

Day 1 call- told them what happened, where my shoes were. Response: "well house keeping is gone for the day, I'll check with them tomorrow and get back to you." (Nothing like "let me walk to the dorm which is 30sec away and check really quickly."

Day 2- no phone call received. Called back and was told housekeeping hadn't found anything and "there were people there last night soooo... They're probably gone."

Day 3- called again asking if they'd happened to find anything and if they actually checked behind the bed. Response: "We haven't found anything and yes, housekeeping has to pull the beds forward to change the sheets so they checked behind the bed."

CONCLUSION: Housekeeping found my shoes when changing sheets same day I left, and stole them. What trustworthy people I paid money to stay with.

The other thing that happens is that keys are electronic and if one persons key is next to an electronic device, it gets deactivated. Well when that happens and they reactivate it, it changes the settings for the whole room so the other peoples keys now stop working. As a result, 2 people in our dorm got locked out all night and slept in the hallway. in the morning, when we realized that 3 of our 4 keys weren't working, we told reception and thought those two poor people would at least get refunded. Instead, they acted like they were lying (mind you, beds were clearly untouched and there were two others vouching for their story) and grudgingly refunded them only $10 each out of the $32 paid.

Basically, go down the road to Juno Hall or someplace else. These people suck in lots of ways.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in the most expensive room. Stunk like smoke, went into bathroom to find it had not been cleaned, faeces in toilet, hair in shower, used sushi containers next to bed and sheets not changed. Absolutely filthy, travelled all over New Zealand and this is thd most disgusting place I have stayed, DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Avidttavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I cannot emphasise enough how good this hostel is! It was so clean and comfortable! The food was great, alcohol a bit pricey. The Internet was a bit slow but that's to be expected! Overall great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My sister and I stayed her for a night before doing the waitomo caves. We had not booked and that was not a problem, the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinniejk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Paka Waitomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Property: Kiwi Paka Waitomo
Address: Kiwi Paka Waitomo School Road PO Box 26 Waitomo Caves, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi Paka Waitomo 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Kiwipaka has backpackers accommodation as well as Chalet rooms. There is also a Pizzeria café/restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kiwi Paka Waitomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Paka Waitomo Hotel Waitomo Caves
Kiwi Paka Waitomo North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing