We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfy Waitomo Cave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed 19 September 2013

New and polite owners currently refurbishing this hotel!
Our Grab-one voucher for dinner, a one-night stay and breakfast made our stay here nice and affordable!
The food was quite excellent, good menu choice and bar and very good portion sizes! The owners were also friendly and polite!

The bathroom was small, the showers were poor and the decor made it seem like we had stepped into the Cluedo boardgame...."Where's breakfast?...with Prof Plum, in the dining room, with the candlestick!"

However, the hotel is clean, comfortable (particularly comfortable beds) and warm!
An update, a lick of paint and some more atmosphere could transform this well situated hotel from a creepy boardgame to a lovely cosy retreat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenn8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We recently went to the Waitomo Caves Hotel as part of a grabone deal. When I initially booked the room I was told they'd sold out of the King size rooms (which was what the deal was for). This was quite surprising as the deal had a 3 month validity and apparently no time in the next 3 months was there a Saturday night with a King Size Room available. The hotel is dated but it's perfectly fine to stay at - I would just suggest bring ear plugs as we had a ground room floor and due to the age of the house it sounded like there were elephants clomping above us all night. Our complaint was with the lady at reception, who also served us for dinner. She couldn't raise a smile or a friendly word once and even rolled her eyes at me when I hadn't decided what we wanted for dinner 30 seconds after giving us the menu. The dinner (which was also included in the grabone deal) was ok - not fantastic and you had a very limited menu to choose from. It's such a shame the woman we dealt with had such a sour attitude as she's definitely put us off coming back here or referring this hotel onto anyone else.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room so you can get a decent nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k.j.mcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My partner and myself have a great time at the Waitomo Caves Hotel. Helpful staff, thanks to Charlotte, and Dan behind the bar. Really nice food for dinner and breakfast. Sure she is in need of a do up, but with Pat getting that started she will be grand again. We will come back in 6mths to see how she is looking.

Ps The super king bed was sooooo nice to sleep in.

Room Tip: We were in room 19, Great bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah-Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

2 adults, 2 children $270. Old - and not in a charming way. A very bad vibe in the hotel- we found out retrospectively its supposed to be the most haunted hotel in NZ. The kids refused to sleep in their room so ended up with us- cramped and expensive. And finally walking through 5 fire doors to get to your room makes you worry about fire!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Yes - the Waitomo Caves Hotel is old!
Yes - the Waitomo Caves Hotel needs updating!

However, having read the reviews I was interested to see how my stay would go seeing as I was staying for six nights for a conference in early May. I could not have been more impressed...

I received a very pleasant welcome from Wai who immediately moved me to a room on the second floor with a great view down to the Glow Worm Caves complex. My room was in the original 1908 wooden section which added to the charm. Yes- the room is a little dated but this added to the experience.

The staff could not have been more pleasant during the conference. Josie and Jazz went out of their way to make us feel welcome at all times, particularly given that around 100 people were registered for the conference each day. Great breakfasts, great morning teas and a great dinner one evening during the conference.

Had ample opportunity to explore the hotel and surrounds and the restaurant area is currently being renovated and when it is finished, the current bar/restaurant area will revert to being a lounge. It was a great place for a drink of an evening. It would be good to see the old abandoned pathway re-established that used to lead from the hotel directly to the Glow Worm Caves as it would save you from having to walk along the narrow path next to the road.

It is understandable that different people look for different things in a hotel - the Waitomo Caves Hotel (while not a "Hilton") was for me comfortable, ameniable and an enjoyable experience for six nights.

Room Tip: Rooms 6, 7 & 8 have a great view towards the west and the surrounding hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were under the impression that the hotel was recently purchased by a new owner & was going to be updated & renovated inside over time. The front desk lady was inexperienced & seemed timid but we joshed with her a bit & she became more open. The rooms were older & very dated. The bed & the bathroom were ok. But we came away feeling it was a bit of an adventure with all the unknowns that come with an adventure. We had dinner on the terrace. Again, it seemed like new owners working out all the nuiances of owning a new business. We all had a decent meal but it was not well coordinated. But we had bottles of wine to drink so were not too fussed about it. We had breakfast too. We had toast & eggs & it seemed ok. They should drop the prices a bit until they update the inside & perfect their customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Textralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We spent a couple of nights here, in the big old room at the top of the tower. Honestly - this has the worst, oldest, most appallingly sprung double bed I've ever encountered. But apart from that, when we checked in, we were met by a rather curt attitude, the owner of which neglected to mention that even as hotel guests, we had to actually book a table in the dining room for dinner. Consequently we rolled down for dinner at about 5.30 pm, to be turned away. That was unexpected, and not fun, because had we actually been told about this, we would certainly have booked. Luckily we had picnic ingredients in our room (which did have a good and capacious fridge). So we ate, and watched a movie on our laptop. We didn't bother with the breakfast, feeling very put out by the offhand and unwelcoming attitude of the staff (who seem to think that they work in a grand, exclusive resort). The bathroom & shower were OK though, and the carpark is very handy, the view from the windows at the top is pretty good and if it wasn't for the 100 year old bed and dining room nonsense, I would have felt happy staying there. Waitomo is a great place to visit, and this hotel would be OK if you have the right expectations (i.e. low) - there is internet access (although it wasn't free when we stayed there) - and it's in exactly the right spot. I'd go here again, with the right expectations, and use it as a very handy base for exploring the area - but it's not a good hotel, bearing in mind it's prices (and the smell - the hotel smells like my Grandma's house...old apples...sweetish and decaying. Not unpleasant actually, but definitely old).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
186 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
407 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Caves Hotel provides a taste of the early 19th Century grand tour hotel experience in our own time. Majestically positioned on a promontory above the Waitomo village and the world famous Waitomo caves the hotel offers sweeping views across the lush farmland, the hills and bush of the King Country. The hotel boasts sparkling crystal chandeliers, a vast art collection, spacious clean rooms, deliciously comfortable beds and a decadent spa area. Stay with us and experience the elegance of travel from a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing