We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kiwi Paka(Waitomo Caves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
76
182
169
95
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
182
169
95
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand old ladyold world charmold buildinghistoric hotelopen fireold schoolglow wormscharacterhistoryghostchandeliersmaorifoyereraimaginationtownshipadventure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went here for dinner with my in-laws whilst in Waitomo visiting the caves. New owners, who are currently refurbishing this accommodation were lovely and very accommodating.

Dinner in the main dining room was delicious, especially the deconstructed banoffee pie and topped off with a fantastic coffee.

We had a tour of the rooms currently available and they looked great, beautiful view and grand decor. We also checked out the renovations and once completed I think they will be a fantastic addition to compliment the grand style of the building - especially the sunset bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DarcelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

New and polite owners currently refurbishing this hotel!
Our Grab-one voucher for dinner, a one-night stay and breakfast made our stay here nice and affordable!
The food was quite excellent, good menu choice and bar and very good portion sizes! The owners were also friendly and polite!

The bathroom was small, the showers were poor and the decor made it seem like we had stepped into the Cluedo boardgame...."Where's breakfast?...with Prof Plum, in the dining room, with the candlestick!"

However, the hotel is clean, comfortable (particularly comfortable beds) and warm!
An update, a lick of paint and some more atmosphere could transform this well situated hotel from a creepy boardgame to a lovely cosy retreat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenn8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We recently went to the Waitomo Caves Hotel as part of a grabone deal. When I initially booked the room I was told they'd sold out of the King size rooms (which was what the deal was for). This was quite surprising as the deal had a 3 month validity and apparently no time in the next 3 months was there a Saturday night with a King Size Room available. The hotel is dated but it's perfectly fine to stay at - I would just suggest bring ear plugs as we had a ground room floor and due to the age of the house it sounded like there were elephants clomping above us all night. Our complaint was with the lady at reception, who also served us for dinner. She couldn't raise a smile or a friendly word once and even rolled her eyes at me when I hadn't decided what we wanted for dinner 30 seconds after giving us the menu. The dinner (which was also included in the grabone deal) was ok - not fantastic and you had a very limited menu to choose from. It's such a shame the woman we dealt with had such a sour attitude as she's definitely put us off coming back here or referring this hotel onto anyone else.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room so you can get a decent nights sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k.j.mcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My partner and myself have a great time at the Waitomo Caves Hotel. Helpful staff, thanks to Charlotte, and Dan behind the bar. Really nice food for dinner and breakfast. Sure she is in need of a do up, but with Pat getting that started she will be grand again. We will come back in 6mths to see how she is looking.

Ps The super king bed was sooooo nice to sleep in.

Room Tip: We were in room 19, Great bed!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah-Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

2 adults, 2 children $270. Old - and not in a charming way. A very bad vibe in the hotel- we found out retrospectively its supposed to be the most haunted hotel in NZ. The kids refused to sleep in their room so ended up with us- cramped and expensive. And finally walking through 5 fire doors to get to your room makes you worry about fire!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews