We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little love!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked this hotel last minute on an impromtu trip to the gloworm caves. From the pics it looked charming and olde worlde but in reality, while charming, it quite dated and needs a little bit of love and a lotta money to make it special.
This hotel could be amazing but the rooms are very tired and dated. Ok to lay your head for a night close to the caves but that's it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agalwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is full of atmosphere - built in the 1900s - our room was spacious and clean - bathroom needs updating - and a couple of paintings on the stark walls would brighten up the room.The bar was open - thank goodness - but only 6 guests that night so the kitchen was closed. It did'nt matter as we found a very nice restaurant down the road - the Huhu Cafe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here during April in room 15 and after reading some dubious reports I was a little worried. There was no need to be though. It's true the hotel has seen better days and it did remind me a little of Faulty Towers and did smell like Nanas place but it was comfortable and the staff were great and that's what really matters.
The rooms were quite small and had a small bathroom with shower, toilet, and basin. Maybe a bit of extra cleaning wouldn't go amiss. There was a bit of noise in the night and morning from what sounded like banging water pipes however not too much to be worried about. Perhaps a room further down the corridor might have been different?
We had a meal in the restaurant which was ok, nothing flash but hearty and filling. The open fire was roaring also which adds to the ambience.
This hotel has a lot of interesting history and will hopefully be resurrected to it's former glory. I'd stay here again if only for the old world charm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kotuku20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived Tuesday 22nd April, a grand old place, sure it's a little tired. But it has character and lovely big old rooms. A great hotel from a bygone era. If you like history and nostalgia I highly recommend this place, and very close to the gloworm caves. Don from Sydney

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have always wanted to stay here. The room was huge and extremely clean. The staff were fun and really cared about their job and the beautiful old hotel they were in charge off. The food was good kiwi fare and we enjoyed watching the rugby in the bar. Sad that renovations have stopped as if some more money could be spent on this place it would be OUTSTANDING. the night we stayed it was fully booked. Great trip for us Aucklanders only 2 and bit hours away.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing onto the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon and Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here early April for a weekend away.
After seeing how old dated the rooms were, I asked if we could go onto the other side, this was met with a sorry no, that was ok we will just get to feel like we are staying at nana's house :)
its a very large old place, but needs some work everything is very worn, we had tiles missing from around the dated bathroom and the shower went hot/cold and sprayed everywhere, if you leave your curtains open people can easily see inside your room while standing there. watching tv is was very fuzzy - we got a good laugh I guess.
we met 3 people running this place (owner and 2 staff) and were nice enough over all and to get a drink you have wait at the bar until they have finished at the front desk, so best to order two at a go (the other people outside were talking about the same thing and that it was pretty slack)
come breakfast all was ok, for the cooked you didn't get a choice it was scrambled eggs and bacon - so no choice of how you would like your eggs done. as they had a 100 people coming down to eat, well we saw maybe 20.
We had a good look at the photos of the hotel back in its day but were disappointed there wasnt more on the history - the only real history we got were two ladies telling us 12A was haunted, and some photos
over all if you like places that are very run down but have history and you wont feel like dying of thirst waiting for a drink - this is the place for you :) not for us

Room Tip: ask to be placed on the left hand side if you are not into very very dated worn down rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My family of sister, brother in law, father and husband all stayed at this beautiful historic hotel. Pat the general manager and his son, were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a view over the new zealand bush, and my sister and her husband stayed in the magnificent suite overlooking waitomo. The food in the restaurant was also very good, and they had an extensive wine selection. The hotel is very old so you must expect it to be a little dated. But that does not detract from the magnificence of the place. Overall an excellent place to stay if visiting the caves.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ippigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
186 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
402 reviews
4.0 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Caves Hotel provides a taste of the early 19th Century grand tour hotel experience in our own time. Majestically positioned on a promontory above the Waitomo village and the world famous Waitomo caves the hotel offers sweeping views across the lush farmland, the hills and bush of the King Country. The hotel boasts sparkling crystal chandeliers, a vast art collection, spacious clean rooms, deliciously comfortable beds and a decadent spa area. Stay with us and experience the elegance of travel from a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing