We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
90
193
179
99
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
193
179
99
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand old lady old world charm historic hotel open fire old school character history ghost chandeliers spas maori adventure
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is full of atmosphere - built in the 1900s - our room was spacious and clean - bathroom needs updating - and a couple of paintings on the stark walls would brighten up the room.The bar was open - thank goodness - but only 6 guests that night so the kitchen was closed. It did'nt matter as we found a very nice restaurant down the road - the Huhu Cafe.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here during April in room 15 and after reading some dubious reports I was a little worried. There was no need to be though. It's true the hotel has seen better days and it did remind me a little of Faulty Towers and did smell like Nanas place but it was comfortable and the staff were great and that's what really matters.
The rooms were quite small and had a small bathroom with shower, toilet, and basin. Maybe a bit of extra cleaning wouldn't go amiss. There was a bit of noise in the night and morning from what sounded like banging water pipes however not too much to be worried about. Perhaps a room further down the corridor might have been different?
We had a meal in the restaurant which was ok, nothing flash but hearty and filling. The open fire was roaring also which adds to the ambience.
This hotel has a lot of interesting history and will hopefully be resurrected to it's former glory. I'd stay here again if only for the old world charm.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kotuku20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived Tuesday 22nd April, a grand old place, sure it's a little tired. But it has character and lovely big old rooms. A great hotel from a bygone era. If you like history and nostalgia I highly recommend this place, and very close to the gloworm caves. Don from Sydney

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have always wanted to stay here. The room was huge and extremely clean. The staff were fun and really cared about their job and the beautiful old hotel they were in charge off. The food was good kiwi fare and we enjoyed watching the rugby in the bar. Sad that renovations have stopped as if some more money could be spent on this place it would be OUTSTANDING. the night we stayed it was fully booked. Great trip for us Aucklanders only 2 and bit hours away.

Room tip: ask for a room facing onto the deck
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon and Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here early April for a weekend away.
After seeing how old dated the rooms were, I asked if we could go onto the other side, this was met with a sorry no, that was ok we will just get to feel like we are staying at nana's house :)
its a very large old place, but needs some work everything is very worn, we had tiles missing from around the dated bathroom and the shower went hot/cold and sprayed everywhere, if you leave your curtains open people can easily see inside your room while standing there. watching tv is was very fuzzy - we got a good laugh I guess.
we met 3 people running this place (owner and 2 staff) and were nice enough over all and to get a drink you have wait at the bar until they have finished at the front desk, so best to order two at a go (the other people outside were talking about the same thing and that it was pretty slack)
come breakfast all was ok, for the cooked you didn't get a choice it was scrambled eggs and bacon - so no choice of how you would like your eggs done. as they had a 100 people coming down to eat, well we saw maybe 20.
We had a good look at the photos of the hotel back in its day but were disappointed there wasnt more on the history - the only real history we got were two ladies telling us 12A was haunted, and some photos
over all if you like places that are very run down but have history and you wont feel like dying of thirst waiting for a drink - this is the place for you :) not for us

Room tip: ask to be placed on the left hand side if you are not into very very dated worn down rooms
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews