We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pick out of limited selection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

There are only a few places to stay in Waitomo, and this is a good choice. Our unit had a private bath. The room was cramped with little room to walk around the furnishings; two full size beds, a very small round table, a cabinet with coffee and tea, TV. The full size and very nicely decorated bath was in an adjacent hallway. The beds were very soft. Breakfast (included) was served in the dining room of an adjacent building; toast, cereals, fruit, drinks. The very pleasant owners will chat you up and offer tips for outfitters and things to do. The property has a shared fridge and laundry area. The rooms are located up a very steep driveway, and there are narrow stairs and walkways, so be careful if you have a mobility challenge. Even though the property is right on the road, it was quiet. Very pretty landscaping.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our one night in one of Janet and Colin's cottages. They were very friendly and provided much information. The basic breakfast was in a nice sunroom and was a bonus for us. Our cottage was a bit tight on space, but nicely decorated and was sufficent for us. We appreciated being able to leave our luggage in the main house and borrow towels while we went black water rafting on check-out day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmhron78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This was our first stop upon arriving in New Zealand. As soon as we checked in we spent an hour discussing all of our options with Janet and Colin. They know the area well, and can make recommendations for whatever it is you are interested in. I was particularly impressed that they have experienced most of the area attractions themselves, which says a lot because there are a ton of tours you can do.

Our room was the highest one on the hill. We had an awesome view of the surrounding country. Internet service is free, and if you left your laptop at home you can borrow theirs for a small fee. Next door there is a bar/restaurant that has a great lamb salad (and I suggest the chocolate mousse for dessert!) Breakfast in the moring is standard continental, with toast, jams, cereal, fruit and juice. Adequate.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a lot of rain when we were there (some good down pours), so ended up spending more time in the room than we would have liked. In all, this was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kterhark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Waitomo Caves guest lodge is a small group of cottages behind the owners' home and surrounded by a beautiful garden in the village of Waitomo. Our room had a pleasant view and Colin and Janet are charming and friendly folks who truly make you feel welcome. The room was clean and comfortable, the surroundings are neat and well kept, the location is close to the i-Site where Naked Bus drops off and picks up, and they have parking. There are resturants nearby, they are close to the entrance to the Waitomo glow worms cave, and just across the road from Spellbound tours which provided us with a very nice tour through glow worm caves a little further from the town and in a less crowded location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckBeijinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

This B&B is just charming and very quiet! The hosts are most gracious and extremely informative, providing superb and spot-on advice on local eateries and things to do. We found the breakfast more than adequate, with plenty of choices to get a healthy meal in to start an adventurous day. The rooms were very clean and we had plenty of room for the two of us. There were the makings for coffee/tea in the room along with a few delicious homemade cookies. The wireless Internet was easy to connect to and was of sufficient speed. A very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

My sister and I stayed here for two nights and loved it. Colin and Janet were great hosts and we felt very safe and comfortable. Surprisingly, this B&B is really quiet for being on a main road. The only thing that could wait you up in the mornings would be the cows up in the high hills on the other side of the road. The B&B is centrally located, where everything from the info centre to the local pub is just a 5 minute walk down the road. Basic breakfast is provided and a good time to have a chat with other travellers as we met a lovely couple from the UK. The flowers in the garden was in full bloom when we were there and with the hills as our background it was a great place to come back to after caving. We definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Pickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We have been to many B&Bs throughout the world - UK, USA, Australia and this has to rate as one of the best!

We have 2 young children (Aged 5 & 7) and the family shared a chalet - there was 1 Queen bed and 2 singles. Thwe room and bathroom were very clean. What impressed us most about this place was the genuine interest the hosts (Colin and Janet) had in making our trip enjoyable. Even though we had gone for the Waitomo Caves during the day - Colin shared with us about taking the night walk around Aranui caves to catch the glow-worms at night (for free) - they even provided torchlights! It was a great experience.

They also showed us their lovely vegetable gardens which have a nice variety of veges and berries. That proved to be very educational for the kids.

Overall, a wonderful stay! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YNWA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
83 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
89 reviews
6.0 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge

Address: 7 Waitomo Village Road, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned guest lodge Right in the heart of Waitomo Caves village, opposite the award winning Huhu Cafe and just a short walk to the Waitomo i-Site/Discovery Centre, the Waitomo Glowworm Caves, cave adventure tourist operators, the tavern and pizzeria. 8 quality ensuite studio units in a beautiful, peaceful, garden setting, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside.Walk some of the local tracks to see the wonderful hills and countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Caves Guest Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing