We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rachel and family were the friendliest!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Tiro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitomo Caves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Tiro
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rachel and family were the friendliest!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We arrived at about 4pm, skipping Waitomo Caves as my 3 year old is afraid of the dark. Rachel and family was out but they had left us a signboard welcoming us. Upon her return, she took us on a lovely tour around the farm and even brought us to their version of glow - worms! That was a bonus and my daughter who loves animals just love the place!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of a three week trip through New Zealand. We arrived at night and didn’t realize what a view we had, but unfortunately the fog the next morning never lifted fully to let us enjoy more then a few second glimpse. On a clear day this would be a perfectly picturesque spot. The friendly dog and owner greeted us and showed us to our cottage and also provided us with an in room breakfast as a small fridge and kitchenette was in the room. I liked the freedom to eat right in my room as it was cold and wet during our visit. The room included a private bathroom which you accessed from outside to your left (or right depending on which of the two rooms you were in). Headlights (or head torches as she called them) were provided to allow you to get into the nearby push where a short down hill hike took you to a ledge with glowworms. This was a real treat as it was right next to our room and gave us a glimpse into the adventures for our next day’s 7 Hour Epic Lost World Tour of the caves. On our last day we got instructions from the owner and owner’s son down to the pond, which was a down hill 20 minutes trek through the cows. Watch that one bull. He agave us the evil eye as he blocked our gate, but he moved as long as you kept moving. It was well worth the visit though be careful after the rain as it was very slippery in places. It calmer weather they also had a row boat to take out onto the pond. I would love to return here in nicer weather to view the property in all of its glory. One of our top five places to stay on any trip!

Room Tip: both are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearetteCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Te Tiro' s 2 rustic cabins with private bath are very appealing. Each cabin has one room with big bed and kitchen and sleeping loft for 2. The bathroom is steps away outside but the full moon and rising sun views on the way are unforgettable. We rather liked it. The views and setting feel New Zealandy. Angus and Rachelle are natives and knowledgeable about what to do in the area..dont miss eating at HUHU...excellent food, beautifully presented and reasonably priced. Te Tiro is a quiet get away, 20 minutes from the touristy caves and motels in town. Eat before you come, nearest restaurant is 20 min. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newzealand66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Simple accommodation, isolated, great view. If you are looking for a quiet and relax place, this is it. However, the room is small, with very simple ammenties, not very comfortable with the bed and shower etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtai010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

I can only echo what all the other reviews have said. This place is well worth the 10km drive out of town from Waitomo, it's really special. The owners are really friendly and can't do enough to help, the views are fantastic, the facilities are great, and the breakfasts are lovely. You won't stay anywhere else like this in New Zealand. 100% recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james_b_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I came across this little gem during my NZ trip research for places to stay and it was worth every single dollar spent. Could not agree more with the other reviews - it was a lovely place. We were the only guests - arrived late and Rachel had put up a little note to welcome us. When she heard the car she came out again and gave us a warm welcome telling us where to find the "house pets " - their own glow worm cave and to enjoy the starry sky once it is dark. It was both worth it. We had a quiet rest - our first full night in NZ - and a lovely wake up the next morning. Rachel booked us last minute on the Ruakuri Glowworm cave. All was great and we wished we had stayed longer but if possible will return!!! Can highly recommend that place - if you are willing to pay the extra dollars compared to some other accommodation around.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We only stayed a night but it was a lovely short stay and a great base for activities in the nearby caves. The cabin was small and simple but had everything we needed, on top of a hill overlooking surrounding pastures. As the sun set all we could hear was distant sheep and closer birds, which was great!

You have to go outside for a few steps to get to the bathroom, though it's not shared with other guests or anything and it's really no problem.

The owners were very friendly and helpful with advice, lending us maps and books to get information for our journey, and their recommendation of the Legendary Black Water Rafting "Black Abyss" tour was spot-on and one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
5.0 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
4.5 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
8.4 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
8.3 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Tiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Tiro

Property: Te Tiro
Address: 970 Caves-Te Anga Rd, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing