We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Te Tiro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitomo Caves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Tiro
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Beautiful. Hilltop cabins with fantastic views. Stay here if you're staying in Waitomo.
A tiny bit out of the way (10mins to caves by car), but certainly worth it. We got great directions by email from the friendly owners. Fresh breakfast was great, and there's a hotplate in the cabin as well as a microwave. The view of the sky at night was amazing and they also have glo worms in their garden. Toliet and shower a 5 yrd wander outdoors to the adjacent cabin.. Book it you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToadofToadHall159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is the best find in New Zealand

This is an amazing place, located just beyond the Waitomo caves. The location is awesome, the accommodation is in cabin style with just two rooms/cabins available that are wonderful.

The accomodation is situated on a working farm and there are great walks from the door and You could easily be walking through Hobbit country, complete with rocky outcrops and amazing boulders (that are on the national bouldering circuit if you are into that!)

Sitting on the deck there are amazing views over miles of country and the peace and quiet reigns

There is even a glow worm cave on site 20 metres or so from the deck of your cabin and torches are provided to find your way.

There is more to Waitomo than the expensive glow worm caves and Waitomo is more than a lunch time stop over on the way to somewhere else, there are walks, caves, an amazing waterfall (again one of the best i have seen) and natural arches as well as the black water rafting. (if you are doing this then you really should go to the 'Legendary Black Water Rafting Company - see other review)

Rachel and Angus the owners are wonderful and can tell you so much about what else to do in the area.

Room Tip: The two cabins are identical so no tips to choose a better one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PommieAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in Waitomo for only 1 night and were lucky enough to catch the carols in the caves (with many thanks to Rachael).

The home made breakfast in the morning (fresh milk, bread and jams) was sensational.

The family were amazingly accommodating and the huts were very cosy. The views across the fields was fantastic and we (attempted) a trip down to the glow worms at the bottom of the garden at night (one of us is scared of the dark!!!!).

There are endless things to do in the area and the community are very warm and welcoming to visitors.

We left with only 1 regret - that we didn't book a longer stay.

Next time in NZ we are DEFINITELY going to go back here and this time spend at least a week!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed at. Located in the picturesque countryside, it would suit those who seek a break from the hustle and bustle of the city. I wish we could stay longer but next time I'm in Waitomo I'll definitely stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

If you are driving through the area, this tucked away family run facility was a perfectly charming place to stay. I especially liked the trails leading down to the small starry glowing gully on the property. My husband had a cold and we could have used one more blanket, as the room was a bit chilly even with the space heaters, and you have to go outside every time you wanted to use the clean, shared bathroom. Still, what a beautiful corner of the world to pass the night in. The owners also work for a rafting company, so don't hesitate to ask them about local outings!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GradStudentSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We arrived at about 4pm, skipping Waitomo Caves as my 3 year old is afraid of the dark. Rachel and family was out but they had left us a signboard welcoming us. Upon her return, she took us on a lovely tour around the farm and even brought us to their version of glow - worms! That was a bonus and my daughter who loves animals just love the place!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of a three week trip through New Zealand. We arrived at night and didn’t realize what a view we had, but unfortunately the fog the next morning never lifted fully to let us enjoy more then a few second glimpse. On a clear day this would be a perfectly picturesque spot. The friendly dog and owner greeted us and showed us to our cottage and also provided us with an in room breakfast as a small fridge and kitchenette was in the room. I liked the freedom to eat right in my room as it was cold and wet during our visit. The room included a private bathroom which you accessed from outside to your left (or right depending on which of the two rooms you were in). Headlights (or head torches as she called them) were provided to allow you to get into the nearby push where a short down hill hike took you to a ledge with glowworms. This was a real treat as it was right next to our room and gave us a glimpse into the adventures for our next day’s 7 Hour Epic Lost World Tour of the caves. On our last day we got instructions from the owner and owner’s son down to the pond, which was a down hill 20 minutes trek through the cows. Watch that one bull. He agave us the evil eye as he blocked our gate, but he moved as long as you kept moving. It was well worth the visit though be careful after the rain as it was very slippery in places. It calmer weather they also had a row boat to take out onto the pond. I would love to return here in nicer weather to view the property in all of its glory. One of our top five places to stay on any trip!

Room Tip: both are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearetteCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
5.0 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
244 reviews
4.3 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
529 reviews
4.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
389 reviews
8.4 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
83 reviews
8.3 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Tiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Tiro

Property: Te Tiro
Address: 970 Caves-Te Anga Rd, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing