We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Glow Worm Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glow Worm Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Glowworm Motel was conveniently located for us to black water rafting. Staff was friendly and very hospital. We felt welcomed and safe. The beds have heating pads under the sheets which is extra nice, especially after a cold day of black water rafting. Our room was clean and we were even provided with free creamer for our coffee. There is free wifi in the rooms, which is a rare find. Laundry facilities available. I would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank danielle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was our stopping point for the caves. We were only there one night, but we enjoyed it very much. As mentioned in other reviews, the place is a bit dated, but a good value and very comfortable and clean. It's a very short drive to the caves. Our room had a nice kitchen. The host was excellent and very knowledgeable about the area. He gave great suggestions to match our visit time and tour schedule, which worked out perfectly. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Clean, family-run motel at highway juncture, about 15-minute drive from the caves. It's worth it to pay the extra $10 for an updated room. The room is basic and clean, albeit quite chilly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BostonQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage, the lounge furniture could need an update but other than that we were welcomed with a friendly smile by the owner and his lovely family. The price we paid was reasonable. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and the grandchildren loved the animals in the next paddock. I would recommend this hotel/motel to all my friends and anyone else who is travelling there. Thankyou so much for your kind hospitality. You all Rock!!!!!!! Beds are awesome to sleep in!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Very happy with this motel - I emailed this motel and got a quick reply regarding a room booking. I called up to confirm the booking and it was all very easy and friendly. We were clearly told there were two room types available, an older and newer one. I paid the extra $10 and took the newer one. We found the room to be very clean and everything looked new - just as described. There is nothing flash here but the family based personal were very friendly and spent valuable time explaining how to get the most out of the local attractions. We were lent a torch for free to go and see the glowworms at night too. See the photos I uploaded of our room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sameery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Stayed here with my husband and 4 children in April 2010 as we were visiting the glowworm caves during the day and needed a quick stopover. Thankfully, it was a quick stopover.

This place is very old and outdated (so old that it felt dirty). The location is right beside the main roadway, so there was noise from trucks etc as the rooms were not soundproof. All other accommodation in the area was mainly located in the Waitomo Village area which would have been preferable.

The host was very friendly and went into great detail when giving directions........

I would only stay here as an absolute last resort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed here the night before our Black Water Rafting trip. Room was basic and a little dated, but clean and functional. Wouldn't stay for more than a night, but if you are visiting the caves the next day, it is ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
551 reviews
3.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
263 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
425 reviews
5.5 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
0.2 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glow Worm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glow Worm Motel

Address: 1 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: £53 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glow Worm Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable accommodation close to the world-famous Waitomo Glow Worm Caves. 9 fully self-contained ground-floor units, all with full kitchens, serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Glow Worm Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glowworm Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing