We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay while visiting the caves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay while visiting the caves”
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

This Top10 park is located right across the street of Spellbound and the tourist center.
It has nice little cottages and clean shared bathrooms. It also offers a kitchen to cook in, a BBQ outside and in the little shop across the street you can find everything basic for a meal.
It also has a swimming and a whirl pool on site.
Unfortunately the wifi costs something but if you stay a little longer than 1 night it is maybe worth it.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo T, Assistant Manager at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Hello Petr,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park, describing nicely some of our accommodation and amenities. Yes, the company that operates the Internet access charges NZD 5.00 per hour; this service is offered independently from our Park.
Kind Regards
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    138
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
151
138
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Great holiday park. Nice, clean and well the premium charged.

They have extra facilities on site, such as hot pool and a great kids play park.

We've been to several Top 10 parks on our travels and some frankly don't deserve to bear the name. All is great at Waitomo though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Petr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo T, Assistant Manager at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Hello Petr,
Thank you for commenting on our Holiday Park. We are glad you liked it and hope that you were also happy with the attractions in Waitomo Caves Village. All the TOP 10 Parks are individually owned but the standards should be high. I trust that the owners would be interested to know if their park does not fulfill the expectations of their guests.
Kind Regards
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at what was described as a park motel unit. It was clean and tidy and was well equiped for cooking. The bed was too soft for me to have stayed there for long but I know everyone has different opinions on beds. The check-in was friendly and helpful. What moved me to rate this place as excellent was the view from the porch. Sitting on that porch and taking in the view and the 'aah I'm in the countryside' feeling beautifully topped off a great day's sightseeing

Room Tip: The further you are from the road the better the view up the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajn287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo T, Assistant Manager at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Hi ajn287,
Thank you for your review of our holiday park. We are happy that you commented on the view from the deck of our Park Motels. Indeed, it is a very calming experience to sit out there and visually take in the surrounding countryside. We hope to see you again.
Happy trails
Walter

PS As you mention, the firmness of mattresses is a very personal preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Friendly at reception, good clean accomodation and an excellent location for exploring the location and the surrounds. Think the discount scheme is a little expensive to join but it is optional. Our room was very well equiped and we could not fault anything really. will definitely look at staying at a top ten place elsewhere in NZ

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a queen bed in the lounge area and then a separate room with bunks. next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleS1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Hi Michelle,
Thanks for your positive feedback. Thanks also for the room tip comments. We hope you enjoyed everything that Waitomo had to offer and also hope that you are enjoying other Top 10 parks as you travel around the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a fine place to stay for a short trip and perfect if you're caravanning. If you are backpacking I'd suggest doing a little more research and finding the Nomad-run hostel near the pub. Rooms were clean and very basic, good price. Shared facilities were also adequate. Hot tub and pool were definitely highlights (especially after a day of caving)!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David50013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce T, Owner at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Hi David,
Thanks very much for your feedback which we appreciate. We acknowledge that we are not a hostel or backpacker accommodation although we do get a lot of "backpackers" staying with us. They enjoy the different atmosphere and facilites that our park offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My sister and i stayed here for 1 night recently.

Reception staff upon check in were lovely. We were provided milk for our tea or coffee and got to borrow some DVD's free of charge to watch in our room also. This is such a great idea, especially for families with children on a rainy day.

Our room was great. Clean, comfortable and well maintained. We were pleasantly surprised.

There is a great pool, spa, and play area for children as well as a trampoline and bbq areas. I can imagine that this place would be a great place to stay in summer especially.

Waitomo is such a small place, everyone we met and every place we visited here was great.

Would i stay here again? Yes, and i would highly recommend it to anyone, especially families with children. Only suggestion would be a full sized hair dryer to be placed in the rooms rather than a travel sized hair dryer. It took forever to dry our hair!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djk085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo T, Manager at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Hi djk085,
Thanks for chosing the Waitomo TOP 10 Holiday Park for your recent stay in Waitomo. We are glad that you had a great experience in our tiny village (just 42 persons living here). Waitomo offers lots of interesting activities and - along with our Holiday Park - is an attractive place to stay.

We took on board your comment about the hairdryers and will look into this issue. Unfortunately, sometimes the dryers have tendency to "disappear"...

Happy trails
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at several Top 10 camping grounds in a 6-berth camper during September and Waitomo was certainly one of the best. Fantastic service, great site and lovely hot 10-minute showers (even better as they didn't cost any extra). Highly recommended for a campervan - and the Caves are totally awesome as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo T, Manager at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Hello Rogre,
Thank you for staying in our Holiday Park last month and the comment you submitted here. We are glad you had a positive experience in Waitomo. Have a very nice day.

Kind Regards
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Waitomo Farmstay
Waitomo Farmstay
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 12 Waitomo Village Road | PO Box 32, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern beautifully landscaped park right in the centre of Waitomo. Walk to the Glowworm Caves, restaurants, store and museum. Our accommodation includes fully self contained park motels ideal for couples or families, en-suite units perfect for couples, deluxe cabins which are perfect for families or small groups and Standard cabins, our budget accommodation. We also have great hard surface powered sites for motor homes and caravans and great nonpowered sites for tents. Park facilities include swimming pool, Hot spa (free), covered BBQ area, playground, trampolines, internet (wireless and kiosk), full laundry, communal bathrooms and kitchen/dining for campers and cabin clients and a full advisory and booking facility for Waitomo's activities. We are rated 4 star plus by Qualmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing