We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, grounds, and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed one night in a chalet and had mixed emotions. To begin, the $170 price seemed rather high for two adults and one child. Our room - while spacious and overlooking the attractive grounds - was furnished with the cheapest of fixture and materials. Our neighbors were not rudely noisy, but through the thin adjoining walls we could hear virtually every word they spoke. On the positive side, the room was reasonably clean, our hosts were cordial and helpful, and the adjacent Huhu Cafe was quite excellent.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank sundogg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

(Mostly) clean room and very friendly service. Spacious, with a queen bed in the main room, and bunk beds through an inside door for the kids. A few things to be aware of: the walls are very thin. Our room shared a wall with another room, and we could hear every peep. And poop. Not what you want to hear while brushing your teeth. The linens were clean, but the dishes were not. I had to take apart and wash the coffee plunger plus two mugs before we could use any of them. Be aware (I forgot to check) that wifi isn't free. I didn't mind paying $7 to connect, but we could only do so with one device at a time, and the connection was terrible. Since (like so many travelers) we rely on the Internet to make arrangements, look at maps, and stay in touch, we probably would not stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank peppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was the first holiday park we stayed in in our recent trip to NZ. We arrived late and received a polite note giving us instructions. The highlight of this Top 10 park was the excellent service provided by the managers.

We only had a day in Waitomo and wanted to take the children (12,12,13) on an adventure but were unsure what was our best choice. The managers spent a considerable amount of time advising us and phoning the cave operators to arrange our activity and negotiating the best price for us. They even gave us some swimmers to wear during our experience. We were so impressed that we ended up spending another night.

Great facilities. We were disappointed that we didn't have time to experience the hot tub, play ground and trampolines!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda4061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and so comfortable. The receptionists were so helpful and knowledgeable. They were able to assist us in booking activities in and around Waitomo. The cabins were fresh, clean and so comfortable. The kitchen facilities were so handy to cook our own meals to help save us money. Very happy with our stay and would defiantly return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjade89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I loved our stay at Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park because:-

It's clean. We stayed at one of the cabins overlooking the scenic view of Waitomo. The room, the kitchen and the common bathroom were very clean. Spotless.

It's comfortable. We stayed there after we did the Tongariro Crossing, the room was comfortable - just what we needed after our 9 hour-hiking :) The room also had a kettle and cups/glasses and a sink.

The rate room rate was affordable - who says we have to pay very expensive price to stay in a very comfortable room? I'd highly recommend WTTHP to female travellers and even families.

The view outside the room is just breath taking. It's also just a stone's throw away from a coffee shop/convenience store/post office. I will definitely stay here again. Don't read anymore reviews. Book for your stay already :)

Room Tip: The common bathrooms are quite far from the cabins. If you worry about safety/time, be sure to reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Being the only Holiday Park in the Area, this came up to the Top 10 quality. All very clean and modern, with lots of hard stands for Motorhomes. We were up on a bank and the trek to the toilets was a bit of a mission, especially at night, and could have done with a little more lighting as it was very dark.
We travelled with a Car & Caravan

Room Tip: Have a good tourch for night time trips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IansTrippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed one night in a 2-bedroom cabin. It's spacious, well-equipped, clean and tidy except the bedding (pillows, bed sheet, quilt etc) which should be replaced as they are smelly. The Park is beautiful, and has a playground for kids. The stars at night looked so close to us ! Don't worry if you don't cook, as the place is conveniently located, near a couple of places to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConyBrownBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
0.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
86 reviews
0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
530 reviews
8.3 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 12 Waitomo Village Road | PO Box 32, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: £49 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, beautifully landscaped park, right in the centre of Waitomo. Walk to the Glowworm Caves, restaurants, store and museum. Our accommodation includes fully self contained park motels ideal for couples or families, en-suite units perfect for couples, and deluxe cabins which are perfect for families or small groups. We also have great hard surface powered sites for motor homes and caravans and great nonpowered sites for tents. Park facilities include swimming pool, Hot tub (free), covered BBQ area, playground, trampoline, free WiFi (data limited), full laundry, communal bathrooms and kitchen/dining for campers and cabin clients and a full advisory and booking facility for any of Waitomo's fantastic activities. We are rated 4 star plus by Qualmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Waitomo Caves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing