We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location for Kiwi House & Waitomo Caves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otorohanga
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Ideal Location for Kiwi House & Waitomo Caves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very friendly greeting from Willem and our unit number 12 was right opposite the pool and spa. The unit is a typically New Zealand motel, well appointed clean and very comfortable . Great location for activities in this area such as the Kiwi House and Waitomo Caves, plus the information folder in the unit is extremely comprehensive giving information ranging from day trips based on Otorohanga to the menus from a variety of local eateries, now lots of establishments provide this type of information but this one is a great effort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    49
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
33
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in room 2 while on business. While Otorohanga may not be the most bustling of towns, we very much enjoyed the clean, thoughtfully prepared motel to which we got to return every night. There were four single beds, two of which were in a separate bedroom. The kitchen was fully kitted out with everything you could need (except, perhaps, a microwave) and the room was fully serviced daily. One word of caution - our evening dip into the spa pool resulted in several mysterious bug bites on both myself and my travel mates. The outside pool, however, was great.

Room Tip: The rooms across the road from reception are newer - but closer to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranaki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed overnight on our way to Auckland and were very happy with the accommodation and the service. The rooms were clean, we were able to bring our small dog which we needed to bring at the last minute. The staff were very very friendly and helpful and we had an excellent, stress free, comfortable time. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to all :)

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Camill... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

I stayed in studio room. The room is big and clean with kitchen facilities provided (but no microwave oven). Spectacular view and our vehicle can park just right outside the unit. Just 5mins drive to supermarket and the Kiwi House. 15mins drive to Waitomo Cave. Good alternative than staying near Waitomo Cave.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandylcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coromandel New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Our stay was great, the host took us on a private excursion to see the glow worms.
The motel was very well equipped and spacious.
The location was perfect, in striking distance of the caves and close to town.
Fantastic hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchkiwi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Travelling with a wife and infant, we needed space and hosts gave us the option of either a 1 or 2 bedroom unit. We chose the 1 bedroom which turned out to be more spacious than we expected. Having a playground in the grounds allowed us to keep an eye on our child while we settled in. The unit was well laid out with a well-equipped kitchen, very clean bathroom.

All in all, a relaxed comfortable stay in a pleasant rural environment but close to shops and supermarket. .

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

We recently stayed at this accommodation because due to an event there wasn't any accommodation in Hamilton. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. Apartment was clean but it appeared that the only thing in the accommodation that had been updated since maybe the 1960's was the shower. Guests have access to a guest laundry but only in the afternoon/evening. Use of the washing machine is free but the dryer is $4.00 per load. All of the furnishings in the apartment were clean but nothing matched and everything was old.

Accommodation is situated on a busy road and even though we were in the second building back from the road the windows and door shook when a truck drove past which woke us up each night.

Owners of this accommodation were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportsnutAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
7.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
8.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Otorohanga Holiday Park
Otorohanga Holiday Park
#3 of 5 in Otorohanga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
8.2 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels

Property: Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Address: 59 Main North Rd (SH 3), Otorohanga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Otorohanga, closest town to the world famous Waitomo Caves. The wide range of activities on offer is guaranteed to satisfy all age groups and complement any family holiday. Stay with us for friendly service, comfortable, spacious and affordable accommodation in a picturesque rural setting. All our units are fully self-contained with ample free parking & WiFi plus a spa pool and outdoor swimming pool. We are located just 1km north of the Otorohanga township on SH3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing