We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waitomo Caves accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otorohanga
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Very neat, tidy, and clean. The owner even gave us a half liter of fresh milk at check in. Surprisingly Eco conscious with tea, coffee, and cookies in plastic containers. Nice views and grounds were tidy and well kept. A little close to the road for traffic noise but most other hotels in the area are also on the main road.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunblock90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were very fortunate to stay at this wonderful Motel.The owner Willem was so friendly and very knowledable about the town and surrounds. We got to stay in one of the older two bedroom units which was self contained and was clean and extrememly comfortable. It was great that not only did they have a wall heater but unit also had two extra heaters for our comfort. The view from our back balcony was stunning and the cows and sheep next door added to the charm of the place. The Spa pool was lovely and our children enjoyed the trampoline and swings. The township was stone throws away for getting takeaway or groceries and the Glowworm caves at Waitomo were a short drive down the road. I didn't want to leave as it felt like home. I will definately stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruralmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

A nice enough place to stay.
We stayed as a family in a two bedroom unit which was nice and clean, well looked after and had everything you could need.
Not 5-star by any means, but certainly comfortable and ideally located to see the Waitomo caves and Kiwi house

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Handsomedan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were up for the Feilddays and to catch up on family. Had a two bedroom unit that was basic but clean and tidy. Enjoyed having our brekky out on the landing in the sun.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunedinKailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Friendly owner. Functional and clean rooms. We stayed in the two bedroom version. Swimming pool and trampoline enjoyed by our children. Near to Waitomo caves and Kiwi House-this is well worth a visit in the town itself. Countdown supermarket 5 minutes drive away in the town if you want to self cater. Would stay here again

Stayed: April 2012
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very friendly greeting from Willem and our unit number 12 was right opposite the pool and spa. The unit is a typically New Zealand motel, well appointed clean and very comfortable . Great location for activities in this area such as the Kiwi House and Waitomo Caves, plus the information folder in the unit is extremely comprehensive giving information ranging from day trips based on Otorohanga to the menus from a variety of local eateries, now lots of establishments provide this type of information but this one is a great effort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in room 2 while on business. While Otorohanga may not be the most bustling of towns, we very much enjoyed the clean, thoughtfully prepared motel to which we got to return every night. There were four single beds, two of which were in a separate bedroom. The kitchen was fully kitted out with everything you could need (except, perhaps, a microwave) and the room was fully serviced daily. One word of caution - our evening dip into the spa pool resulted in several mysterious bug bites on both myself and my travel mates. The outside pool, however, was great.

Room Tip: The rooms across the road from reception are newer - but closer to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
7.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
263 reviews
8.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
551 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
86 reviews
12.4 mi away
Rosetown Motel
Rosetown Motel
#1 of 2 in Te Awamutu
42 reviews
8.3 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels

Address: 59 Main North Road, Otorohanga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otorohanga
Price Range: £53 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Otorohanga, closest town to the world famous Waitomo Caves. The wide range of activities on offer is guaranteed to satisfy all age groups and complement any family holiday. Stay with us for friendly service, comfortable, spacious and affordable accommodation in a picturesque rural setting. All our units are fully self-contained with ample free parking & WiFi plus a spa pool and outdoor swimming pool. We are located just 1km north of the Otorohanga township on SH3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing