We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otorohanga
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth the stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Excellent friendly hosts where nothing is too much trouble. Very clean and tidy rooms and everything one needs for a safe and comfortable stay. Very much a home away from home and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZRelievingTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    47
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
33
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Motel was clean and well equipped with all amenities and friendly staff. The pool and spa were an added attraction for the kids. Conveniently located on our way from the Waitomo caves, the Kiwi house nearby being an added attaction the motel made a great stopover.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed for one night in a two bedroom apartment.

The apartment itself was spacious, clean, tidy and well-stocked. Everything you need for a decent stay was provided. The motel is very close to the centre of town, and local attractions - the Kiwi House is about two minutes back down the road, and the Waitomo Caves are an easy and short drive away.

Rooms are very well priced, and the staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful!

If you're looking for a place to stay, this place is recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feral_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

As an older female solo traveller, I like to stay in places where I feel safe and comfortable and, as I travel by bus, I need to be able to reach amenities on foot. This motel is perfect on all counts. My unit was towards the back of the motel, close to the pool, spa and playground. It was very clean and well equipped. There was free wi fi and, even though the voucher didn't last long, it was sufficient for me to check emails and send a few messages home. It wasn't a long walk in to town to the assortment of eating and shopping places. It was close to the kiwi park and the delightful museum. I didn't visit the famous caves but apparently the local taxi driver does a daily run out there for people who don't have transport. The owner of the motel was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this motel to other people and would happily stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghenna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Staff were lovely, they room was clean, somewhere were for our little boy to run around. We came back and stayed another night. It was exactly what we wanted didnt disappoint. Thanks guys keep up the good work

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Friendly staff. Rooms well priced with bed, kitchen (microwave, stove, fridge, etc)
Nice laundry and very close to the cases and town.

Well recommended (but the building is old the units have been done up. Heaps of car parking...

Room Tip: Prices and rooms vary. Ask to see the rooms if you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A nice simple motel with a warm welcome. The unit we had was very clean and tidy and serviced daily. The owners were very helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We opted to have our breakfasts in the motel; we only wanted juice and toast but they were delivered at the promised time and proved very acceptable. The only minor downside is that some of the units are located on opposite side of the main road to the reception and pool and it can be tricky to cross at times - but there is always the phone provided in the room to call the reception desk. You can hear the traffic but it was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
9.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.7 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
10.7 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Otorohanga Holiday Park
Otorohanga Holiday Park
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels

Property: Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Address: 59 Main North Rd (SH 3), Otorohanga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Otorohanga, closest town to the world famous Waitomo Caves. The wide range of activities on offer is guaranteed to satisfy all age groups and complement any family holiday. Stay with us for friendly service, comfortable, spacious and affordable accommodation in a picturesque rural setting. All our units are fully self-contained with ample free parking & WiFi plus a spa pool and outdoor swimming pool. We are located just 1km north of the Otorohanga township on SH3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing