We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Redwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redwood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

After a busy day driving and then enjoying the stunning Waitomo Caves and glow worm experience Redwood lodge was just what we needed. Our host were friendly and very helpful. The kids were invited to interact with the animals and even feed the very thirsty lamb "princess sophie". We would have loved to stay longer and make use of all the facilities in the games room, spa ect but the beds were so comfortable we slept instead. The breakfast choice was huge and the kiwi breakfast the best I had over ten days.
For a family looking to relax and enjoy the aftermath of a busy day touring Redwood lodge was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Redwood Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at Redwood Lodge while on business in the Otorohanga area and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Julie and Donovan were great hosts and the relaxed atmosphere and peaceful surroundings was a great way to unwind at the end of each day. My room was very clean and comfortable and a lovely dinner served in the dining room each night. I am looking forward to bringing my wife for a relaxing weekend getaway in the summer. Thanks Julie and Donovan for a great 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Room and bathroom very good. Excellent cold platter dinner, including dessert; served in the dining room and not in our bedroom (see previous comment by "Michelle L"). Very good cooked breakfast.
BUT, the layout of the Lodge means that Guests entering through the front door then go through the dining room, a bit disconcerting if you're having dinner. Also, there is no internal entrance to the Lounge, so you need to go outside and around the building - not very convenient.
Julie and Donovan are trying hard but we agree with other peoples' comments about them perhaps taking on too much with no help; with Donovan's business and the Dog/Cat kennels and the 2 year old. (Perhaps that's why Julie has dropped cooked dinners.) You have to be there for your guests at meal times - we were OK but another couple had to wait for breakfast when Julie was down at the kennels.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and with a coupon deal it was good value for money; but they need more help, or a rethinking of their priorities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham-Iona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

first and foremost about our stay was the beautiful antipasto platter and dessert which Julie provided for us! brekkie too was lovely, esp. the croissants. we considered using the spa and spending time in the guest lounge, but both areas were not very clean; it is winter here, so i can understand the pool/spa area having leaves, but the guest lounge should not have been littered with leaves. The guest room was comfortable, the location is good, for those who don't want to be in the middle of the crowds. For those who are dog-shy, there are friendly dogs on the property, they do bark (as their way of welcome) and approach guests, which may intimidate someone not used to this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fandingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was really disappointed with my stay. At the least we needed a table in the room as we were served our lovely platter and desert on the beautiful clean bed and it was very awkward to eat without trying to spill any food. We wanted to use the spa while we were there, I checked it 3 times and all 3 times it was not warm enough to get in which was really disappointing. Whilst it is also winter and not the time to swim in a swimming pool, the swimming pool was green and full of leaves and looked dirty and needed a clean. At the least the leaves could've been taken out of the pool so it didn't look so horribly dirty. The area surrounding the pool was also full of leaves and the whole weekend was never swept clean including the many leaves outside our room and the main lounge area. In fact, leaves had also gotten into the lounge and were never swept or cleaned out all weekend as well making that room look messy all the time as well. The room we had was not serviced at all during our stay and in fact, I had to go ask for coffee, sugar and milk the second day as no-one topped them up at all during the day (this is usually done while the guests are out). The lodge is lovely but needs to be cleaned and swept daily to get rid of the leaves and the pool and spa need to be fixed so they are attractive and can be used by guests. Looking out of our room overlooking the dirty pool was depressing, not pretty at all and depressing. Will not stay here again as I like my room serviced, a table to eat on and coffee etc topped up daily without having to go ask. The worst part of our stay was the owner asking my sister to "wipe" the mess tomatoes had made on the couch (never been asked to clean ourselves during a stay). The only reason there was a mess was there was no table to eat the food on so of course there could be a mess made accidentally. The owners need to clean the outside deck area daily, not leave it messy all weekend for the guests to look at.

Room Tip: Room overlooking dirty pool - not good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Redwood Lodge BnB during the beginning of May, 2013. The room was wonderful and Julie and her family treated us as if we were family. The breakfasts were fantastic and meeting other guests from New Zealand was a special experience. We chose the Redwood Lodge because of its proximity to the Glow Worm Caves and Kiwi sanctuary and indeed it was only a short drive to both destinations. A highlight for us was to star gaze at night and see the stars as they appear from the southern hemisphere. The darkness in the area gave us an astounding view of the heavens. What a great two day stay. We highly recommend the Redwood Lodge to all who want to be treated like family.

Shelly and Sara Goldberg
Miami, Florida, USA

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheldon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent two nights at Redwood Lodge, Otorohanga. Thank you Julie, Donovan, and Alexei. From the gorgeous Tui bird song in the morning, to a pampering spa, and walk along the country road you are sure of a restful weekend retreat. Then we have to mention the fantastic breakfast and food that you are lavished with. The room was beautifully clean and comfortable. The local tourist attractions are just down the road. We would certainly revisit Redwood Lodge again and again, and would highly recommend this as a must-do stay!

Room Tip: The Weka Room at the deck end is lovely and sunny.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiCorene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
5.6 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
245 reviews
6.2 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
533 reviews
6.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
393 reviews
5.2 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
13.4 mi away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Lodge

Address: 222 Puketawai Rd | RD 6 Otorohanga, Otorohanga 3976, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten minutes from the famous Waitomo Caves, Redwood Lodge offers travelers affordable luxury in a tranquil setting. Redwood Lodge offers 4 good-sized heated/air conditioned, king/twin or queen en-suite rooms, each provided with tea/ coffee making facilities. Enjoy our eight acres of park-like grounds, guest lounge with TV, pool table and open log fire to warm your toes during the colder months. Relax in our hot spa, sauna or enjoy a cooling dip in our in-ground swimming pool before relaxing on the deck in the summer sun. With dinner available you can settle in for the night. After a good nights sleep wake up to a delicious and filling cooked or continental breakfast, homemade preserves are standard. Your hosts look forward to welcoming you into their home and if required, happily offering a wide range of information on the area in which they live. Discounts are given for multiple nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing