We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
111
50
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
50
11
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2017

If you're the type of traveller who appreciates peace and quiet then this is the accommodation for you. Small property with only 4 rooms. Very nice surroundings, flowering plants, birds singing and a very friendly cat who likes to come to visit. Our room was nice, large and full of light. Very nice decor, comfortable bed, crispy linen, luxurious towels, bathrobes, home made biscuits are just some of the highlights of this gorgeous property. Large and modern bathroom with plenty of small luxuries like soaps, shower gel, shower cap, tissues, body moisturiser to name a few. Included in our rate was home cooked, freshly prepared breakfast, including continental variety. Even croissants were freshly baked by the very friendly host Joelene who is also a great cook. It was a shame we could only enjoy this property for one night but we are positive we're going to come back here again for a bit longer. The only little "complaint" would be that walls are very thin and we could hear people talking quite late at night in the room above us. Also I need to mention that this property is quite isolated and about 10-15 minutes (with a car) away from the town so you need to plan for that if you're interested to stay here.

Date of stay: January 2017
Thank Maja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2017

The Redwood Lodge is the way to go! Delicious food, great location that is not far from Waitomo, Otorohanga, and Kuiti. The owner is especially accommodating and on top of everything. Free wifi, beer/wine/soda available for purchase in the hallway fridge, pool, hot tub, clean rooms that are neatly appointed, amidst beautiful farm land and trees, and delicious breakfast and cookies in your room! I strongly suggest this place. You feel at home and comfortable and have a lot of additional amenities that you do not get in most B&Bs.

Room tip: comfortable beds, owner is very helpful, great living room area to play pool or watch movies/tv, pool and hot tub
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrachatilovicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

thanks so much for your lovely review. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip :) Safe travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

a long way from Auckland to this accommodation but well worth the drive. A very lovely place with an equally friendly and charming hostess, Julie. A great selection of breakfast too. It was truly a welcoming sight to find choc cupcakes in the rooms upon check-in. The bathrooms had just been recently upgraded when we stayed there and it was beautifully and tastefully done.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuYGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This B&B has four rooms and our party of 3 adults took two of them.. We arrived early and borrowed towels before we dashed off to the very wet Black Labyrinth tour at Waitomo. Julie couldn't be more gracious about lending us the towels. After our tour and dinner, we came back to the spotlessly clean rooms and a breakfast the next morning that was to die for. Super fresh, well cooked, and we got some time to share with Julie. Thanks for a great stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreasuryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review, was great to meet you all :) . Glad i could help you out with the towels :) Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your breakfast :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

A lovely setting, about 7km out of town, in the heart of the countryside. We had a nice large room with a good sized bathroom.
There are lots of guest facilities including a small pool, guest lounge and kitchen, hot tub and pool table.
Breakfast was tasty with a good selection and the complimentary cookies - wonderful.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 623allenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews