We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trains!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Otorohanga Holiday Park
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trains!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This park was nice and clean. It was our first holiday park in New Zealand and we would stay there again...if it weren't for the trains. Before that, I will say good things about the park. We arrived later in the evening. Unlike other holiday parks in New Zealand, if you are in a camper van they will let you park in a spot over night and pay in the morning. The bathrooms are individual rooms with showers and a sink...which was very nice - especially on cold mornings! They park is about ten or so minutes from the caves. The only real downside to this park is that there are trains that run very close to it at night. I definitely woke up a few times from that at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edimiceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-Ann G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thanks for your review. Sorry for the late response but I am in that age bracket who takes a while to learn social media. Pleased to hear you had a good stay at our park except for the trains. We did give this serious thought when we were deciding to build the park. After having stayed in expensive accommodation in a few cities and have traffic noise all night we thought a couple of trains during the night isn't that bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
24
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for one night while exploring the Waitomo caves and just wanted somewhere cheap to lay our heads. The positives were the location, not only to the caves but also just around the corner from Otorohanga's shops on the 'high street'. We arrived an hour or so before check in time but were glad that the unit was ready, the owner was very friendly and helpful.

The unit was quite small and cosy and had a double bed with a single bunk which we weren't expecting. This left little head room when in bed and made it feel a bit claustrophobic in an already small unit. On the plus side the single bed did provide room to put our luggage and act as our wardrobe for the night. A kettle and fridge were the only amenities provided but we expected this so came prepared with NZ Pot Noodle's and pre-made sarnies. The bathroom facilities was not to my girlfriends liking, she refused to use the shower or toilet. I'm not so fusy so although it wasn't the cleanest or most spacious bathrooms of our holiday I carried on regardless and was surprised to find the shower was really good!

On-site facilities were pretty good, we made use of the pc and internet, which was quite cheap in comparison to some internet cafes/shops we'd visited. There was also additional separate M/F toilets which suited my girlfriend more.

one thing i didn't like about this place was the bedding, the duvet smelled funny, not sure if they'd just forgotten to put fabric conditioner in it or what but it was definately off. To the point where the smell woke me up a couple of times in the night. Maybe i just have a sensitive nose? (it is quite big).

So all in all it served served its purpose but we didn't have much room in the unit or have a great nights sleep. Still we were there to explore the caves so it wasn't overly important. It would have been a much bigger issue (especially for my g/f) if we had booked a 2nd night...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very nice Holiday Park with very friendly hosts! Clean and calm.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juerbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was one of the best appointed camping grounds we stayed in our three weeks around NZ. Very spacious grounds, so we weren't crammed up against fellow campers, and the communal kitchen, laundry and bathroom facilties were the cleanest and best we encountered in our travels.
We used the gas BBQ and dining area a few times; it was a perfect setting to meet up with friends as we didn't have any room to entertain in our campervan.
The railway line runs along the back, but this didn't bother us at all. We enjoyed a restful stay and extended it by several days.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkingdog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-Ann G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your review you posted. Sorry for the length of time it has taken me to responed but still getting use to using social media. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The trains can be a bit of a problem but I know I would prefer to hear a couple of trains going past during the night than city traffic all night long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed in a studio unit. It was a bit more modern than the other cabins we stayed in around the North Island. However it did smell a bit off, particularly the bathroom which had a urine smell.

On the up-side the grounds were really well-maintained with nice gardens and there was a gym on-site which we could use for a small fee.

There is a main road and railway nearby but the noise actually wasn't that noticeable. The holiday park is well situated to visit Waitomo Caves.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Hi Andrea. Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Feed back is helpful and appreciated. Sorry about the odd smell in the bathroom. This possibly is the smell of the bug spray we have to use to keep bed bugs away. We do try to keep cemical use to a minimum including bug spray cleaning cemicals and outdoor garden sprays. Thank you for your comment about our gardens and grounds and the fitness centre. Hope you enjoyed your holiday throughout NZ.
Regards Billie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

did 6 weeks in nz and this was one of the smaller units we stayed in. no seats and bed took up most of the lounge/kichen area. basic kitchen with good sized bathroom. not far from waitomo and close to the high street just off the state highway. the park has a busy road (during the day)on one side and and railway freight line on other side. we had 3 adults and just coped for 1 night with lack of space (luggage etc)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin60_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear dolphin60_40
Thank you for your review of our holiday park. Sorry you were in one of our smaller units, these units are more suitable for 2 persons but can sleep 3 if required. I agree that these units are possibly a little small for 3 adults, however we do get couples with one child/infant staying in these units and find them to be ideal. We do have 2 larger units at our park and I am not sure why one wasn't suggested to you. Perhaps both of the larger units were already booked. We do have a busy road frontage during the day but very quiet during the evening. We have had a lot of guests staying on for extra nights due to the evenings being very quiet. Other than having a small unit at our park, I hope you had an enjoyable holiday in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Really enjoyed my stay at this camping ground. Walking distrance to local shops and resturants. Good size unit for my family of 4 and a great play ground for my 6 and 4 year old children.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
6.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
244 reviews
7.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
389 reviews
7.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Motel
Palm Court Motel
#4 of 4 in Otorohanga
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otorohanga Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otorohanga Holiday Park

Property: Otorohanga Holiday Park
Address: 20 Huiputea Drive, Otorohanga 3900, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Otorohanga Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otorohanga Kiwi Holiday Park, now under new management. We have a range of accommodation to suit all budgets. Camping sites, where you get to choose your site, basic cabins, studio self contained units and 2 bedroom self contained units. Air conditioning and double glazing in some units. Located close to town facilities and the Otorohanga Kiwi House and Native Bird Park. Only 15 minutes to The world Famous Glow Worm Caves and Adventure Caving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Otorohanga Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing