We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Otorohanga Holiday Park
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I had a self contain unit. The unit was very clean and had everything I needed. Lovely tidy and well set out grounds, and very friendly hosts. Although I didn't have any kids with me, this would be a great place for the kids as there is plenty of safe space for them to run around. Thanks to Kelvin and Billie for having such a lovely park. The only downside would be if you are a smoker as they prefer smoking only within a particular area rather than outside your unit (however from a family (with kids) holiday point of view, I can also totally understand this). If you do stay here, you wont be disappointed. It's one of the tidiest I have been to. The trains never bothered me at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZRelievingTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Hi, Great to read you enjoyed your stay at our park. Many thanks for your review.
Cheers Billie & Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
24
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We camped here in our tent for several days, as a base to explore the many attractions in the wider area. We had intended to move on after 3 days but enjoyed the place so much we stayed for 6. Have to say that this is one of the best camping grounds I have stayed at in NZ. Excellent facilities, with 2 kitchens plus a bbq, and a covered outdoor seating area. In addition to separate toilets, there are several unisex showers each with own toilet and handbasin, which was really convenient. The showers are free with plenty of hot water. The camp was moderately busy while we were there, however the grounds and the facilities never felt crowded. The whole place was kept really clean and tidy and as a result visitors treated it the same way. It's close to the main trunk railway line - we turned this into a point of interest and rhythm, and got to enjoy the trains in all their variations. We loved the local Kiwi House, which cares for a wide range of NZ wildlife - we particularly liked the tuatara. The Station just across from the camping ground serves great coffee, and the Thirsty Weta just a block further on is a great place for a meal or other refreshment. Plus the kiwiana theme throughout Otorohanga is great fun. I highly recommend Otorohanga Holiday Park as a great place to camp. Also a great place for kids as there are a couple of play areas

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Hi Allberta. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our park and you liked our facilities. Otorohanga certainly is a great little town with great resturants, cafes and the kiwi house native bird park. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

With the main intention of visiting the Waitomo caves, we decided to stay here for a couple of nights and instantly felt so comfortable and relaxed by the beautiful park situated in an ideal location 5 minutes walk into the lovely town of Otorohanga and 10 minutes walk along the road to a huge countdown supermarket, this turned out to be the perfect place to relax in so we ended up staying an extra couple of nights! The park has 2 excellent large kitchen with all required facilities and are cleaned daily. Also a few nice private shower rooms to choose from and plenty areas to sit outside or inside and relax with a cup of tea and book if you like. There's also a large gym which you can use for only $5 for your whole stay - bargain!! The owner is also lovely and very helpful for tour info and tips for the town. If you go, we also highly recommend a visit to the local Indian restaurant in Otorohanga called Castle 91 - the best Chicken Tikka Masala I've ever had!!! The thirsty weta bar is also great in town!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraB15Glasgow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Hi Laura, Really pleased you had a great stay with us. Nice to know that our local restaurants looked after you. I will let them know you enjoyed your meals with them. Many thanks for your review. All the best for your travels. Cheers Billie & Kelvin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed in a holiday park in Waitomo the last time I went to the Caves, but this was far better. Super clean, nice facilities and mega friendly staff. Unlimited hot water in a really clean shower! The only thing that wasn't the best was the trains passing at night, but no biggie. We'd still choose this one for sure if we were staying in the Waitomo area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Hi Michelle. Please you had an enjoyable stay with us and thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.
Kind Regards Billie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed over night on route to Te Kauwhata, the cabin was basic; but comfortable. As a pet friendly venue it was perfect with a puclic green space near by and only a block or two away from the main eateries in town. Service was polite and pleasent. The only down fall was the location near the main railway line, but hardly the fault of the owners. Would recommend as a no fuss stop if you've got family or pets.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-AnnG, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Hi Dean
Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you had a good stay at our park and it suited you with your pet. We are lucky we have the lake reserve next door to us and it is ideal for walking dogs.
Regards Billie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Basic Cabin:
This cabin is essentially a bed in a box. Sounds horrible but we really liked it as it gives you what you want, a cheap bed with power points for charging batteries/laptop, a kitchen to cook a meal and nice hot showers. The town is 3 minutes walk across the railway tracks and has lots of shops and amenities.

Interestingly there was a full gym on site which you have full use of which was a bonus. There is also a sauna that there is an additional charge for.

The kitchen although very clean had no pots, pans, plates, etc for visitor use and you need to supply your own.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This park was nice and clean. It was our first holiday park in New Zealand and we would stay there again...if it weren't for the trains. Before that, I will say good things about the park. We arrived later in the evening. Unlike other holiday parks in New Zealand, if you are in a camper van they will let you park in a spot over night and pay in the morning. The bathrooms are individual rooms with showers and a sink...which was very nice - especially on cold mornings! They park is about ten or so minutes from the caves. The only real downside to this park is that there are trains that run very close to it at night. I definitely woke up a few times from that at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edimiceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-Ann G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thanks for your review. Sorry for the late response but I am in that age bracket who takes a while to learn social media. Pleased to hear you had a good stay at our park except for the trains. We did give this serious thought when we were deciding to build the park. After having stayed in expensive accommodation in a few cities and have traffic noise all night we thought a couple of trains during the night isn't that bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
6.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
244 reviews
7.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
389 reviews
7.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Motel
Palm Court Motel
#4 of 4 in Otorohanga
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otorohanga Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otorohanga Holiday Park

Property: Otorohanga Holiday Park
Address: 20 Huiputea Drive, Otorohanga 3900, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Otorohanga Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otorohanga Kiwi Holiday Park, now under new management. We have a range of accommodation to suit all budgets. Camping sites, where you get to choose your site, basic cabins, studio self contained units and 2 bedroom self contained units. Air conditioning and double glazing in some units. Located close to town facilities and the Otorohanga Kiwi House and Native Bird Park. Only 15 minutes to The world Famous Glow Worm Caves and Adventure Caving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Otorohanga Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing