We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful haven”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A highlight of our week's break in the North Isle was a stay at this beautiful and peaceful slice of NZ. The weather closed in but a cosy cottage with all the comforts of home meant that we wanted for nothing. Our wonderful hosts ensured that we were comfortable with nothing overlooked and the food was fantastic. A pity we had to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

It's so kind of you to take the time to share your feedback - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a good decision to not stay in Waitomo, instead, a farm cottage not too far away. This delightful self contained cottage was just what we wanted for a special last night in NZ before returning home to Australia. Set high on the hill, the views over the countryside were beautiful as we enjoyed a cuppa on the verandah. The cottage itself was immaculate with lots of little touches showing how much the hosts wanted it to be just right. This hospitality flowed into the meals we chose to enjoy in the main house where again we were spoilt with a restaurant type experience not to mentioned being "piped in" at breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyl1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you! We'd really enjoy hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Everything about our time at the cottage was wonderful. Liz and Evan were excellent hosts! The home cooking was superb and everyday we found fresh baked goods in our cottage when we returned from touring. The scenery was beautiful and the cottage was charming. This farm experience cannot be missed. You will not be disappointed staying here and if you are, you are hard to please and need help immediately! Thanks again Liz! My mom and I will always look back on our stay with fondness! Thanks for representing the best of New Zealand!

Room Tip: There was no pool or fitness center, but there are excellent walking trails around the vast farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and the wonderful magazine you left for me. I'm happily experimenting with those recipes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Traveling from Queenstown to Auckland and staying at several places within New Zealand, this place was by far the best stops we had. The property is just so inviting and the scenery is magnificent, but to top it off with the great hosts, we wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Evan and Liz for sharing your farm with us and making our trip even more memorable. See you next time!!! Nick M.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you so much! It was great to meet you both. I'm so glad you felt "at home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

With a place like this I didn't know whether I should stay quiet and keep it a secret or share it with the world! I have decided to be a little less selfish and say...WOW! I proposed to my fiancee not too far from here and Kamahi Cottage was the idea spot to stage what was to become the standard in luxury farmstead stays! I could not praise Liz and Evan enough for turning the trip into a dream come true! Thank you both for the experience of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Expect total peace and quiet...relaxation at its fullest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Your stay was a delight. We wish you all the very best for your lives together. We'll always remember the helicopter landing on our front lawn to whisk you away for your romantic outing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our 2 night stay in April exceeded our expectations. We were travelling with our children who are 7&8 they both enjoyed having some freedom to wander the beautiful property, and amazing gardens. The food was exceptional we all enjoyed the fresh baked goods after a busy day exploring the nearby caves. Would definitely recommend staying for a few days to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Your family were a delight. Thank you for finding us and spending a few days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Arriving at night in the rain, our GPS led us to the welcoming lights of Kamahi Cottage. From the moment we drove up the drive, my 14 year old son just looked at me and said "You have absolutely nailed it Mum - this place is beautiful!!!"

Anything one might need has been thought of and met. Kamahi Cottage exceeded our expectations. Dinner and morning / afternoon treats were beautiful. Hospitality was outstanding! Loved the location; close to everything but far enough way to be a retreat.

Recommend the Indian Curry in town - authentic indian favours, aroma and taste - just delicious. Also recommend the Waitomo caves and Kiwi House. Hobbiton a few hours drive away which is fantastic and definitely not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globaltraveller G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thanks for your lovely feedback. It was great to finally put faces to names and meet you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
10.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
276 reviews
11.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
583 reviews
5.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
11.2 mi away
Abseil Breakfast Inn
Abseil Breakfast Inn
#2 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
187 reviews
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range: £212 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained Bed &Breakfast and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, romantic and very private - set in a beautiful country garden with stunning hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, large downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. Travel times: Auckland International Airport - 2.5 hours, Hobbiton Movie Set - 1.25 hours, Hamilton city & gardens - 1 hour, Rotorua - 2 hours, Taupo - 2 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamahi Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing