We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could live here!”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Altadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wish we could live here!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What an incredible spot this is! It's a private cottage on a beautiful ranch, with everything you could ask for! Comfortable bed in the upstairs loft, small kitchen, living room, bathroom and all kinds of extras, like socks for cold feet, books about NZ, homemade fruit cordials, etc. After our 5 hour drive (on the wrong side of the road) we were ready for some relaxation, and the cottage was ready for us, with fresh flowers & freshly baked cookies. We relaxed in the comfortable chairs & enjoyed the quiet & the beauty. We had arranged for our hostess/chef Liz to cater our first dinner and it was delicious! Roasted tomato soup & grilled New Zealand Salmon. Both mornings we went up to the main house for an amazing breakfast of yogurt, homemade muesli & bread, poached fruit, preserves, baked eggs and coffee. The second morning we even got to meet Liz's husband, her daughter & 2 adorable & personable grandchildren. This is truly a special place to stay, and if you can make it happen, do it!

Room Tip: There is only 1 cottage and it is perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi... a, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you stay. The menu does sound quite good on reflection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived here after a sleepless overnight flight from Perth, Australia. Liz was there to greet us and happy for us to check in early. What a wonderful, peaceful place to rest up. The cottage had everything we could possibly want, including home made cake!
We collapsed in an exhausted heap in the sun chairs in the garden and soon dozed off in the warm sunshine. The views are just fantastic and the surrounding area is definitely worth exploring. We had dinner in the Indian Restaurant in the nearest town in the evening. Very good.
Breakfast was delivered to our door in the morning, all freshly made and beautifully cooked.
I can't recommend this cottage highly enough. I wish we had booked to stay for longer. If I lived in NZ or Australia this would be my go to place for relaxing weekends away. Unfortunately its a long trek from the UK!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A highlight of our week's break in the North Isle was a stay at this beautiful and peaceful slice of NZ. The weather closed in but a cosy cottage with all the comforts of home meant that we wanted for nothing. Our wonderful hosts ensured that we were comfortable with nothing overlooked and the food was fantastic. A pity we had to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
It's so kind of you to take the time to share your feedback - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a good decision to not stay in Waitomo, instead, a farm cottage not too far away. This delightful self contained cottage was just what we wanted for a special last night in NZ before returning home to Australia. Set high on the hill, the views over the countryside were beautiful as we enjoyed a cuppa on the verandah. The cottage itself was immaculate with lots of little touches showing how much the hosts wanted it to be just right. This hospitality flowed into the meals we chose to enjoy in the main house where again we were spoilt with a restaurant type experience not to mentioned being "piped in" at breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyl1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you! We'd really enjoy hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Everything about our time at the cottage was wonderful. Liz and Evan were excellent hosts! The home cooking was superb and everyday we found fresh baked goods in our cottage when we returned from touring. The scenery was beautiful and the cottage was charming. This farm experience cannot be missed. You will not be disappointed staying here and if you are, you are hard to please and need help immediately! Thanks again Liz! My mom and I will always look back on our stay with fondness! Thanks for representing the best of New Zealand!

Room Tip: There was no pool or fitness center, but there are excellent walking trails around the vast farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and the wonderful magazine you left for me. I'm happily experimenting with those recipes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Traveling from Queenstown to Auckland and staying at several places within New Zealand, this place was by far the best stops we had. The property is just so inviting and the scenery is magnificent, but to top it off with the great hosts, we wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Evan and Liz for sharing your farm with us and making our trip even more memorable. See you next time!!! Nick M.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much! It was great to meet you both. I'm so glad you felt "at home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

With a place like this I didn't know whether I should stay quiet and keep it a secret or share it with the world! I have decided to be a little less selfish and say...WOW! I proposed to my fiancee not too far from here and Kamahi Cottage was the idea spot to stage what was to become the standard in luxury farmstead stays! I could not praise Liz and Evan enough for turning the trip into a dream come true! Thank you both for the experience of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Expect total peace and quiet...relaxation at its fullest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Your stay was a delight. We wish you all the very best for your lives together. We'll always remember the helicopter landing on our front lawn to whisk you away for your romantic outing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
10.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
244 reviews
11.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
529 reviews
5.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
518 reviews
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
59 reviews
11.4 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Property: Kamahi Cottage
Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing