We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamahi Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Glow Worm Motel(Waitomo Caves)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caves Motor Inn(Waitomo Caves)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Woodlyn Park(Waitomo Caves)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Paka(Waitomo Caves)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waitomo Caves Hotel(Waitomo Caves)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
233
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandour honeymoonone nightrolling hillswaitomo cavesthe main househammock chairsheaven on earthfront porchgracious hostssouth islandlemon treemagical placeloft bedroomcomforts of homeplum schnappswarm hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Kamahi cottage is located in the countryside near the Waitomo caves. Our hosts, Liz and Evan, are lifelong Kiwis and the cottage is located on their large family farm. The comfortable cottage includes a sitting room (with a sofa bed), small kitchen with dining area and bathroom on the first floor; the bedroom is upstairs. The view out of the french doors is amazing: the porch is edged with lavender and, because the property sits high on a hill, the whole gently rolling farming region is spread out before you. It is so peaceful and the large flower garden is full of birds. Liz is an avid gardener and had fresh flowers on the table and by the bed. She provided a very nice dinner and breakfast, both delivered to our cottage during our stay. We were sorry that our stay was a short one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCTraveler058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi... a, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you - I just wish we had had more time to share your gardening expertise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a great time.
Lovely location, amazing and lovely hosts and a wonderful location. I wish I could live there forever! Great food too, we've really been spoiled.
You wake up with the sound of birds singing and turkeys gobbling. The bed is excellelent and the cottage is very cosy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi... a, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What an incredible spot this is! It's a private cottage on a beautiful ranch, with everything you could ask for! Comfortable bed in the upstairs loft, small kitchen, living room, bathroom and all kinds of extras, like socks for cold feet, books about NZ, homemade fruit cordials, etc. After our 5 hour drive (on the wrong side of the road) we were ready for some relaxation, and the cottage was ready for us, with fresh flowers & freshly baked cookies. We relaxed in the comfortable chairs & enjoyed the quiet & the beauty. We had arranged for our hostess/chef Liz to cater our first dinner and it was delicious! Roasted tomato soup & grilled New Zealand Salmon. Both mornings we went up to the main house for an amazing breakfast of yogurt, homemade muesli & bread, poached fruit, preserves, baked eggs and coffee. The second morning we even got to meet Liz's husband, her daughter & 2 adorable & personable grandchildren. This is truly a special place to stay, and if you can make it happen, do it!

Room Tip: There is only 1 cottage and it is perfection!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi... a, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you stay. The menu does sound quite good on reflection!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived here after a sleepless overnight flight from Perth, Australia. Liz was there to greet us and happy for us to check in early. What a wonderful, peaceful place to rest up. The cottage had everything we could possibly want, including home made cake!
We collapsed in an exhausted heap in the sun chairs in the garden and soon dozed off in the warm sunshine. The views are just fantastic and the surrounding area is definitely worth exploring. We had dinner in the Indian Restaurant in the nearest town in the evening. Very good.
Breakfast was delivered to our door in the morning, all freshly made and beautifully cooked.
I can't recommend this cottage highly enough. I wish we had booked to stay for longer. If I lived in NZ or Australia this would be my go to place for relaxing weekends away. Unfortunately its a long trek from the UK!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A highlight of our week's break in the North Isle was a stay at this beautiful and peaceful slice of NZ. The weather closed in but a cosy cottage with all the comforts of home meant that we wanted for nothing. Our wonderful hosts ensured that we were comfortable with nothing overlooked and the food was fantastic. A pity we had to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth C, Owner at Kamahi Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

It's so kind of you to take the time to share your feedback - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews