We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury B&B near Waitomo caves”
Review of Kamahi Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamahi Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luxury B&B near Waitomo caves”
Reviewed 5 October 2006

Kamahi Cottage is a gorgeous B&B in rural otorohanga, close to the Waitomo Caves. I stayed there with the hosts Liz and Evan last July. The cottage is super cute, the decor is lovely and the feeling of peacefulness envelops you as soon as you arrive. As mentioned in numerous other reviews- Liz is an incredible cook and you absolutely must order dinner from her.

I recommend Kamahi Cottage for anyone looking for lovely surroundings (both inside and out), rest & relaxation, beautiful country views and generous, friendly hosts.

It is definitely my pick for travellers who want to explore the region and the caves, but also want somewhere special and luxurious to relax.

  • Liked — The serenity.
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaoriWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2006

After a stunning scenic drive up the hills, we actually drove past the cottage. We thought, we couldn't be staying here, this is too amazing. Elisabeth was a stellar hostess. Such a beautiful stay and the gardens and views were absolutely amazing. She had homemade brownies waiting for us. Elisabeth cooked us a fantastic dinner, that I later got recipes for. She topped that with a fantastic breakfast. I strolled the gardens and went for a walk in the hills. My only disappointment was that I only stayed one night. If you want a place to relax and unwind, this is it.

  • Liked — the hostess
  • Disliked — that i stayed only one night
  • Tips/Secrets — give yourself a full day to relax.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scotlandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, new york
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2006

In all of our travels around the North Island, Kamahi Cottage was the most lovely, cozy, and accomodating of all the places we stayed. We had a very exhausting day caving in Waitomo and were thrilled to drive up to Kamahi Cottage to find the cutest little cottage filled with homemade treats and delicious wines. I slept on the pull out couch which surprisingly was very very comfy (honest!) and my sister and brother in law took the loft. In the morning we awoke to a lovely sunrise and the sound of birds singing. The owner Liz could not have been sweeter to us. She cooked us a fantatstic homemade breakfast and showed us around her farm. We only had one day in Waitomo and we were generally sad to leave Liz and her delightful home! If you have the chance, I would most definitely make a stop here. In all the New Zealand adventures we had, our stay at Kamahi cottage was at the top of the list. ---Lizzy

  • Liked — Everything was fantatic...cottage, views, food!
  • Disliked — I didn't get to stay long enough!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay a couple days to really make use of it,
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilyzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2006

My husband and I recently spent a night at Kamahi Cottage. This was at the end of an enjoyable yet busy week on holiday in Auckland and the idea was to have a quiet and luxurious country experience before heading back home to Wellington. We weren't disappointed - the experience, albeit a brief one, left us feeling recharged, pampered and very satisfied with the money we had spent. Highlights included the beautiful and expansive views from the cottage, the delicious home cooking, the yummy complimentary toiletries, the bagpipes at dusk, and the warmth and graciousness of the hospitality we were shown. Guests have the cottage all to themselves (it is situated on the property of the owners/hosts) and it is completely self-contained, which add to a sense of privacy and independence. We will certainly be recommending Kamahi Cottage to our family and friends and anyone looking for a peaceful and indulgent bed and breakfast experience in this little part of the world.

  • Liked — Home Cooking
  • Disliked — No bath
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wellingtonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Wonderful Farmstay experience up in the mountains in the beautiful Waitomo Caves area, Great location with a great cottage. Tough we just had breakfast but it was great especially with the hostess a wonder ful place.Great place to spend a quite time with a family/friends.

  • Liked — THE COTTAGE
  • Disliked — Telivision
  • Tips/Secrets — Great Place to sweep your other half.....
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Raman Deep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2006

Kamahi Cottage is a real find - tucked away approx 12km from town with the most spectacular views and faultless hospitality it was a real eye opener for a fresh look at B&B. Blew away all my expectations!!!
The hosts were aware of our very tight scedule and went out of their way to assist our stay at the cottage. Home cooked food to die for!! Accomodation both luxurious and practical with special little details such as free homemade schnapps for the brave and reading materials abundant and relevant to the surrounding area. Our very short stay was a blow.... it was way too short!! such a place needs time to really appreciate its charm.

A real credit to the New Zealand hospitality and way of life - the best place we stayed in the whole 15 days!! Highly recommend for secret hide-away or honeymoon location. Quiet seclusion will not suit all but if looking for a place to put up your feet and take stock of life there's none better.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pimpernell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodgate Beach Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2006

Finding quality accommodation in rural areas of New Zealand can be difficult. What a discovery then is Kamahi cottage nestled in the beautiful King Country just north of Waitomo. We have been fortunate to have stayed at Kamahi cottage twice in the past 12 months and enjoyed not only the luxury accommodation on offer, but experienced some of the most hospitable and generous hosts (the Cowan family) that you could ever meet. This part of rural New Zealand has some spectacular scenery as well some fantastic local attractions such as the spellbound glowworm caves, blackwater rafting, Altura wildlife park (which our 7 yr old daughter loved) horsetreks, open gardens, the Kiwi House in Otorohanga ( much better than the one at Rotorua); there is also some great art, craft and galleries within a short drive.

Kamahi cottage is part of a working farm located adjacent to the owner’s house, but with complete privacy and self contained facilities. The cottage sits on a hill with breathtaking rural views from the front deck and also from the loft style bedroom. Liz’s magnificent breakfasts can be eaten in the cottage or served in the family dining room in the main house. Dinners are available by arrangement and I’d recommend guests take this option for sure; not only for Liz's great cooking but to sit around their dining table and enjoy the company of Liz and Evan as well as to share their local knowledge of tours and places worth visiting. Every time we returned to the cottage from a day out, there would a little surprise of delicious home baked goodies waiting. If you have forgotten to bring a bottle of wine; no problem, the cottage has its own cellar selection with some of NZs best wine labels to choose from. Nothing seems to be too much trouble at Kamahi and any request is attended to without fuss. The only problem with Kamahi cottage – finding somewhere as good to stay when you leave!

Helpful?
5 Thank stevej58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
10.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
241 reviews
11.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
522 reviews
5.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
58 reviews
11.4 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
513 reviews
7.0 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamahi Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamahi Cottage

Property: Kamahi Cottage
Address: 229 Barber Road, Rewarewa RD 5, Otorohanga 3975, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kamahi Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamahi Cottage is a 5-Star country cottage, self-contained B&B and farm stay. It's just 30 minutes from the Waitomo glowworm caves, Black Water Rafting and "Lost World" adventures. The cottage is peaceful, private and romantic - set in a beautiful country garden with panoramic hilltop views. There is an upstairs queen bedroom, spacious downstairs bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, plus stylish lounge and dining area. A comfortable queen sofa-sleeper is also available downstairs. (Max. 4 guests, children are very welcome). Rates include full gourmet breakfasts. Privately catered 2 & 3-course dinners are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing