We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b kids loved it...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great b&b kids loved it...”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was one of the best b&bs we stayed in while in New Zealand, there were two units one sleeping four people and one sleeping up to eight. We were in the bigger unit it was clean and basic but had its own small kitchen with cooker and fridge. The animals on the farm were great and the kids loved them the owners had no problem with you going into the fields at any time to see them.
In the morning we had breakfast in the owners house which was good we had the choice of fruit cereal and toast we paid extra to have an ostrich omelette the owners husband had to drill the egg which he done in front of us all.
Over all this is a great place to stay and great value for money.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilbudgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    12
    3
    11
See reviews for
48
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our room in the farmstay was large and comfortable with a huge comfy bed! The decor is dated (like staying at your grandmas) but it adds to its charm of the place. We took the farm tour with the lovely Ann who is clearly dedicated to her animals each of which we introduced to, the most memorable being Caroline the ostrich, who was intent on being very involved in the tour - a true personality. The rest of our family stayed in the two bedroom self contained bungalow which was basic but comfortable, the bedding and towels were lovely & clean though the room itself could have done with a bit more attention. It was certainly the most fun place we've stayed on our trip!

Room Tip: The self contained bungalow is a good option for families, if you're a couple go with the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We chose this accommodation because we didn't want to pay a fortune. The older kids thought the bungalow was great and was just as good as some more expensive places we had stayed in. It had everything we needed (we don't really need a good TV on holiday). The beds were really comfy. As others have said, it isn't luxury accommodation, it's a working farm where the owners clearly love what they do. They are very busy with everything they have to do but don't hesitate to make their guests feel welcome and like nothing is too much effort. We woke late after a bit of a hell night with an injured 2 year old but didn't get kicked out at 10am like most other places. Breakfast was brought to us just after 10 as we didn't open our curtains till then! We were offered a farm tour and didn't end up leaving until after 12. (which probably put Ann and Ross out of time for everything else they had to do) Our two year old forgot all about his injuries on the tour and loved all the animals.
If you're on a budget and want a comfortable place to stay then this is great. If you want luxury then find somewhere else (and pay for it).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We, two couples, stayed two nights in this working farm's bungalow. The hosts, Ann and Ross, are very warm, friendly people. The farm is populated with a variety of exotic and typical barnyard animals which Ann clearly loves caring for. She happily gives tours and shares experiences about raising her two- and four-legged friends. Between guests and her animals, she is one busy lady.

The back of the bungalow sits on the edge of the barnyard. It was heartwarming to have little visits from Henrietta, the chicken; Tina, the dog; Lily, the kitty-cat; and Victoria, the ostrich. Victoria would pop by and announce herself by tapping her beak on the window glass. We were so excited when she laid an egg right below our window!

To us the pleasure derived from these encounters far outweighs the importance of how the accommodations look. It's the memories of this unique stay that will long remain. What you will find staying at Big Bird is an authentic farm-living experience offered by warm, gracious people.

Room Tip: Stay in the bungalow which sits on the edge of the barnyard for up-close and personal views of the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toulousekittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Big Bird provides a farmstay experience. The hosts started their business as a farm mainly with ostrich and have several other extraordinary animals. We had a tour of the farm and got to meet Victoria, the famous ostrich who is really beautiful and impressive! We also saw a 4 day old baby goat which was so cute, mini cows, Sophie the black sheep, an alpaga, a donkey etc... You really feel how much Ann (the host) loves her animals and you can tell that the animals are really happy in this farm.
They also have a cute chicken that would come at our doorstep to see if we had anything to give her to eat. Really fun.

Now comes the accomodation. There are 2 separate chalets/bugalow that are for guests. Don't come here if you are looking for a 3 star accomodation or more. The furniture is outdated and had an overall feeling that it was not clean, though it was clean! It really felt like being at your grandma's. The bathroom is tiny tiny. When you go to the toilets, you can hear the goat bleat^^. We got the bigger bungalow for only the 2 of us, when it can accomodate 5/6 people. So we had plenty of space.

We had our first breakfast with the hosts and the other guests in the kitchen of the hosts. It was good and fun to discuss a little bit. They opened a ostrich egg live for us and made a omelette. It is an extra 5NZD per omelette prepared.

I would recommend this place to a familly with young children to show them the animals. It is a good idea for a short week end getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Krabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NV
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Ever walk into an establishment and think to yourself that you've some how been here before, even though you know it is your first visit? For me, it was like walking into my grandma's house in rural Oklahoma. Everything is dated with lots of nicknacks occupying every nook and cranny. Don't be looking for your flat screen TV with 200 channels. You should come here for the experience of life on a working farm and spend quality time with the warm and charming owners, Ann and Ross. They have assembled a menagerie of friendly exotic and routine farm animals, which she'll gladly share on a moment's notice. Victoria, the ostrich that loves humans, frequently peeked through the window of our bungalow. Henrietta, the chicken, Tina, the sheepdog, and Lilly, the calico cat, would cautiously take turns outside of our front door waiting for human contact. Doctor Doolittle would be pleased to share this delightful experience and Ann's extensive knowledge of "her animal friends."

Room Tip: Choose the chalet or bungalow and you're all to yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenNorthernNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at Big Bird for 2 nights during a 10 day holiday in the north island. We stayed in the Bungalow and there was lots of space for the 4 of us. To be honest the furniture is a bit dated and the cleanliness in places wasn't perfect the room also had a musty smell. However the beds were very comfortable - probably the best out of all the places we stayed (which included 5 star hotels!). The makings for a continental breakfast is provided in the bungalow and Ann also baked fresh bread which was just lovely. We didn't get to try the ostrich egg omelette as we were off too early in the mornings which was unfortunate.
If your kids are animal lovers they will have a fabulous time! my kids just loved it - particularly being able to have a mini pony in front of the bungalow to lead around and brush. Meeting Victoria the ostrich was a really wonderful experience too!! Ann is a very hard working lady and we appreciated her hospitality and advice on things to do and places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustyamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
4.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
529 reviews
3.2 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
244 reviews
3.8 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
83 reviews
2.3 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 Waitomo Caves Road | Rd 7, Otorohanga 3977, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Big Bird B&B & Petting Farm is an "Animal-Lovers Paradise" with over 50 pettable animals of 13 varieties. Our theme is Large Birds & Miniature animals and we have a fibreglass Giant 4.3mtr extinct Moa Mascot and "Charlie" the tiny Miniature Bull who will likely be the "World's Smallest Bull in Sept 17 when he is 2yrs old. We have self-contained cottages and Farmstay rooms in the homestead and welcome all size groups. Prices are $55 per adult, $25 child (5-12yrs), $20 (1-4yrs) and $30 teens. (Mini-horse rides for under 30kg) Self-contained $10 extra. Bungalow (sleeps 6) Chalet (3) Studio (3) Cabin (3-4) Homestead (Queen/ensuite + single) (Family queen + 2 singles) Twin 2 singles. Prices include: Continental breakfast, Free Ostrich/Emu & Miniature animal tour, FREE WIFI. Parking. We welcome guests to a working farm/home environment with a family atmosphere. Latest pics Facebook or website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing